UTEP Library Research Guides: Community Health Nursing: Demographics & Population

Texas and El Paso

El Paso QuickFacts
Provided by U.S. Census Bureau.

Texas QuickFacts
Provided by U.S. Census Bureau.
Texas Vital Statistics

Special Populations

Pew Hispanic Center
The Pew Research Center’s Hispanic Trends Project annually produces reports, databases and interactive maps showing the current geographic concentration of Hispanics throughout the U.S. by states, counties and metropolitan areas and how that distribution has changed over time.

Print and E- Books

County and city extra: annual metro, city, and county data book.
Call Number: Reference Desk - HA203 .C68 2010
Encyclopedia of the U.S. Census by Margo J. Anderson, editor
Call Number: Reference - HA37.U55 C66 2000
ISBN: 1568024282
Texas on the brink: how Texas ranks among the 50 states
Call Number: Spec. Coll. Southwest - HA655 .T479 2009
Provides statistics on how Texas compares to the rest of the U.S. in the areas of taxation, spending, education, children, health care, welfare, health professionals, women's issues, diseases, access to capital, environment, workforce, cost of living, public safety, democracy, child abuse, families, elderly, uninsured, obesity, income, sex education, and transportation.
Profiles of Texas
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9781592373567

U.S. Statistics

American FactFinder
American FactFinder (AFF) is an online source for population, housing, economic and geographic data.
FBI Crime Statistics
The most comprehensive analysis of violent crime and property crime in the nation. The annual publication compiles volume and rate of crime offenses for the nation, the states, and many cities and counties.
Census Bureau: Population & Household Economic Topics
Includes population estimates and data by subjects.
Decennials - Census of Population and Housing
Historical data from 1790 to present.
Immigration Statistics
The Department of Homeland Security is responsible for providing immigration-related services and benefits such as naturalization and work authorization as well as investigative and enforcement responsibilities for enforcement of federal immigration laws, customs laws and air security laws.
IPUMS USA (Integrated Public Use Microdata Series)
IPUMS-USA is a project dedicated to collecting and distributing United States census data.
State and Metropolitan Area Data Book
Covers the following topical areas: age, agriculture, births, business establishments, communications, construction, cost of living, crime, deaths, education, elections, employment, energy, finance, government, health, households, housing, immigration, income, manufactures, marriages and divorces, media, natural resources, population, poverty, race and Hispanic origin, residence, retail sales, science and engineering, social services, tourism, transportation, and veterans.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
USA Counties
USA Counties features over 6,500 data items for the United States, States and counties from a variety of sources.

International Statistics

CIA World Factbook
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
DataFinder - Population Reference Bureau
The Population Reference Bureau informs people around the world about population, health, and the environment, and empowers them to use that information to advance the well-being of current and future generations.
International Data Base - U.S. Census Bureau
Find tabular data for countries and regions as well as demographic indicators, population pyramids and source information for countries. From the U.S. Census Bureau.
NationMaster
Statistics in over 300 categories from almost every country in the world.
Statistics Explained
Statistics Explained is an encyclopedia of European statistics including a glossary.
UN Demographic & Social Concerns
From the UN's Statistics Division, includes general population data and international migration statistics.
World Gazetteer
Population data and related statistics.

Databases

DemographicsNow: Library Edition (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Developed by SRC, LLC, DemographicsNow provides the means to analyze the demographic and market potential of any geographical area in the United States. Features include the ability to create custom reports, perform market analyses, create fully-interactive maps, create radius-based maps and reports, and create summary as well as comparison reports. Includes access to 1970, 1980, 1990, and 2000 U.S. Census data as well as Experian/Applied Geographic Solutions (AGS) current year estimates and five-year projections.
https://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/txshracd2603?db=DNOW
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a comprehensive online archive of social science research data. Subject coverage ranges from political science, sociology, and criminal justice to economics, education, health science, and psychology.
https://www.icpsr.umich.edu/web
NOTE: Data must not be shared with anyone other than current UTEP faculty, staff, and students. Authorized users will need to create a "MyData" account in order to download data files.