Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Government Documents at the UTEP Library
The University of Texas at El Paso Library is a Federal Depository Library, and thus receives many federal government documents through the United States Government Publishing Office (GPO). The Library receives current documents in paper, in microform, and online. Major retrospective sets are also available.
Most of the Federal documents are fully cataloged, so they are listed in the Library's online catalog. If they are in electronic format, a link to the actual document is in the catalog record. We are in the process of adding all government documents to the Library catalog. Enter your search term in the catalog, then select the location "government documents" in the left column.
Government Documents Links
Federal Government Documents Databases
Bibliographic index developed by the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library (NAL) for literature concerning agriculture and related fields. Subject coverage includes food and human nutrition.
Bibliography of Native North Americans (BNNA) (EBSCO)
Bibliographic index for literature concerning all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. Subject coverage includes anthropology, archaeology, education, multicultural relations, psychology, political science, gaming, governance, legend, sociology, and literacy.
DARTS (Depository Access to Reports, Technology & Science)
The DARTS database is a cooperative pilot project of the National Technical Information Service (NTIS) and the Government Printing Office (GPO) under the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP). It provides bibliographic indexing and abstracts for U.S. government-sponsored research and worldwide scientific, technical, governmental, engineering, and business-related information.
Declassified Documents Reference System
This database provides full-text access to declassified government documents concerning a wide range of subjects. Coverage extends to the present.
Digital National Security Archive
A full-text database of 35 core collections of primary documents acquired by the George Washington University based National Security Archive. The collection has been acquired through extensive use of FOIA. Each core collection is focused on one topic, e.g. Iran-Contra, Terrorism and U.S. Policy. Each topical collection includes diverse policy documents supplemented by contextual and reference material on chronology, glossary and bibliography.
FDsys: America's Authentic Government Information
Provides free access to a wealth of important information products produced by the Federal Government. Information provided on and retrieved from this site is the official, published version and can be used without restriction, unless specifically noted. Search or browse official, full text information from all three branches of the Federal Government.
Homeland Security Digital Library
This database contains multimedia offerings specifically for researchers of Homeland Security.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service
The National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) is a federally funded resource offering justice and drug-related information.
NTIS (National Technical Information Service) (ProQuest)
Provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts for U.S. government-sponsored research and worldwide scientific, technical, governmental, engineering, and business-related information, produced by the National Technical Information Service (NTIS). Source publications include unclassified and publicly available information from research reports, journal articles, data files, computer programs, and audio visual products from U.S. Federal agencies as well as from some international government departments and organizations. Coverage: 1964 - present (weekly updates).
ProQuest Congressional Publications
Provides access to the online version of the CIS Index containing bibliographic citations and abstracts of congressional publications, including the CIS Legislative Histories (1970 - present). Includes full-text access to congressional reports and voting records, House and Senate documents, bills, and public laws as well as to committee reports, selected prints, and schedules. Other full-text publications include: U.S. Code, Congressional Record, Federal Register, Congressional Hearings, Part A (1824-1979), and the Code of Federal Regulations. Coverage and updates vary by title and document type.
ProQuest Congressional Publications (U.S. Serial Set and Serial Set Maps)
Provides full text/full image access to the U.S. Serial Set and Serial Set Maps, comprehensive, ongoing collections of U.S. Government publications compiled under the direction of Congress. Subject coverage includes many aspects of American life from the late 18th century up to 1969, ranging from farming, westward expansion, and scientific exploration to politics, law, international relations, business, and manufacturing. Materials indexed include Congressional legislative reports and documents as well as executive agency and departmental reports ordered to be printed by Congress prior to 1969. Also includes the American State Papers, maps, illustrations, photos, and lithographs. Coverage: 1789 - 1969. NOTE: The UTEP Library also has the U.S. Serial Set from 1789 - present in printed format.
ProQuest Government Periodicals Index
Bibliographic index of citations for selected articles from important federal government periodicals. Subject coverage includes business, agriculture, health, national security, science, the environment, technology, nutrition, and transportation. Some citations include links to full-text government periodicals. Coverage: 1988 - present (updated quarterly).
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States
Provides access to a comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Updated monthly.
Links to authoritative scientific documents, reports and position papers from a variety of U.S. Federal agencies.
U.S. Bureau of Investigation Case File Archives
Provides full-text/full-image access to a digital collection of previously undisclosed historical United States Bureau of Investigation case file records derived from the National Archives. Subject coverage includes reports of World War I espionage, case files for politically-suspect German aliens, opium smuggling, records pertaining to Mexican neutrality violations, and reports dealing with alleged violations of U.S. federal laws. Coverage: 1908 - 1922.
The official gateway to all online U.S. federal government information resources and services. Provides links to a comprehensive collection of international, federal, state, local, and tribal government agencies.
USA Trade Online
Prepared by the Foreign Trade Division of the U.S. Census Bureau, this product provides access to U.S. import and export trade statistics for more than 18,000 commodities worldwide. Data is presented according to the Harmonized Tariff Classification System. Dates of coverage include current and previous month, cumulative year-to-date (current year and prior year), as well as annual two-year and ten-year historical data. Updated monthly.
Documents and Law Databases
These will help you find documents and other information.
Full-text/full image access to collections of historical international literature derived from legal periodicals, criminal justice journals, and other law-related publications. Coverage typically ranging from the earliest available issue
Military and Government Collection (by EBSCO)
This database's interface is among the easiest to use, as you may refine the results of a search using screen-side options, and even view an article's abstract without leaving the search results page (just hover over the icon of the magnifying glass over a piece of paper). It includes a broad array of literature pertaining to United States defense and government.
Government Documents Librarian