Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Sources - General
Includes historical records, photos, stories, family trees and a collaborative community. Fee based site.
FamilySearch is a service provided by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. The largest genealogy organization in the world providing records, resources, and services free of charge.
The USGenWeb Project
A group of volunteers working together to provide free genealogy websites for genealogical research in every county and every state of the United States.
This free site offers access to an extraordinary database of information on 11 million immigrants from 1820 through 1892, the year Ellis Island opened.
World Vital Records
A fee based service that provides access to genealogy databases and family history tools.
U.S. Census Records and Beyond
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Request birth, death, marriage,and divorce records both for the U.S. and outlying areas.
National Personnel Records Center (Military Personnel Records)
Death records of members of U.S. Army, Navy, Air Force, or Coast Guard
Selective Service Records
Men born on or after Jan. 1, 1960.
Library of Congress/ History & Genealogy
Historical map records, family and local histories, and other historical records.
National Archives & Records Administration
Homestead applications, ships' passenger lists, American Indian tribal census rolls and more.
The Bureau of Land Management
General Land Office Records
Provides access to Federal land conveyance records for the Public Land States, including image access to more than five million Federal land title records issued between 1820 and the present.
El Paso City Directories
Scanned images of El Paso City Directories from 1885 to 1905. Special Collections on the sixth floor has the other years.
19th Century U.S. Newspapers (Gale)
Provides full-text/full-image access to selected primary source newspaper content published during the 19th century from both urban and rural regions throughout the United States. Subject coverage focuses on the daily life, politics, culture, ethnic groups, and major historical events from 19th century America, including the American Civil War, African-Americans, Native Americans, Western migration, Antebellum-era life, women's rights, labor groups, and more.
African American Newspapers (1827-1998) (NewsBank/Readex)
Provides complete full text/full image access to a collection of U.S. newspapers that chronicles the African American experience from 1827-1998. Subject coverage spans life in the Antebellum South; the spread of abolitionism; growth of the Black church; the Emancipation Proclamation; the Jim Crow Era; the Great Migration to northern cities, including the West and Midwest in search of greater opportunity; rise of the N.A.A.C.P.; the Harlem Renaissance; the Civil Rights movement; political and economic empowerment, and more. Materials indexed include articles, obituaries, advertisements, editorials, and illustrations.
Early American Newspapers (1690-1876), Series I (NewsBank/Readex)
Provides complete full text/full image access to over 700 historical American newspapers from 23 states and the District of Columbia printed between 1690 and 1876. The bulk of the collection is from the 18th century and is based on Clarence S. Brigham's History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820 as well as other authoritative bibliographies.
HeritageQuest Online (ProQuest)
Full text/full image collections of research materials for tracing family history and American culture. Includes family and local history books as well as United States Census data from 1790-1930.
Latin American Newspapers - Series 1, 1805-1922 (NewsBank/Readex)
Published in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries (CRL), this collection provides complete full-text/full-image access to selected 19th and 20th century historical newspapers printed in various Latin American countries, including: Mexico, Argentina, Cuba, Chile, Brazil, Peru, Trinidad, and Guyana. Most titles are printed in either Spanish or Portuguese while some are printed in the English language. The bulk of the collection is from the 19th century; dates of coverage range from 1805-1922 (overall).
ProQuest Congressional Publications (U.S. Serial Set and Serial Set Maps) (ProQuest)
Provides full text/full image access to the U.S. Serial Set and Serial Set Maps, comprehensive, ongoing collections of U.S. Government publications compiled under the direction of Congress. Subject coverage includes many aspects of American life from the late 18th century up to 1969, ranging from farming, westward expansion, and scientific exploration to politics, law, international relations, business, and manufacturing. Materials indexed include Congressional legislative reports and documents as well as executive agency and departmental reports ordered to be printed by Congress prior to 1969. Also includes the American State Papers, maps, illustrations, photos, and lithographs. Coverage: 1789 - 1969.
Access Newspaper Archive
Provides full-text/full-image access to an online archive of selected historical newspapers from around the world. Countries represented include: United States (U.S.) and the Virgin Islands, the United Kingdom (U.K.), France, Germany, Ireland, South Africa, Jamaica, Canada, Denmark, China, and Japan. Content is composed primarily of historical back issues. Dates of coverage vary by title, ranging from 1759 - present (overall).