Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Off campus access to most of the Library’s subscription electronic databases and e-journals is available to current UTEP faculty, staff, and students only via the following methods:
- The Campus VPN (broadband users only)
- The Library’s Proxy Server (To see how to reset/create your PIN click here)
- My Desktop (To learn more about My Desktop click here)
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Comprehensive bibliographic index for multidisciplinary literature. Formats indexed include books, newspapers, and magazines, as well as scholarly and peer-reviewed journals. Subject coverage includes social sciences, arts and humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, health sciences, multicultural studies, and many more. Most citations include abstracts and full text or link to full text content from other providers, based on institutional subscriptions.
Provides online access to a fully-integrated resource center for physical therapy students, educators, and those in practice seeking to maintain certification. Features leading McGraw-Hill textbooks, interactive imaging content, multimedia, and curriculum support tools. Includes detailed information concerning modalities; videos and animations; a customizable curriculum tool that can be used to assign, manage, and track the progress of student assignments; an online cadaver dissection resource for the study of anatomy and physiology; a drug and medication database, and references to primary literature.
AccessMedicine from McGraw-Hill
Provides full-text online access to a selected collection of authoritative clinical reference and medical education titles authored by leading medical professionals from around the world. Content includes images, illustrations, interactive self-assessment tools, case files, and diagnostic tools necessary for completing evaluations, diagnoses, and case management decisions, as well as for pursuing research, medical education, or self-assessment and board review.
AltHealth Watch (EBSCO)
Bibliographic index for literature on alternative health care and wellness. Subject coverage includes complementary, alternative, holistic, and integrated approaches to wellness and health care. Materials indexed include peer-reviewed journals, reports, conference proceedings, association and consumer newsletters, pamphlets, booklets, original research, and book excerpts.
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) (EBSCO)
Bibliographic index for the professional literature of nursing, allied health, biomedicine, and healthcare derived from English-language and selected international source materials. Subject coverage includes management, behaviorial sciences, health sciences, librarianship, education, and consumer health.
Cochrane Library (Wiley)
A collection of evidence-based medicine databases, including the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. Includes full text, systematic reviews of empirical studies, complete with graphs, figures, odds-ratio diagrams, and tables, many of which can be manipulated for statistical analysis.
Ei Engineering Village (Compendex)
Fully-integrated content discovery platform that provides online access to Engineering Index (Compendex), a comprehensive bibliographic index for engineering, technical, and applied science literature derived from journal articles, conference papers, technical reports, and more. Citations include abstracts and some include links to full text, based on institutional subscriptions. Coverage: 1884 - present (updated weekly). NOTE: Provides access to two independently searchable online resources for patents: United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) full text/full image databases and esp@acenet for patents (some full text) produced by national patent offices in Europe, the European Patent Office (EPO), the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO), and Japan. Also provides access to IHS Standards as well as LexisNexis News.
A comprehensive, international biomedical and pharmaceutical indexing database that contains bibliographic citations with abstracts from EMBASE (1974-present) and MEDLINE (1966-present) that have been de-duplicated and are searchable with EMTREE, the Life Science Thesaurus.
Ergonomics Abstracts (EBSCO)
Provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts for international literature pertaining to ergonomics and human factors. Materials indexed include books, reports, conference proceedings, and journals. Includes related material from subject areas such as psychology, physiology, biomechanics, job design, human-computer interaction, safety science, human engineering, medicine, occupational health, sport, and transport. Coverage: 1985 - present.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO)
Bibliographic index that focuses on many medical disciplines, but chiefly on nursing and allied health. Subject coverage includes mental health, pediatrics, psychiatry, community health, clinical nursing, nurse practitioners, diagnostics, ethics, and management.
