UTEP Library Research Guides: The American West in the 20th Century: Databases/Articles

What is a Scholarly Article?

A scholarly or peer-reviewed article is one that is reviewed by a panel of experts in the field. The following are a few characteristics of a scholarly article:

An abstract, or summary, before the main text of the article
Footnotes and/or bibliographies that cite sources
Graphs or charts detailing the research process and/or results
Publication by a professional or academic organization
Discipline-specific language

Selected Databases for Your Research

Check the history database category and the newspaper database category for additional primary and secondary source databases.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive bibliographic index for multidisciplinary literature. Formats indexed include books, newspapers, and magazines, as well as scholarly and peer-reviewed journals. Subject coverage includes social sciences, arts and humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, health sciences, multicultural studies, and many more. Most citations include abstracts and full text or link to full text content from other providers, based on institutional subscriptions. This database is made possible by TexShare.
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=a9h
Access Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text/full-image access to an online archive of selected historical newspapers from around the world. Countries represented include: United States (U.S.) and the Virgin Islands, the United Kingdom (U.K.), France, Germany, Ireland, South Africa, Jamaica, Canada, Denmark, China, and Japan. Content is composed primarily of historical back issues. Dates of coverage vary by title, ranging from 1759 - present (overall).
America: History and Life (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive bibliographic index for international literature concerning the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Materials indexed include journal and magazine articles, books, book and media reviews, conference proceedings, and dissertations. Subject coverage beyond history includes culture, gender studies, psychology, literature, politics, and more. Citations include abstracts and some include links to full-text content based on institutional subscriptions.
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=31h
Indigenous Newspapers in North America (Adam Matthew) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text/full-image access to selected archival print journalism collections from Indigenous peoples of the U.S. and Canada. Newspapers included in this digital collection were sourced from the Newberry Library in Chicago and the Sequoyah National Research Centre at the University of Arkansas, Little Rock. Many of these newspaper titles were founded during the 1970s after the occupation of Wounded Knee. Subject coverage includes communication, education, public health, history, law, political science and social sciences. Coverage: 1828-2016 (overall). NOTE: This database is funded in its entirety by the Academic Library Collection Enhancement Program (ALCEP) through the General Libraries of the University of Texas at Austin.
https://www.indigenousnewspapersinnorthamerica.amdigital.co.uk/
Ancestry Library Edition (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to ProQuest's Library Edition of the comprehensive consumer-based Ancestry.com online genealogy resource that includes vital records for individuals from North America (US and Canada), the United Kingdom (UK), Europe and Australia. Source materials include census information, birth and death records, immigration records, family histories, military records, court and legal documents, telephone directories, photographs, maps, and more. Continually updated.
https://ancestrylibrary.proquest.com
Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 (Texas) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A collection of digitized fire insurance maps produced by the Sanborn Map Company that provides detailed property and land-use records depicting the architecture of cities and towns in the state of Texas from 1867 - 1970. Includes structural information such as building outline, size, and shape; construction materials; building height and function; location of windows and doors; street and sidewalk widths; property boundaries; house numbers; and more. Symbols for identifying stables, garages, warehouses, and other commercial sites are also included. Depicts pipelines, railroads, wells, dumps, and heavy machinery. Pinpoints streets, landmarks, and other places noted in the map's index. Once displayed, the maps can be manipulated, expanded, printed, and downloaded.
https://sanborn.umi.com
Early American Newspapers (1690-1876), Series I (NewsBank/Readex) This link opens in a new window
Provides complete full text/full image access to over 700 historical American newspapers from 23 states and the District of Columbia printed between 1690 and 1876. The bulk of the collection is from the 18th century and is based on Clarence S. Brigham's History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820 as well as other authoritative bibliographies.
http://infoweb.newsbank.com/?db=EANX
Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
Provides full text/full image access to a broad collection of primary source materials dealing with the relationships among peoples and cultures in early North America. The collection presents unique perspectives from traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, officials, and others. It includes works by American Indians, Canadian First Peoples, and many European groups, capturing first impressions, observations of flora and fauna, descriptions of encounters with indigenous peoples, and new language elements as they evolved. Subject coverage includes American history, Canadian history, natural history, environmental studies, and American Indian and Native American studies. Materials indexed range from published and unpublished personal accounts derived from narratives, letters, diaries, memoirs, and journals to prints, drawings, paintings, photographs, bibliographies, original facsimile pages, and maps. Coverage: 1534 - 1860
https://eena.alexanderstreet.com
NOTE: This database is funded in its entirety by the Academic Library Collection Enhancement Program (ALCEP) through the General Libraries of the University of Texas at Austin.
Films on Demand: Digital Educational Video This link opens in a new window
State-of-the-art streaming video platform produced by the Films Media Group (FMG), composed of Films for the Humanities and Sciences, Cambridge Educational, Meridian Education, and Shopware. Streaming video content, ranging from clips to complete documentary films, may be incorporated into content management systems, online lesson plans, distance learning courseware, or electronic library card catalog systems. Several titles include closed captioning. Subject coverage is multidisciplinary and includes humanities, social sciences, business, economics, science, mathematics, health, medicine, archival films and newsreels, and much more. Updates vary by title with new content added annually.
https://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlayLists.aspx?wid=104347
Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Provides full text online access to a multidisciplinary social issues and controversies book series published by Greenhaven Press and other Gale imprints. Publications indexed include pro and con viewpoint articles; reference articles that provide context; full text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles; primary source documents; government and organizational statistics; multimedia, including images and podcasts; links to hand-selected web sites; and more. Features Lexile reading levels for periodicals as well as an integrated national and state curriculum standards search with content correlated to high school and middle school social studies and science standards.
https://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/txshracd2603?db=OVIC
HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index) Online This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic index that contains citations to articles and book reviews published in scholarly journals from Latin America and the Caribbean as well as selected articles from international academic journals dealing with topics relating to Latin America, the Caribbean, Brazil, Mexico, and Hispanic Americans or Latinos. Most journals are peer-reviewed or refereed. Subject focus excludes the pure and technical sciences and focuses on the social sciences and humanities.
https://hapi.ucla.edu
HeritageQuest Online (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full text/full image collections of research materials for tracing family history and American culture. Includes family and local history books as well as United States Census data from 1790-1930.
https://www.heritagequestonline.com
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides complete full-text access to an archive of back issues of selected scholarly journals from the following subscribed collections: Arts & Sciences (I - XI), Life Sciences, and Ireland. Subject coverage includes: African and African American Studies, anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art and art history, Asian Studies, biology, botany, British Studies, business, classical studies, economics, education, film studies, finance, folklore, geography, health sciences, history, Ireland, Jewish Studies, language and literature, Latin American Studies, law, linguistics, mathematics, Middle East Studies, music, paleontology, performing arts, philosophy, political science, psychology, public administration, religion, science, Slavic Studies, sociology, Women's Studies, statistics and zoology. Other types of publications indexed include monographs, pamphlets, images, and manuscripts.
https://www.jstor.org/action/showAdvancedSearch
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text documents from a wide variety of news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications. Sources include: national, regional, and international newspapers; wire services; broadcast transcripts; non-English language sources; U.S. Federal and state case law; codes and regulations; legal news; law reviews; international legal information; Shepard's Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789; business news journals; company financial information; and SEC filings and reports as well as industry and market news. Coverage and updates vary by title and document type. NOTE: Formerly known as LexisNexis Academic. See also: WestlawNext Campus Research.
http://www.nexisuni.com
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. Subject coverage includes African Studies, Asian Studies, economics, education, film, theater, performing arts, history, Judaic Studies, language, literature, Latin American Studies, music, philosophy, political science, religion, and Women's Studies.
https://muse.jhu.edu/
ProQuest Historical Newspapers - El Paso Herald/El Paso Times (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides complete full-text/full-image access to the El Paso Times from 1881 to current. The El Paso Herald-Post has full-text/full-image access for the years 1896-1997. Content includes news stories, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photographs, cartoons, maps, advertisements, and more.
NOTE: El Paso Herald Post content will begin loading in December 2022.
https://www.proquest.com/hnpelpasoherald?accountid=7121

