UTEP Library Research Guides: Nursing: Point-of-Care Tools & Clinical Information

Evidence-Based + Point-of-Care Tools

Evidence-based + Point-of-Care tools available for use by current UTEP students, faculty, and staff

*** The AccessMedicine app on the Apple App Store & Google Play store sunset in August 2023 and was replaced by a new app called Access!***

Click here to access AccessPediatrics.

**You must be connected to the UTEP Network via WifI OR VPN to sign up for this resource. This is the only way it will recognize your affiliation with UTEP**

Sign up using the link inside the red banner across the top of the page. If you don't see this banner, you're not on the UTEP network!

Click here to access the Sanford Guide.

The AccessMedicine mobile app sunset in August 2023 and was replaced by Access.

Due to licensing agreements with the provider of these databases, re-authentication is *required* every 90 days.

Micromedex Solutions

Step 1: Once you click on the link below, login here:

Step 2: Once you see this page, follow the arrow to go into Micromedex:

Micromedex Solutions: Web Applications Access (IBM) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to evidence-based, point-of-care drug, disease, toxicology, and patient education information, including dosing, adverse effects, indications, and interactions.
https://www.micromedexsolutions.com

Clinical Information Resources By Topic

Access Medicine from McGraw-Hill This link opens in a new window Provides full-text online access to a selected collection of authoritative clinical reference and medical education titles authored by leading medical professionals from around the world. Content includes images, illustrations, interactive self-assessment tools, case files, and diagnostic tools necessary for completing evaluations, diagnoses, and case management decisions, as well as for pursuing research, medical education, or self-assessment and board review.
https://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com
DynaMed Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Evidence-based clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other health care professionals for use primarily at the "Point-of-Care (POC)." Composed of clinically-organized summaries on a wide variety of diseases, disorders, and symptoms. Includes information on etiology, associated conditions, history and research findings, differential diagnosis and diagnostic testing, prognosis, treatment, prevention, links to patient resources, and selected content from Micromedex Standard Drug Information (DRUGDEX). Peer-reviewed summaries are derived from medical journals, systematic evidence review databases, and journal review services.
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=dmp
Access Pediatrics This link opens in a new window Covers the entire span of pediatric practice, from neonatology through adolescent medicine. Updated regularly and optimized for viewing on any device, this comprehensive online pediatric resource provides instant access to information essential for completing evaluation, diagnosis, and case management decisions, as well as for pursuing research or self-assessment and board review -- all in one place.
https://accesspediatrics.mhmedical.com/

Clinical Pharmacology powered by ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to a selected collection of pharmaceutical monograph and reference titles. Content includes pediatric and neonatal, patient drug and disease education, IV compatibility, toxicology, oncology and drug class overviews. Frequent updates.Access Information: Current UTEP faculty, staff, and students both on and off campus. Community users within Library building at public access computers only.
https://www.clinicalkey.com/pharmacology
Facts & Comparisons eAnswers This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to comprehensive, current, and in-depth reference information for prescription drugs and over-the-counter products through Drug Facts and Comparisons. Enhances drug interaction checking and patient screening with authoritative data from Medi-Span Drug Therapy Monitoring System.
https://fco.factsandcomparisons.com/?siteid=1&reauth
UpToDate Lexidrug This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive online database that provides point of care drug information including dosing, administration, warnings and precautions, as well as clinical content, such as clinical practice guidelines, IV compatibility from Trissel's 2 Clinical Pharmaceutics Database, and other tools. Subjects include Clinical Laboratory Science, Nursing and Pharmacy.
https://online.lexi.com/lco/action/home?siteid=2&reauth
Micromedex Solutions: Web Applications Access (IBM) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to evidence-based, point-of-care drug, disease, toxicology, and patient education information, including dosing, adverse effects, indications, and interactions.
https://www.micromedexsolutions.com

LactMed
Contains information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. It includes information on the levels of such substances in breast milk and infant blood, and the possible adverse effects in the nursing infant. Suggested therapeutic alternatives to those drugs are provided, where appropriate

DynaMed Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other health care professionals for use primarily at the "Point-of-Care (POC)." Composed of clinically-organized summaries on a wide variety of diseases, disorders, and symptoms. Includes information on etiology, associated conditions, history and research findings, differential diagnosis and diagnostic testing, prognosis, treatment, prevention, links to patient resources, and selected content from Micromedex Standard Drug Information (DRUGDEX). Peer-reviewed summaries are derived from medical journals, systematic evidence review databases, and journal review services.
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=dmp

National Comprehensive Cancer Network
Not-for-profit alliance of the world's leading cancer centers. Guidelines are organized by Supportive Care, Age-Related Recommendations, and, Detection, Prevention, & Risk Reduction.
U.S. Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF)
Independent panel of experts who systematically reviews the evidence of effectiveness and develops recommendations for clinical preventive services.

Access Medicine from McGraw-Hill This link opens in a new window Provides full-text online access to a selected collection of authoritative clinical reference and medical education titles authored by leading medical professionals from around the world. Content includes images, illustrations, interactive self-assessment tools, case files, and diagnostic tools necessary for completing evaluations, diagnoses, and case management decisions, as well as for pursuing research, medical education, or self-assessment and board review.
https://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com
Access APN from McGraw-Hill This link opens in a new window
Access APN provides nursing related content that includes authoritative titles, case studies, practice quizzes and instructional video. Paths of study include advance practice nursing, nurse practitioner, clinical nurse specialist, certified registered nurse anesthetists, certified nurse midwife and doctor of nursing practice.
Continuously updated. In partnership with Sigma Theta Tau.
https://apn.mhmedical.com/