UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS AT EL PASO LIBRARY
C.L. SONNICHSEN SPECIAL COLLECTIONS DEPARTMENT
Primary source materials for the history of the United States and the El Paso borderlands during the Progressive Era and the interwar years
Personal papers:
Examples include Cleofas Calleros papers, Belle Christie Critchett papers, Betty Mary Smith Goetting papers, Stephenson-Flores family papers, Allen Falby papers, R. E. Thomason papers, Claude Hudspeth papers, Kohlberg family papers, etc. Many finding aids are available at https://www.utep.edu/library/special-collections/collections/finding-aids.html
Organizational records:
El Paso Graduate Nurses' Association records, Woman’s Club of El Paso records, National Catholic Welfare Conference (Border Office) records, Women's Section, El Paso Chamber of Commerce records, Woman’s Auxiliary of the Texas College of Mines records, etc.
Business records:
Zork Hardware records, Southern Pacific Company (Rio Grande Division)records, The Popular Dry Goods records, Horace B. Stevens papers, O.H. Thorman Architectural records, Chisos Mining Company records, etc.
Photographic collections:
Gertrude Fitzgerald photographs, Stout-Feldman Studio photographs, Leona Washington photograph collection, Casasola Studio photos, Aultmann photographs, etc. Some images from photo collections are available at https://cdm15823.contentdm.oclc.org/digital/
Artificial Collections: Women’s suffrage collection; UTEP collection, etc.
Directories:
El Paso city directories, 1889-
(Some city directories are now online at http://digitalcommons.utep.edu/city_direct/ or at http://texashistory.unt.edu/ )
El Paso phone books, 1921-
Maps:
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps, Southern Pacific RR maps, city plats, other blue line maps, and assorted historical maps of Texas, the Southwest, and Mexico. Versions of Sanborn maps are available within the library at Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 (Texas) (ProQuest)
Oral Histories:
Over 1400 oral history interviews (Many are online at http://digitalcommons.utep.edu/interviews/)
Government records:
Texas county and local records:
El Paso County Records (Deed books, sheriffs' minute books, probate files, etc.), City of El Paso reports, Texas Eighth District Court of Appeals. A list of El Paso County records at UTEP is available at in print at the front desk or electronically on request.
Federal records:
Documents from the Senate and House of Representatives are available online and full-text at ProQuest Congressional Publications (U.S. Serial Set and Serial Set Maps) (ProQuest)
Newspapers and journals:
The Prospector, Revista Católica, El Paso newspapers on microfilm, samples and short runs of various local and regional newspapers and magazines available in Special Collections
(See also online sources like NewspaperArchive.com and Chronicling America at the Library of Congress at http://www.loc.gov/ndnp/ ; The Prospector now has a dedicated site at http://theprospector.newspaperarchive.com/ )
UTEP history resources: http://digitalcommons.utep.edu/utep_hist/
This page has links to The Prospector, books on the history of UTEP, yearbooks, magazines, and other resources.
Contact information: Claudia Rivers, 747-6725; email crivers@utep.edu
Abbie Weiser; email ahweiser@utep.edu
Special Collections website: https://www.utep.edu/library/special-collections/index.html
Libguide online at: https://utep.libapps.com/libguides/admin_c.php?g=430394
| 500 W. University Avenue : El Paso, TX, 79968-0582 : (915) 747-5672 |