UTEP Library Research Guides: ENGL 5315:Professional Writing Seminar : Communication Skills

Communication Tips

Speaker Olivia Mitchell shares tips on making effective presentations, creating PowerPoint slides, overcoming the fear of public speaking, managing your audience and more.

Knockout Presentations

Author, speaking strategist, and professional speaker Diane DiResta shares tips and tricks for delivering effective presentations.

Presentation Advisors

This blog features advice and tips from Presentation Advisors, a presentation design and training firm.

Tips for designing Posters for presentation using PowerPoint
Annotated list of sites and resources for designing your Poster Presentation using PowerPoint slides or templates. (From G. Natal)

Pimp your PowerPoint by Bob Grant
Article on how to use PowerPoint effectively.

PowerPoint Presentations: A Speaker's Guide by Geoffery Hart
Presents tips on how to make the presentation legible for the audience.

From Uncredible to Incredible: Tips for Speakers by Shelly Fitzey and Maureen V, McIntyre
Provides tips for speakers to convey personal credibility in technical communication.

Insight Media Streaming Videos

Insight Media Digital: Education for the 21st Century (Video-on-Demand) provides access to the complete digital streaming video collection of Insight Media on the IRIS Education platform. Subject coverage includes communication, education and more.

You can also see additional videos from Insight Media by going to the insightmediadigital YouTube Channel.

Films on Demand

Films on Demand is a state-of-the-art streaming video platform produced by the Films Media Group (FMG). It contains thousands of educational videos from reconized producing companies such as TED, American Experience, NBC, PBS, BBC and many more.

Communication Skills Journals

Communication Monographs
Features theoretically grounded research dealing with human symbolic exchange across the broad spectrum of interpersonal, group, organizational, cultural and mediated contexts in which such activities occur.
Computer-Mediated Communication Magazine
provides insight into views and issues about the online world through its monthly magazine archive plus current news feeds.
IEEE Transactions on Professional Communication
Readers and contributors represent engineers, scientists, writers, information designers, managers, and others, working as scholars, educators, and practitioners from across the globe, all of whom share an interest in the effective communication of technical and business information.
Journal of business and technical communication
The Journal of Business and Technical Communication publishes research-based articles on problems and trends in written, oral and electronic communication in all areas of business, science and government.
Journal of Computer-Mediated Communication
Research Methods
Technical Communication Quarterly
Focuses on technical communication in academic, scientific, technical, business, governmental, and related organizational or social contexts
Online journal of communication and media technologies
Covers communication and related fields, including theory and practice of communication and media studies; new trends and developments; communication in education; visual communication and design; and integrated marketing communication and advertising.

Books @ the Library

Understanding Intercultural Communication by Adrian Holliday
ISBN: 9780415691314
Publication Date: 2013
E-Book
Communication of Complex Information by Michael J. Albers
ISBN: 9780805849929
Publication Date: 2004
E-Book