Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Useful search terms
When searching for resources, try these search terms:
Thought and thinking--Periodicals
Knowledge representation (Information theory)
APA College Dictionary of Psychology
Call Number: BF31. A648 2009 (Reference—2nd Floor)
Smaller version of the APA Dictionary of Psychology (see below). The dictionary covers and updates definitions from the other dictionary. Basic coverage for easy to understand access and includes many subfields in the area of psychology.
APA Dictionary of Psychology by
Call Number: BF 31. A63 2007 (Reference—2nd Floor)
Excellent and extensive coverage in the field of psychology and related disciplines. The set up is easy to understand and access, with entries that include both one word and phrases.
The Cambridge Dictionary of Psychology by
Call Number: BF31 .C28 2009 (Main Stacks—3rd Floor)
Dictionary which covers terms in the field of psychology from a cross-cultural perspective, enabling users to understand the terminology and the field of psychology from other perspectives.
Comprehensive Glossary of Psychiatry and Psychology by
Call Number: RC 437.K36 1991 (Reference—2nd Floor)
Over 2000 terms in the area of psychology and psychiatry are covered. Entries cover tests and medications.
A Dictionary of Psychology by
Call Number: BF31 .C65 2009 (Reference—2nd Floor)
Available in print and electronic versions.
Students, faculty and staff of UTEP can access the electronic resource from on-campus or other locations.
Covers more than 10,000 terms in the field of psychology and entries are cross-referenced so the user may understand each term more easily.
Key Concepts in Psychology by
Call Number: BF31 .W56 2006 (Main Stacks—3rd Floor)
Easy to use dictionary for understanding the major concepts in psychology. Entries also include website links for further research.
The Penguin Dictionary of Psychology, 4th ed. by
Call Number: BF31. R43 2009 (Reference—2nd floor)
Not only covers the definitions of terms, but provides a history of their usage and how they are utilized.
The Sage Glossary of the Social and Behavioral Sciences by
Call Number: H41. S24 2009 (Main Stacks—4th Floor)
Easy to access entries, which are cross-referenced and cover many disciplines related to the field of psychology.