Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Newspaper Databases
UTEP Library has categorized electronic databases into subjects for easy browsing, one of which is Newspapers.
The Newspapers category lists 24 databases associated with newspaper publications. Each listed database has a brief description and access information. Pick the most appropriate database for your research, and click on the database name link to access it. Note: If you are in campus, or off campus using the Virtual Private Networking (VPN); you will automatically be taken to the database. If you are off campus, and no VPN set up; you will be prompt with a login screen to identify that you are a UTEP student, faculty, or staff.
For more information on how to find the right electronic database for your research contact a librarian at the reference desk on 2nd floor of library or via phone at (915)747-5643.
Finding Historical Newspapers
Finding Current Newspapers
Popular Newspaper Databases
Some of the most popular databases for newspaper articles are:
Provides access to full text documents from a wide variety of news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications. Sources include: national, regional, and international newspapers; wire services; broadcast transcripts; non-English language sources. Coverage and updates vary by title and document type.
Newspaper Source (EBSCO)
Bibliographic index that provides selective coverage for a wide variety of international, national, and regional newspapers.
Provides full text/full image access to an online archive of selected historical newspapers from around the world.
ProQuest Historical Newspaper NewYork Times
Provides full text/full image access to the New York Times newspaper from the first issue published in 1851 up to 2007.