Additional Selected Databases

ProQuest Congressional Publications (U.S. Serial Set and Serial Set Maps) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides full text/full image access to the U.S. Serial Set and Serial Set Maps, comprehensive, ongoing collections of U.S. Government publications compiled under the direction of Congress. Subject coverage includes many aspects of American life from the late 18th century up to 1969, ranging from farming, westward expansion, and scientific exploration to politics, law, international relations, business, and manufacturing. Materials indexed include Congressional legislative reports and documents as well as executive agency and departmental reports ordered to be printed by Congress prior to 1969. Also includes the American State Papers, maps, illustrations, photos, and lithographs. Coverage: 1789 - 1969.
https://search.proquest.com/congressional
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global (PQDTGlobal) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic indexing for nearly all doctoral dissertations and Master's theses accepted at North American academic institutions. Selectively indexes dissertations and theses from academic institutions in Great Britain, Europe, and other countries around the globe. Dissertations published since July 1980 include abstracts written by the author. Theses published since 1988 include brief abstracts. All titles published since 1997 include 24-page previews and complete full text; selected full text is available for earlier dates.
https://search.proquest.com/pqdtglobal/advanced?accountid=7121
WorldCat (OCLC/FS) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive, international bibliographic index that contains records for all materials cataloged by OCLC-member libraries worldwide. Materials indexed include books, websites and Internet resources, computer programs, films and slides, journals and magazines, articles, chapters, papers and proceedings, manuscripts, maps, musical scores, newspapers, sound recordings, and videotapes.
https://firstsearch.oclc.org/fsip?dbname=WorldCat&autho=100234465