Resources to help students and researchers discover outstanding resources related to the scholarly study of the the fields of Intelligence and National Security.
Digital National Security Archive (DNSA) (ProQuest)This link opens in a new windowProvides complete full text access to several comprehensive sets of declassified government documents dealing with U.S. national security policy. Subjects include Afghanistan, the Berlin and Cuban Missile Crises, China, El Salvador, Iran-Contra Affair, Iraqgate, Japan, Nicaragua, Nuclear Non-Proliferation, Philippines, South Africa, and the U.S. Intelligence Community. Documents indexed include presidential directives, memos, diplomatic dispatches, meeting notes, independent reports, briefing papers, White House communications, e-mail, confidential letters, and other formerly classified materials.
https://www.proquest.com/dnsa/advanced
Declassified Documents Reference System (DDRS) (Gale)Digital reference archive developed by Primary Source Media, a division of Gale, that provides indexing, abstracting, and complete full text/full image access to a large selection of United States government documents obtained from presidential libraries. Document sources include the White House, the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA), the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI), the State Department, and more. Coverage ranges from the years immediately following World War II, when declassified documents were first made widely available, through the 1970s. Nearly every major foreign and domestic event during these years is represented: the Cold War, Vietnam, foreign policy shifts, the civil rights movement, and others.
ProQuest Congressional Publications (ProQuest)This link opens in a new windowProvides access to the online version of the CIS Index containing bibliographic citations and abstracts of congressional publications, including the CIS Legislative Histories (1970 - present). Includes full text access to congressional reports and voting records, House and Senate documents, bills, and public laws as well as to committee reports, selected prints, and schedules. Other full text publications include: U.S. Code, Congressional Record, Federal Register, and the Code of Federal Regulations.
https://search.proquest.com/congressional
Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL)This link opens in a new windowSponsored by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security Office of Grants and Training and the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security (CHDS), the Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) provides full text access to important U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents as well as specialized resources such as theses and reports from various universities, organizations, and local and state agencies.
http://www.hsdl.org
US Bureau of Investigation Case FilesProvides full-text/full-image access to a digital collection of previously undisclosed historical United States Bureau of Investigation case file records derived from the National Archives. Subject coverage includes reports of World War I espionage, case files for politically-suspect German aliens, opium smuggling, records pertaining to Mexican neutrality violations, and reports dealing with alleged violations of U.S. federal laws. Coverage: 1908 - 1922.
FDsys: Federal Digital System: America's Authentic Government InformationThis link opens in a new windowProvides free access to a wealth of important information products produced by the Federal Government. Information provided on and retrieved from this site is the official, published version and can be used without restriction, unless specifically noted. Search or browse official, full text information from all three branches of the Federal Government including publications such as: Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP), Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), Federal Register, Congressional Record, GAO Reports, United States Code, and the U.S. Government Manual.
Source data on the conditions associated with outbreak of war and militarized disputes. Includes data sets, and also articles and other secondary data sources
