Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Searching for Databases
The UTEP Library has nearly 400 databases for general and specific topics. From the "Articles and databases" tab on the home page, you can search for databases by topic or alphabetically by name.
Since Asian Studies is interdisciplinary, there is not a single database covering Asian Studies. Look for a database in your discipline (history, religion, business, linguistics, etc.) and search within that database for specific topics.
Effective Search Strategies
In the Library catalog or in databases, the more specific your search is, the better your results will be.
Combine terms with AND, OR, and NOT. Most databases provide several lines for your search with a menu for these terms. Often, if you don't specify an operator, the database assumes you want AND. For example, looking for information on rural schools in China, you could enter "rural schools" AND "China" NOT "universit*". The asterisk * is a wildcard accepted in many databases; it allows you to do one search for variations of a word, such as university and universities.
Use a variety of synonyms and related words to find the most information on your topic. Some databases include a thesaurus or list of subject terms; this can be useful in constructing an effective search.
Academic Search Complete
Covers journals in all academic disciplines; a good starting place.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
An excellent collection of specialized subject encyclopedias; a good place to find a broad introduction to your topic.
Full text journals in a wide range of subjects. Limit your search. Deselect "Include links to external content." Limit the search by discipline.
Cambridge Histories Online
Encyclopedic scholarly histories by topic and place. Search under Regional Histories for China, India, Japan, etc.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses
Master's theses and doctoral dissertations from all around the world on many topics. Good for that hard-to-find specialist material.
Essay and General Literature Index
Index to essays in books; covers the social sciences.
Digitized books, mostly older books out of copyright, but some newer ones. Covers all disciplines.
Oxford Bibliographies Online
Upper division and graduate students may find these research bibliographies helpful. See the list of topics available on the description page.
Scholarly encyclopedias and handbooks. Especially strong in the Humanities.
Periodicals Archive Online ProQuest
Scholarly journals on many topics, many of them from the 18th & 19th centuries.
Taylor and Francis Online
Scholarly journals in many disciplines.
Films on Demand
Documentary films on a wide range of topics. Streaming video format.