UTEP Library Research Guides: HSCI 1301: Foundations of Health Promotion: Finding Artilces

Finding Articles

Databases are storage of organized data which index vast amounts of periodicals and books. It is recommended that one begins to search for articles with Academic Search Complete a multidiscipline database and resort to more specialized databases afterwards. In this section you would find recommended databases for health promotion. To see a complete list of all health promotion databases click here.

Introduction to CINAHL

CINAHL/MESH Headings in EBSCO

Introduction to PubMed

Recommended Databases

Off campus access to most of the Library’s subscription electronic databases and e-journals is available to current UTEP faculty, staff, and students using the Campus VPN.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive bibliographic index for multidisciplinary literature. Formats indexed include books, newspapers, and magazines, as well as scholarly and peer-reviewed journals. Subject coverage includes social sciences, arts and humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, health sciences, multicultural studies, and many more. Most citations include abstracts and full text or link to full text content from other providers, based on institutional subscriptions. This database is made possible by TexShare.
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=a9h

Alt HealthWatch (EBSCO)
Bibliographic index for literature on alternative health care and wellness. Subject coverage includes complementary, alternative, holistic, and integrated approaches to wellness and health care. Materials indexed include peer-reviewed journals, reports, conference proceedings, association and consumer newsletters, pamphlets, booklets, original research, and book excerpts.
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature) (EBSCO)
Bibliographic index for the professional literature of nursing, allied health, biomedicine, and healthcare derived from English-language and selected international source materials. Subject coverage includes management, behaviorial sciences, health sciences, librarianship, education, and consumer health.
Consumer Health Complete (EBSCO)
Fully-integrated search interface designed to provide access to easily understandable consumer health information. Content ranges from mainstream health and wellness to complementary, holistic, and integrated medicine. Subject coverage includes aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs and alcohol, fitness, nutrition and dietetics, children's health, and more.

Education Full Text - H.W. Wilson (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic index for education literature derived from English language periodicals, books, and yearbooks. Subject coverage includes adult and continuing education, educational technology, government funding, higher education, instructional media, language arts, library and information science, literacy standards, parent-teacher relations, school administration, teacher education, vocational education, and much more.
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=eft

ehp (Environmental Health Perspectives) Online
ehp (Environmental Health Perspectives) Online is a full text, peer-reviewed journal dedicated to the discussion of environmental effects on human health. It includes monthly sections regarding childrens health and environmental medicine, a toxicogenomics research section, and an annual review issue.
Health and Safety Science Abstracts (CSA - Subfile)
Comprehensive bibliographic index for literature relating to public health, safety, industrial hygiene, and human factors research. Subject areas range from aviation, aerospace, environmental, nuclear, and medical safety to occupational safety and ergonomics. Health and safety related aspects of pollution, waste disposal, radiation, pesticides, and epidemics are also included.
Health Reference Center - Academic (Gale)
Bibliographic index for literature derived from general interest health and fitness magazines, medical and professional journals, medical reference books, newsletters, and pamphlets. Subject coverage includes physical fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, pediatrics, public health, psychology, occupational health and safety, alcohol and drug abuse, prescription and over-the-counter drugs, and more.
Health Source: Consumer Edition (EBSCO)
Comprehensive bibliographic index for consumer health information. Subject coverage includes AIDS, cancer, diabetes, cardiology, drugs and alcohol, aging, fitness, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, women's health, sports medicine, and more. Materials indexed include journals, consumer health periodicals, health-related pamphlets, health reference books, and Clinical Reference Systems reports.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO)
Bibliographic index that focuses on many medical disciplines, but chiefly on nursing and allied health. Subject coverage includes mental health, pediatrics, psychiatry, community health, clinical nursing, nurse practitioners, diagnostics, ethics, and management. Materials indexed include journal articles from scholarly or peer-reviewed journals.
Immunology Abstracts (CSA - Subfile)
Bibliographic index for research literature pertaining to the study of immunology in both humans and animals. Subject coverage ranges from cancer and vaccine research to immune deficiencies and autoimmunity. Source literature includes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, reports, and monographs.
MEDLINE (EBSCO)
Comprehensive index for international literature in biomedicine, bioengineering, and health. Includes those areas of the life, behavioral, and chemical sciences needed by health professionals and others engaged in basic research and clinical care, public health, health policy development, or related educational activities.
PubMed
Provides comprehensive coverage of international biomedical literature. Materials indexed include scholarly journals, newspapers, magazines, and newsletters.
ScienceDirect
Provides bibliographic citations, abstracts, and complete full text for Elsevier publications. Some items link to full text content provided by other publishers or vendors. Access to full text is based on institutional subscriptions. Subject coverage includes biology, chemistry, business, mathematics, engineering, environmental science, materials science, computer science, medicine, psychology, the social sciences, and physics.