UTEP Library Research Guides: Immigration Reporting : Find Articles

Where to Go

Find a Database

Best Bet for Sociological Research

SAGE Research Methods Online (SRMO)
SAGE Research Methods Online (SRMO) is a fully-integrated online research methods tool designed to help researchers, faculty, and students with their research projects across multiple disciplines. Users can explore research methods and concepts to help them design research projects, better understand particular research methods or identify new methods, conduct research and write up findings.
more...less...
Other SRMO features such as the Methods Map offers users a visual representation of the inter-relationships and overlaps between the many different methods, theories, and techniques used in social research. The Methods Map can be used to locate a given research technique, theory, or method and its relationship to other approaches and as a way of reaching other relevant content from the books, journals, and reference resources that make up SRMO. Publications indexed include selected SAGE books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, the entire Little Green Book and Little Blue Book series, journal articles, and newly-commissioned videos. Coverage and updates vary by title.

ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States Online Edition (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Updated monthly.
https://statabs.proquest.com/sa/index.html

ProQuest Statistical Insight (ProQuest)
Provides access to statistics produced by the U.S. government, major international intergovernmental organizations, professional and trade organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, state government agencies, and universities. Citations include links to tables and full text government publications.

DemographicsNow: Library Edition (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Developed by SRC, LLC, DemographicsNow provides the means to analyze the demographic and market potential of any geographical area in the United States. Features include the ability to create custom reports, perform market analyses, create fully-interactive maps, create radius-based maps and reports, and create summary as well as comparison reports. Includes access to 1970, 1980, 1990, and 2000 U.S. Census data as well as Experian/Applied Geographic Solutions (AGS) current year estimates and five-year projections.
https://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/txshracd2603?db=DNOW
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic index for international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Source publications include book reviews, journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
https://search.proquest.com/socabsshell/advanced?accountid=7121

Polling Databases

GALLUP Brain
Provides access to Gallup Poll questions and responses dating back to 1935 along with full text articles from Gallup Poll and Gallup Management Journal that include in-depth public opinion and management data analyses.
iPOLL
Comprehensive database of questions and answers derived from public opinion poll surveys conducted in the United States since 1935. Subject coverage is multidisciplinary. Archived surveys were originally gathered by academic, commercial and media survey organizations such as the Gallup Organization, Harris Interactive, Pew Research Associates, and more.
more...less...
Includes on-demand access to the full datasets, derived from both U.S. and international studies, required to conduct bivariate and multivariate analyses on archived surveys using RoperExpress. Updated daily. NOTE: Registration is required in order to view and download datasets.

Multimedia Databases

Filmakers Library Online (Alexander Street Press)
Provides online access to a wide selection of award-winning international documentaries from the Filmakers Library in streaming video format. Subject coverage includes race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. NOTE: Future releases will feature more content from a variety of documentary video sources.
Films on Demand: Digital Educational Video
State-of-the-art streaming video platform produced by the Films Media Group (FMG), composed of Films for the Humanities and Sciences, Cambridge Educational, Meridian Education, and Shopware. Subject coverage is multidisciplinary and includes humanities, social sciences, business, economics, science, mathematics, health, medicine, archival films and newsreels, and much more.

Online Access

NOTE: Visitors may access online resources from a guest computer inside the library or on campus via the Guest login with a laptop or other portable device.

News Databases

BBC Monitoring Library
A project of the Global News Division of the British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC) working in partnership with Vista and Publishers Communication Group, a division of Publishing Technology (Europe) Limited, the BBC Monitoring Library provides international news coverage from state-owned, independent, and clandestine media sources, including reports from radio, television, news agencies, press, and the Internet.
elpasotimes.com
Provides free full text access to all articles published in the El Paso Times within the last seven days. An archive of selected, staff-written articles, providing bibliographic citations only (no photos, charts, or graphics), can be searched for free back to 1998, courtesy of NewsBank. Full text articles must be purchased either individually or in multi-article packages using a personal credit card.
more...less...
NOTE: An incomplete printed index to the newspaper [provided courtesy of the El Paso Public Library (EPPL)] is available at the UTEP Library's Reference Desk. The Library maintains a current subscription to the printed edition of the El Paso Times. Older issues (back to 1881) are available on microfilm. Ask at the Media & Microforms (M&M) Department for details. See also: Full text access to the El Paso Times is now available in LexisNexis Academic from 1999 - present.
Frontera NorteSur
Produced by the Center for Latin American and Border Studies at New Mexico State University (NMSU), this free web site provides full-text online news coverage and analysis of events taking place in the United States-Mexico border region. Subject coverage includes commerce, border crossings, the environment, education, health, human rights, immigration, poltics, and security. Coverage: 1996 - present (daily updates).
Hemeroteca Digital de Chihuahua (INPRO)
Provides full text access to selected Spanish language articles derived from Mexican newspapers and magazines covering the state of Chihuahua, Mexico. Includes selected articles from newspapers and periodicals from other Mexican states as well as from the El Paso, Texas area. Coverage: 1976 - present (updated daily).
LexisNexis Academic
Provides access to full text documents from a wide variety of news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications. Sources include: national, regional, and international newspapers; wire services; broadcast transcripts; non-English language sources and more. NOTE: Full text access to the El Paso Times is now available in LexisNexis Academic from 1999 - present. See also: Campus Research.

Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic index that provides selective coverage for a wide variety of international, national, and regional newspapers. Subject coverage is multidisciplinary. Indexes other news sources such as television and radio transcripts, newswires, book reviews, speeches, and magazines. Many citations include abstracts and/or full-text while others link to full-text content based on institutional subscriptions. Updated daily.
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&custid=s4252121&profile=ehost&defaultdb=n5h&groupid=main

NewspaperARCHIVE.com
Provides full text/full image access to an online archive of selected historical newspapers from around the world. Countries represented include: United States (U.S.) and the Virgin Islands, the United Kingdom (U.K.), Germany, Ireland, South Africa, Jamaica, Canada, and Denmark. Dates of coverage vary by title, ranging from 1759 - present (overall). Updated daily. NOTE: Includes the El Paso Times, the El Paso Herald-Post, and The Prospector

Periodicals Archive Online (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and full text/full image access to selected collections of scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. International subject coverage includes anthropology, black studies, business and management, economics, education, fine arts, geography, history, law, languages and literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, political science, psychology, religion and theology, sociology, and women's studies.
https://search.proquest.com/pao?accountid=7121
ProQuest Historical Newspapers - The New York Times (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text/full-image access to The New York Times newspaper from the first issue published in 1851 up through five years from the current date. Content includes news stories, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photographs, cartoons, maps, advertisements, and more. Updated annually. For online access to current issues of The New York Times, see Nexis Uni. To locate printed or microfilm copies of The New York Times, check MinerQuest, the UTEP Library Catalog.
NOTE: UTEP students, faculty, and staff have unlimited access to New York Times Digital Edition subscription.
https://search.proquest.com/hnpnewyorktimes/advanced?accountid=7121
NOTE: This database is partially funded by the Academic Library Collection Enhancement Program (ALCEP) through the General Libraries of the University of Texas at Austin.
Wall Street Journal (1984 - Present) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database that provides indexing, abstracts, and complete full text for articles from the Eastern edition of the Wall Street Journal. Primary subject coverage focuses on business and finance topics pertaining to companies, people, products, and geographic areas. Additional coverage is given to the arts, sports, and popular culture. Items indexed include top news stories, editorials, editorial cartoons, and letters to the editor.
https://search.proquest.com/wallstreetjournal/advanced?accountid=7121