UTEP Library Research Guides: Biology: Databases

Searching Your Topic

MinerQuest can help you search for books, e-books, journal articles, streaming video, and more. This is often a good place to begin an introductory search on your topic.

Databases

The following are recommended databases to begin your research, or you may view all Biology related databases here.

ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic citations, abstracts, and complete full-text for Elsevier publications. Some items link to full-text content provided by other publishers or vendors. Access to full-text is based on institutional subscriptions. Subject coverage includes biology, chemistry, business, mathematics, engineering, environmental science, materials science, computer science, medicine, psychology, the social sciences, and physics.
https://www.sciencedirect.com/
Biological Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive indexing for international literature in the life sciences, including biology, agriculture, biochemistry, biotechnology, botany, ecology, the environment, microbiology, neurology, pharmacology, public health, veterinary science, zoology, and toxicology. Most citations include abstracts, and some include links to full-text content from other providers, based on institutional subscriptions. Materials indexed include journal articles, books, book chapters, patents, reviews, and conference proceedings. Coverage (overall): 1926 - present (updated quarterly).
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&custid=s4252121&groupid=main&profile=ehost&defaultdb=bxh
Biological Science Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary bibliographic index for research literature in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology, and ecology, as well as some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science. Publications indexed include journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs, selected books, and patents. Citations include abstracts and links to some full text articles, based on institutional licensing. Coverage: 1982 - present (updated monthly).
https://search.proquest.com/biologicalsciences?accountid=7121
BioOne This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic citations, abstracts, and complete full-text access to a unique aggregation of high-impact bioscience research journals focusing on the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences. Some articles link to full-text content provided by other publishers or vendors. Access to full-text is based on institutional subscriptions; some content is open-access. Coverage and updates vary by title. NOTE: UTEP's subscribed content includes the BioOne Complete package.
https://www.bioone.org
Gale In Context: Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles that include national and global publications, 200+ science experiments, 300+ interactive simulations, other multimedia, and top reference content. Science is updated daily and offers over 600 pages on topics across the curriculum, covering biology, chemistry, earth and environmental science, physics, and more. The database is made possible by TexShare.
https://link.gale.com/apps/SCIC?u=txshracd2603

Biology

MinerQuest Search

ILL

Request the item through Interlibrary Loan.

Searching Your Topic

MinerQuest can help you search for books, e-books, journal articles, streaming video, and more. This is often a good place to begin an introductory search on your topic.

Databases