Finding Supporting Sources - RWS 5311 - Dura (Persuasion and Argument) - UTEP Library Research Guides at The University of Texas at El Paso

Support Your Arguments...

Find background information in reference resources such as Gale Virtual Reference.
Find statistics about the topic.
Look at opinions on both sides of the issue in resources such as LexisNexus Academic or Opposing Viewpoints.
Search Multidisciplinary databases first such as Academic Search Complete and JSTOR, then move to specialized databases depending on your topic.

This tutorial briefly illustrates how to access the library's databases.

Quick tips and strategies for finding articles using the library's databases.

If you are using Google Scholar change the settings in order to see articles available through our database subscriptions.

Sample of how to brake your hypothesis into concepts then into keywords so you can better search in databases.

When searching always connect your keywords with Boolean operators.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Business Source Complete (EBSCO)
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) (ProQuest)
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature) (EBSCO)
Communication and Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)
Education Full Text - H.W. Wilson (EBSCO)
JSTOR
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) (ProQuest)
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)
Project MUSE
PsycINFO (EBSCO)
more...less...
Comprehensive bibliographic index that provides citations, abstracts, and some full text for international literature in the field of psychology drawn from source materials such as journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports. Subject coverage includes the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
ScienceDirect
more...less...
Provides bibliographic citations, abstracts, and complete full-text for Elsevier publications. Some items link to full-text content provided by other publishers or vendors. Access to full-text is based on institutional subscriptions. Subject coverage includes biology, chemistry, business, mathematics, engineering, environmental science, materials science, computer science, medicine, psychology, the social sciences, and physics.

Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic index for international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Source publications include book reviews, journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
https://search.proquest.com/socabsshell/advanced?accountid=7121