It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Layers of Rome: Databases
Supports Dr. Ronald J. Weber's class on Rome, including a trip to Rome
The UTEP Library has over a million books and more than 300 databases. Here are a few places to start, but you should explore other sources on your own or with a librarian, who will be glad to help you.
The Library catalog: books, e-books, films, databases, and other materials.
Reference books. Start with a specialized encyclopedia to get an overview of your topic and to gather key names and specialized vocabulary. A few are listed below.
Online encyclopedias. Several databases are collections of specialized encyclopedias and reference works. Gale Virtual Reference Library, Cambridge Core, and Oxford Reference Online are good databases to try.
Comprehensive bibliographic index for international literature dealing with all aspects of art. Materials indexed include both English-language and international periodicals, art reproductions, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. Subject coverage includes advertising, antiques, archaeology, architecture and architectural history, art history, computers in art, crafts, decorative arts, fashion design, folk art, graphic arts, industrial design, interior design, landscape architecture, motion pictures, museology, non-western art, painting, photography, pottery, sculpture, television, textiles, and video.
Digital image database of visual material encompassing artistic and historical traditions across many time periods and cultures. Subject coverage includes the arts, architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, and many other forms of visual culture. Designed to be used by art researchers and art historians. Registration is recommended in order to take advantage of all ARTstor features. UTEP faculty and library staff may request instructor privileges that will allow them to create folders to share image groups with students or colleagues.
NOTE: This database is funded in part by the Academic Library Collection Enhancement Program (ALCEP) through the General Libraries of the University of Texas at Austin.
Provides full text online access to the complete, 250-plus volume Cambridge Histories reference series. Subject coverage ranges from political, economic and social history to histories of philosophy and literature. Includes the histories of specific countries and selected topics. Materials indexed include reference books and book chapters. Coverage: All time periods - from Ancient to Modern.
Provides access to a large and varied collection of electronic reference books published by Gale. Publications indexed include dictionaries and encyclopedias. Subject coverage includes current events, health, business, science, art, history, humanities, biography and more. Full text access is based on institutional subscriptions.
NOTE: This database is funded in its entirety by the Academic Library Collection Enhancement Program (ALCEP) through the General Libraries of the University of Texas at Austin.
Comprehensive bibliographic index for international literature dealing with the humanities. Materials indexed include feature articles, interviews, obituaries and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and much more. Some citations from 1995 onward include full text or links to full text available from other providers, based on licensing restrictions or institutional subscriptions.
Provides complete full-text access to an archive of back issues of selected scholarly journals from the following subscribed collections: Arts & Sciences (I - XI), Life Sciences, and Ireland. Subject coverage includes: African and African American Studies, anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art and art history, Asian Studies, biology, botany, British Studies, business, classical studies, economics, education, film studies, finance, folklore, geography, health sciences, history, Ireland, Jewish Studies, language and literature, Latin American Studies, law, linguistics, mathematics, Middle East Studies, music, paleontology, performing arts, philosophy, political science, psychology, public administration, religion, science, Slavic Studies, sociology, Women's Studies, statistics and zoology. Other types of publications indexed include monographs, pamphlets, images, and manuscripts.
Provides indexing, abstracting, and complete full-text for journals published by Oxford University Press (OUP). Access to full-text is based on institutional subscriptions. Coverage and updates vary by title. NOTE: UTEP's subscribed content includes the Oxford Journals Current Collection (1996 - present) and the Oxford Journals Archive (2017) (Volume 1, Issue 1 through 1995, overall). Content from this resource is funded, in part, by the Academic Library Collection Enhancement Program (ALCEP) through the General Libraries of the University of Texas at Austin.
Integrated gateway that allows for the cross-searching of full text art reference publications from both Grove and Oxford, including: Grove Art Online, Oxford Companion to Western Art, Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, and Encyclopedia of Aesthetics.
RefWorks can be used to create and organize a personalized database of bibliographic references imported from text files, online databases, or input by hand. It formats both references and manuscript into various writing styles, such as MLA, APA, Chicago, Turabian, IEEE, and more. Microsoft Word and MS Internet Explorer users can insert cited references directly into their manuscripts by using Write-N-Cite.
NOTE: A valid UTEP e-mail address (".utep.edu") is required for new account set-up. Click here if you need help getting started. Contact Debjani Mukhopadhyay, Engineering Reference Librarian, at (915) 747-6715 or Lisa Borden, Electronic Resources Librarian, at (915) 747-6709 if you need further assistance.
Comprehensive bibliographic index for international literature concerning theology and philosophy. Subject coverage includes world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy, and the history of philosophy. Materials indexed include scholarly and peer-reviewed journals.