Social Movements in the 20th Century United States: Databases/Articles

Provides full-text/full-image access to an online archive of selected historical newspapers from around the world. Countries represented include: United States (U.S.) and the Virgin Islands, the United Kingdom (U.K.), France, Germany, Ireland, South Africa, Jamaica, Canada, Denmark, China, and Japan. Content is composed primarily of historical back issues. Dates of coverage vary by title, ranging from 1759 - present (overall).

Provides full-text/full-image access to The New York Times newspaper from the first issue published in 1851 up through five years from the current date. Content includes news stories, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photographs, cartoons, maps, advertisements, and more. Updated annually. For online access to current issues of The New York Times, see Nexis Uni. To locate printed or microfilm copies of The New York Times, check MinerQuest, the UTEP Library Catalog.
NOTE: UTEP students, faculty, and staff have unlimited access to New York Times Digital Edition subscription.

Provides full-text/full-image access to the Los Angeles Times newspaper from the first issue published in 1881 up through 25 years from the current date. Content includes news stories, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photographs, cartoons, maps, advertisements, and more. Updated annually. For online access to current issues of the Los Angeles Times, see LexisNexis Academic.

Provides full text/full image access to the U.S. Serial Set and Serial Set Maps, comprehensive, ongoing collections of U.S. Government publications compiled under the direction of Congress. Subject coverage includes many aspects of American life from the late 18th century up to 1969, ranging from farming, westward expansion, and scientific exploration to politics, law, international relations, business, and manufacturing. Materials indexed include Congressional legislative reports and documents as well as executive agency and departmental reports ordered to be printed by Congress prior to 1969. Also includes the American State Papers, maps, illustrations, photos, and lithographs. Coverage: 1789 - 1969.

Provides access to full-text documents from a wide variety of news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications. Sources include: national, regional, and international newspapers; wire services; broadcast transcripts; non-English language sources; U.S. Federal and state case law; codes and regulations; legal news; law reviews; international legal information; Shepard's Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789; business news journals; company financial information; and SEC filings and reports as well as industry and market news. Coverage and updates vary by title and document type. NOTE: Formerly known as LexisNexis Academic. See also: WestlawNext Campus Research.

Comprehensive bibliographic index for multidisciplinary literature. Formats indexed include books, newspapers, and magazines, as well as scholarly and peer-reviewed journals. Subject coverage includes social sciences, arts and humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, health sciences, multicultural studies, and many more. Most citations include abstracts and full text or link to full text content from other providers, based on institutional subscriptions. This database is made possible by TexShare.

Provides complete full-text access to an archive of back issues of selected scholarly journals from the following subscribed collections: Arts & Sciences (I - XI), Life Sciences, and Ireland. Subject coverage includes: African and African American Studies, anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art and art history, Asian Studies, biology, botany, British Studies, business, classical studies, economics, education, film studies, finance, folklore, geography, health sciences, history, Ireland, Jewish Studies, language and literature, Latin American Studies, law, linguistics, mathematics, Middle East Studies, music, paleontology, performing arts, philosophy, political science, psychology, public administration, religion, science, Slavic Studies, sociology, Women's Studies, statistics and zoology. Other types of publications indexed include monographs, pamphlets, images, and manuscripts.

Comprehensive bibliographic index for international literature concerning the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Materials indexed include journal and magazine articles, books, book and media reviews, conference proceedings, and dissertations. Subject coverage beyond history includes culture, gender studies, psychology, literature, politics, and more. Citations include abstracts and some include links to full-text content based on institutional subscriptions.

State-of-the-art streaming video platform produced by the Films Media Group (FMG), composed of Films for the Humanities and Sciences, Cambridge Educational, Meridian Education, and Shopware. Streaming video content, ranging from clips to complete documentary films, may be incorporated into content management systems, online lesson plans, distance learning courseware, or electronic library card catalog systems. Several titles include closed captioning. Subject coverage is multidisciplinary and includes humanities, social sciences, business, economics, science, mathematics, health, medicine, archival films and newsreels, and much more. Updates vary by title with new content added annually.

Provides full text online access to a multidisciplinary social issues and controversies book series published by Greenhaven Press and other Gale imprints. Publications indexed include pro and con viewpoint articles; reference articles that provide context; full text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles; primary source documents; government and organizational statistics; multimedia, including images and podcasts; links to hand-selected web sites; and more. Features Lexile reading levels for periodicals as well as an integrated national and state curriculum standards search with content correlated to high school and middle school social studies and science standards.

Bibliographic index that contains citations to articles and book reviews published in scholarly journals from Latin America and the Caribbean as well as selected articles from international academic journals dealing with topics relating to Latin America, the Caribbean, Brazil, Mexico, and Hispanic Americans or Latinos. Most journals are peer-reviewed or refereed. Subject focus excludes the pure and technical sciences and focuses on the social sciences and humanities.

Comprehensive, international bibliographic index that contains records for all materials cataloged by OCLC-member libraries worldwide. Materials indexed include books, websites and Internet resources, computer programs, films and slides, journals and magazines, articles, chapters, papers and proceedings, manuscripts, maps, musical scores, newspapers, sound recordings, and videotapes.