Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Recommended UTEP Library Sources
Use this tab to find recommended UTEP Library resources, such as databases, journals, and books.
Academic Search Complete
A scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including over 5,000 full-text journals.
Provides access to full-text documents from a wide variety of news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications. Sources include: national, regional, and international newspapers; wire services; broadcast transcripts; non-English language sources; U.S. Federal and state case law; codes and regulations; legal news; law reviews; international legal information; Shepard's Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789; business news journals; company financial information; and SEC filings and reports as well as industry and market news. Coverage and updates vary by title and document type. NOTE: Full text access to the El Paso Times is now available in LexisNexis Academic from 1999 - present. See also: WestlawNext Campus Research.
Business communication: writing
On his first day on the job, Mark already has a writing assignment. How should he begin? In this dramatization, Mark quickly learns the four steps to good writing-plan, write, revise, and edit-as well as the differences between a memo, a letter, and a report. Revisions are displayed on his computer screen as he actually makes them, providing concrete examples of the writing process in action.
Business communication: speaking
Mark's public speaking nightmare has materialized into reality: he must present his department's new marketing plan to the board of directors. This dramatization tracks Mark's preparations, during which he learns good speaking techniques, effective methods for organizing a speech, tips for minimizing stage fright, and the importance of nonverbal communication.
Business communication: reading
If Mark and his colleagues are to meet a tight research deadline, they will have to read faster-and smarter-than ever. This dramatization illustrates the value of taking a time-saving approach to reading, which includes using skimming and active reading techniques, taking advantage of reader-friendly devices designed to help pinpoint information, and diligently concentrating on the content target zone.