Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

The American Dream on the Border: JSTOR

Resources specifically for Judith Fourzan-Rice's ENGL 1311 class, Fall 2013.

Yes, you can haz!

What It Is

  • JSTOR is a database
    • In this case, a database contains articles from journals and other publications

  • JSTOR is multidisciplinary, but it's main strengths are not science and technology
    • It contains articles on all sorts of subjects

  • It's a good database to turn to if you're having trouble finding anything in Academic Search Complete
    • It contains more than Academic Search Complete, so you'll likely spend more time trying to find what you need

Helpful Video Tutorials

Click on the following links to view a short tutorial on each topic. For flash-free mobile and Apple devices click on

Introduction to Online Databases  (2:00)  

Search Strategies for  Finding Articles  (3:50)  

Finding Full-Text Articles  (2:46)  

The Different Types of Articles (Magazines, Journals and Newspapers)  (4:40)  

Scholarly Articles  (3:09)

How to Find a Specific Article  (2:52)

How to Create or Recover Your Library PIN  (3:15)

    How to Use JSTOR

    Librarian

    Angela Lucero's picture
    Angela Lucero
    Contact:
    Email: ajmartinez5@utep.edu

    Office: Library 214

    915-747-5685

    Ask a Librarian

    Have a question? Click on the icon above and Ask Us!

    500 W. University Avenue : El Paso, TX, 79968-0582 : (915) 747-5672
    Copyright | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
    State Reports | UT System | Customer Service Statement | Site Feedback | Required Links |