Skip to main content

The Power of Names: Periodicals & Databases

Supports the Univ 1301 section "The Power of Names"

Serials and Databases

Periodicals (also called journals) may be annual, semi-annual, monthly, or published on some other schedule. These are serial publications. Monographic series (book series) are another type of serial.

Many serials are now available online in databases, which are collections of periodicals. The UTEP Library subscribes to around 400 databases, but we still don't have everything you might need! If you are a UTEP student, faculty, or staff member, you can request further materials through interlibrary loan (ILL).

http://libraryweb.utep.edu/about/departments/ill/index.php

Please ask for help if you don't find what you're looking for.

Onomastics Journals [+ database that holds them, if available]

Acta Onomastica  [MLA International Bibliography]

Ainm (Bulletin of the Ulster Place Name Society)  [MLA International Bibliography]

ANS Bulletin (American Name Society)

English Place-Name Society Journal  [MLA International Bibliography, Ling. & Lang. Behav. Abs., and Soc Abstracts]

Folia onomastica Croatica  [MLA International Bibliography and Ling. & Lang. Behav. Abs.]

Journal of One-Name Studies

Journal of Scottish Name Studies  [Freely Accessible Journals]

Names: a journal of onomastics  [recent issues in Taylor & Francis]

Nordlyd (Norwegian onomastics journal)  [Directory of Open Access Journals and Freely Accessible Journals]

Nouvelle revue d'onomastique  [MLA International Bibliography]

Onomastica  [MLA International Bibliography]

Onomastica Canadiana: Journal of the Canadian Society for the Study of Names [MLA International Bibliography]

Onomastica Jugoslavica  [MLA International Bibliography and Ling. & Lang. Behav. Abs.]

Review of Historical Geography and Toponomastics (Romanian journal)  [Directory of Open Access Journals]

Best Databases for Onomastics

500 W. University Avenue : El Paso, TX, 79968-0582 : (915) 747-5672
Copyright | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
State Reports | UT System | Customer Service Statement | Site Feedback | Required Links |