Created by the Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE), INSPEC provides comprehensive bibliographic indexing for international literature in science and technology core subject areas such as physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computing, and information technology. Includes significant coverage of related disciplines such as materials science, oceanography, nuclear engineering, geophysics, biomedical engineering, and more. Publications indexed include journal articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and technical reports. Citations include abstracts and some include links to full text content from other providers, based on institutional subscriptions. Coverage: 1966 - present (updated annually).
Joanna Briggs Institute Evidence Based Practice (EBP) Database (OVID)
Provides online access to a range of resources to assist in evaluating evidence leading to informed clinical decision-making and best practice in health care. Features evidence summaries, evidence based recommended practices, best practice information sheets, systematic reviews, consumer information sheets, and more. Coverage: 2009 - Present (monthly updates).
Journals@OVID (LWW Journals)
UTEP's subscribed full-text e-journal collections from Lippincott, Williams & Wilkins (LWW) include: 1) LWW Nursing & Health Professions Premier Collection, and 2) LWW High Impact Collection.
Comprehensive index for international literature in biomedicine, bioengineering, and health. Includes those areas of the life, behavioral, and chemical sciences needed by health professionals and others engaged in basic research and clinical care, public health, health policy development, or related educational activities.
Physical Education Index (ProQuest)
Provides indexing, abstracts, and links to some full text for scholarly and trade literature in the field of physical education. Subject coverage includes physical education curricula, sports medicine, dance, sport law, kinesiology, motor learning, recreation, standardized fitness tests, sports equipment, business and marketing, coaching and training, sport sociology/psychology, health education, and physical therapy. Full text access based on institutional subscriptions. Coverage: 1970 - present (updated monthly).
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) (ProQuest)
Provides bibliographic indexing for nearly all doctoral dissertations and Master's theses accepted at North American academic institutions. Selectively indexes dissertations and theses from academic institutions in Great Britain, Europe, and other countries around the globe. Dissertations published since July 1980 include abstracts written by the author. Theses published since 1988 include brief abstracts. All titles published since 1997 include 24-page previews and complete full text; selected full text is available for earlier dates. Many titles can also be ordered online using a personal credit card. Subject coverage is multidisciplinary. Coverage: 1637 - present (overall); bulk from 1861 - present. Updated monthly. NOTE: Includes all of UTEP's Master's theses and doctoral dissertations in online format as found in Dissertations & Theses @ University of Texas - El Paso (ProQuest).
PubMed is a free service provided by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) of the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM).It provides indexing for bibliographic citations from MEDLINE (1966 - present), OLDMEDLINE (1950 - 1965), out-of-scope and publisher-supplied citations, in-process records, and selected other NLM-reviewed life science journal articles with full text in PubMedCentral.
Provides bibliographic citations, abstracts, and complete full text for Elsevier publications. Subject coverage includes biology, chemistry, business, mathematics, engineering, environmental science, materials science, computer science, medicine, psychology, the social sciences, and physics.
Comprehensive bibliographic index for international research literature pertaining to sport, sports medicine, exercise psychology, biomechanics, physiology, training, coaching, physical education and exercise, physical fitness, and other related disciplines. Materials indexed include monographs, journals, dissertations, theses, magazines, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, audiovisuals, and more. Some citations include abstracts and some link to full text content, based on institutional subscriptions. Coverage: 1800 - present.
Fully-integrated cross-searchable platform that provides complete full-text access to a wide variety of current authoritative medical texts, multimedia titles and evidence-based reference resources such as ACP PIER, ACP Medicine, and MedCalc. Many titles are included on Doody’s Core Titles (DCT) List.
Web of Science
Provides access to Science Citation Index Expanded (1899-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1898-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science (1990-present), and Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities (1990-present). Includes a broad selection of prestigious, high impact, academic research journals as well as cited reference searching. Some citations include links to full text, based on institutional subscriptions. Coverage: 1898 - present (overall).
Provides bibliographic citations, abstracts, and full text for a wide variety of peer-reviewed primary research and survey journals published by John Wiley & Sons, Inc. in partnership with several prestigious international scholarly and professional associations.