Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books with Measurement Tools
What are measurement tools? Where do I find them?
An important component of the research process is gathering and evaluating the data within your discipline using reliable measurement tools, including surveys, tests, scales, questionnaires and assessments. Locating these may take time and require the assistance of a librarian specialist. Remember, researchers and students may not photocopy and use proprietary tests from these sources. Suggested resources:
Dissertations and Theses (ProQuest)
Dissertations sometimes contain the instrument used, often in an appendix. If you find the instrument in this database and wish to use it in your research, you must obtain permission, where applicable, to use the instrument.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print (EBSCO)
Provides online access to the complete multi-volume print series of the Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) as well as Tests in Print (TIP). The MMY is a comprehensive evaluation guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments in the subject areas of psychology, education, business, and leadership. Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography for all known commercially-available tests that are currently in print in the English language. Information provided by TIP includes test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s).
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) (EBSCO)
Comprehensive bibliographic indexing and abstracting database that provides information about behavioral measurement instruments, published by Behavioral Measurement Database Services. Materials indexed include journal articles, instruments from Industrial/Organizational Behavior and Education, questionnaires, interview schedules, vignettes/scenarios, coding schemes, rating and other scales, checklists, indexes, tests, projective techniques, and more.
Bibliographic coverage of the literature in nursing and 17 allied health fields. Next to Publication Type, select Questionnaire/Scale or Research Instrument.
Web of Science
To find a specific test, search by the instrument name and sort results by times cited; view original articles describing the instrument development for clues on how to obtain the test. Or to find a test review, search by the instrument name in the Title field and add additional terms such as validity, validation, reliability, etc. in the Topic field.