Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CDC - Racial & Ethnic Minority Populations
Though health indicators such as life expectancy and infant mortality have improved for most Americans, some minorities experience a disproportionate burden of preventable disease, death, and disability compared with non-minorities.
Center for Disease Control (CDC)
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention provides users with credible, reliable health information.
Community Health Status Indicators Report
Created by Department for Health and Community Health Status Indicators (CHSI) provides an overview of key health indicators for local communities and to encourage dialogue about actions that can be taken to improve a community’s health.
County Health Rankings
The annual County Health Rankings measure vital health factors, including high school graduation rates, obesity, smoking, unemployment, access to healthy foods, the quality of air and water, income, and teen births in nearly every county in America. The annual Rankings provide a revealing snapshot of how health is influenced by where we live, learn, work and play.
Grey Literature Report in Public Health
A bimonthly publication of The New York Academy of Medicine (NYAM) alerting readers to new grey literature publications in health services research and selected public health topics.
Guide to Community Preventive Services
Provides resource for evidence-based Task Force recommendations and findings about what works to improve public health.
Healthy Paso del Norte
Intended to help community members and policy makers learn about the health of the region. It provides local health data, resources, best practices, news articles and information about community events.
Healthy People 2020
Healthy People provides science-based, 10-year national objectives for improving the health of all Americans. For 3 decades, Healthy People has established benchmarks and monitored progress over time in order to: Encourage collaborations across communities and sectors. Empower individuals toward making informed health decisions. Measure the impact of prevention activities.
Medline Plus - Population Groups
Data on various racial, ethnic and age groups.
National Association of County and City Health Officials
NACCHO is the national organization representing local health departments (LHDs). NACCHO supports efforts that protect and improve the health of all people and all communities by promoting national policy, developing resources and programs, seeking health equity, and supporting effective local public health practice and systems.
National Heart, Lung and Blood Insittute (NIHLBI)
The National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (NHLBI) provides global leadership for a research, training, and education program to promote the prevention and treatment of heart, lung, and blood diseases and enhance the health of all individuals so that they can live longer and more fulfilling lives.
Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion
Advancing national priorities in disease prevention and health promotion
U.S. Preventive Services Task Force
The USPSTF strives to make accurate, up-to-date, and relevant recommendations about preventive services in primary care. USPSTF recommendations have formed the basis of the clinical standards for many professional societies, health organizations, and medical quality review groups.
United States Department of Agriculture Food and Nutrition Service (USDA)
FNS has elevated nutrition and nutrition education to a top priority in all its programs. In addition to providing access to nutritious food, FNS also works to empower program participants with knowledge of the link between diet and health.
World Health Organization
WHO is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system. It is responsible for providing leadership on global health matters, shaping the health research agenda, setting norms and standards, articulating evidence-based policy options, providing technical support to countries and monitoring and assessing health trends.
Health Education Projects
The Diffusion of Effective Behavioral Interventions project (DEBI)
National-level strategy to provide high quality training and on-going technical assistance on selected evidence-based HIV/STD/ Viral Hepatitis prevention interventions to state and community HIV/STD program staff
Let’s Move! is a comprehensive initiative, launched by the First Lady, dedicated to solving the problem of obesity within a generation, so that children born today will grow up healthier and able to pursue their dreams.
Campaign for Tobbaco Free Kids
A non-governmental organization based in Washington, D.C., the Campaign for Tobacco-Free Kids works in the fight to reduce tobacco use and its deadly toll in the United States and around the world.
Students Against Destructive Decisions (SADD)
Originally, the mission of the SADD was to help young people say "No" to drinking and driving. Today, the mission expanded to provide students with the best prevention tools possible to deal with the issues of underage drinking, other drug use, risky and impaired driving, and other destructive decisions.
We Can! (Ways to Enhance Children's Activity & Nutrition) is a national movement designed to give parents, caregivers, and entire communities a way to help children 8 to 13 years old stay at a healthy weight.
National Diabetes Education Program (NDEP)
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services’ National Institutes of Health and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and includes over 200 partners at the federal, state and local levels, working together to improve the treatment and outcomes for people with diabetes, promote early diagnosis, and prevent or delay the onset of type 2 diabetes.
Native Diabetes Wellness Program
The Native Diabetes Wellness Program is part of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s (CDC) the program collaborates with many partners, including American Indian and Alaska Native communities to develop programs programs designed to improve the health status of American Indians and Alaska Natives.
Chronic Kidney Disease Initiative
The Chronic Kidney Disease (CKD) Initiative by (CDC) is designed to provide comprehensive public health strategies for promoting kidney health. These strategies seek to prevent and control risk factors for CKD, to raise awareness, to promote early diagnosis, and to improve outcomes and quality of life for those living with CKD.
HSR Project Search System
Health Services Research Projects in Progress
A database of citations to research-in-progress funded by federal and foundation grants and contracts, became available in 1995. HSRProj builds upon a database developed in prototype by staff of AcademyHealth and the Cecil Sheps Center at the University of North Carolina with funding from the Pew Charitable Trust. It includes over 5,000 citations to ongoing or recently completed research funded since 2000.
Health Services Research and Public Health Information Programs
NICHSR and other NLM staff develop guides, fact sheets, bibliographies, and other products targeted to health services researchers.
The Research Portfolio Online Reporting Tools provides access to reports, data, and analyses of NIH research activities, including information on NIH expenditures and the results of NIH supported research.