Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find Newspaper, Magazine, and Scholarly Articles
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Comprehensive bibliographic index for multidisciplinary literature. Formats indexed include books, newspapers, and magazines, as well as scholarly and peer-reviewed journals. Subject coverage includes social sciences, arts and humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, health sciences, multicultural studies, and many more. Most citations include abstracts and full text or link to full text content from other providers, based on institutional subscriptions.
Periodicals are publications that are published periodically like magazines, newspapers and journals. To find periodical articles you must search within a database that the library subscribes to, below is a list of databases that are recommended for your social policy assignments. Remember, whenever you are conducting searches, start with a broad basic search, then move to a more advanced search by using subject terms (tag terms) and connect your terms with AND, OR and NOT. If you have any problems finding articles for your policy project, do not hesitate to contact me via e-mail or any librarian at the reference desk.
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature) (EBSCO)
Bibliographic index for the professional literature of nursing, allied health, biomedicine, and healthcare derived from English-language and selected international source materials. Subject coverage includes management, behaviorial sciences, health sciences, librarianship, education, and consumer health. Materials indexed include journals, books, book chapters, pamphlets, audiovisuals, dissertations, educational software, conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, nurse practice acts, critical paths, and research instruments.
Criminal Justice Abstracts (EBSCO)
Produced in cooperation with the Don M. Gottfredson Library of Criminal Justice at Rutgers University Law Library and SAGE Publications, Inc., Criminal Justice Abstracts provides indexing and abstracts for international journal articles, books, governmental and nongovernmental reports, dissertations, and unpublished papers on criminology and related disciplines. Subject content includes crime trends, crime prevention and deterrence, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, police, courts, punishment, and sentencing. Some citations include links to full text content, based on institutional subscriptions.
Provides access to full-text documents from a wide variety of news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications. Sources include: national, regional, and international newspapers; wire services; broadcast transcripts; non-English language sources; U.S. Federal and state case law; codes and regulations; legal news; law reviews; international legal information; Shepard's Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789; business news journals; company financial information; and SEC filings and reports as well as industry and market news. Coverage and updates vary by title and document type. See also: WestlawNext Campus Research
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO)
Comprehensive bibliographic index for literature concerning psychology and human behavior. Subject coverage includes emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Materials indexed include scholarly and peer-reviewed journals.
Comprehensive bibliographic index that provides citations, abstracts, and some full text for international literature in the field of psychology drawn from source materials such as journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports. Subject coverage includes the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
Social Services Abstracts (ProQuest)
Bibliographic index for literature dealing with social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Materials indexed include journal articles, dissertations, and book reviews. Citations include abstracts and some include links to full text articles, based on institutional subscriptions.
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)
Bibliographic index for international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Source publications include book reviews, journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
To find specific articles listed in reference list or citations you come across follow the steps:
- Go to the E-journal tab
- Type the publication title (journal where article was published in).
- Click on the appropriate database that carries the year you need.
- Navigate within the database to find your article.
Below are three e-journals from which your professor cites articles.
Check out the tutorial on finding specific articles!
The UTEP Library subscribes to several streaming video databases:
Films on Demand is a state-of-the-art streaming video platform produced by the Films Media Group (FMG). It contains thousands of educational videos from reconized producing companies such as TED, American Experience, NBC, PBC, BBC and many more.
Alexander Street Press contains numerous streaming videos from a variety of collections such as the American History in Video, Counseling & Therapy in Video and others.
Scholarly books contain authoritative information and comprehensive coverage on a subject. Use a books when you want to add depth to a research topic or put your topic in context with other important issues. To find books in the UTEP Library:
- Search for books at the UTEP Library
- See if book is available
- Get call number & location (floor)
- Go to correct location and find book
- Look for other books around (books are arranged by subject)
Below are some books required and suggested by your professor.
Reference resources such as encyclopedias are excellent sources for background information for they:
- Provide overview of topics
- Provide topic ideas or ideas on narrowing your topic
- Brainstorm keywords for searching and learn terminology used to describe the issue
Reference works are a great as a starting off point, but should not be cited in your research as they are not considered primary or secondary sources.