SpringerProtocols provides full-text access to a comprehensive collection of authoritative, easily reproducible, step-by-step laboratory protocols in the Life and Biomedical Sciences compiled from HumanaΓÇÖs book series Methods in Molecular Biology, Methods in Molecular Medicine, Methods in Biotechnology, Methods in Pharmacology and Toxicology, and Neuromethods, as well as from a wide range of laboratory handbooks such as The Biomethods Handbook, The Proteomics Handbook, and the Springer Laboratory Manuals. Subject coverage includes biochemistry, bioinformatics, cancer research, genetics, genomics, imaging and radiology, immunology and infectious diseases, microbiology, molecular medicine, neuroscience, pharmacology, toxicology, plant sciences, and protein science.
http://www.springerprotocols.com
Clinical Laboratory Science Databases
Recommended databases for beginning your research.VIEWthe complete list of Clinical Laboratory Science databases.
Biological Abstracts (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowProvides comprehensive indexing for international literature in the life sciences, including biology, agriculture, biochemistry, biotechnology, botany, ecology, the environment, microbiology, neurology, pharmacology, public health, veterinary science, zoology, and toxicology. Most citations include abstracts and some include links to full text content from other providers, based on institutional subscriptions. Materials indexed include journal articles, books, book chapters, patents, reviews, and conference proceedings.
Biological Science Collection (ProQuest)This link opens in a new windowInterdisciplinary bibliographic index for research literature in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology, and ecology, as well as some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science. Publications indexed include journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs, selected books, and patents. Citations include abstracts and links to some full text articles, based on institutional licensing. Coverage: 1982 - present (updated monthly).
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature) (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowBibliographic index for the professional literature of nursing, allied health, biomedicine, and healthcare derived from English-language and selected international source materials. Subject coverage includes management, behaviorial sciences, health sciences, librarianship, education, and consumer health. Materials indexed include journals, books, book chapters, pamphlets, audiovisuals, dissertations, educational software, conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, nurse practice acts, critical paths, and research instruments.
Cochrane Library (Wiley)This link opens in a new windowA collection of evidence-based medicine databases, including the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Cochrane Reviews), the Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE), the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), the Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews (Methodology Reviews), the Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA), and the NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHS EED). Includes full text, systematic reviews of empirical studies, complete with graphs, figures, odds-ratio diagrams, and tables, many of which can be manipulated for statistical analysis.
https://www.cochranelibrary.com
Embase (Elsevier)This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive, international biomedical and pharmaceutical indexing database that contains bibliographic citations with abstracts from EMBASE (1974-present) and MEDLINE (1966-present) that have been de-duplicated and are searchable with EMTREE, the Life Science Thesaurus. Subject coverage includes drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, veterinary medicine, dentistry, nursing, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation. Publications indexed include academic and trade journal articles, book series and book chapters, conference proceedings, patents, newspapers, magazines, newsletters, reports, letters, reviews, surveys and more.
https://www.embase.com
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowComprehensive bibliographic index for national education literature, sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, consisting of: Resources in Education, Current Index to Journals in Education, and full text ERIC Digest records. Materials indexed include books, journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, theses, dissertations, and conference proceedings. Subject coverage includes education, law, psychology, behavioral science, humanities, arts and literature, and the social sciences. This database is made possible by TexShare.
MEDLINE (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowComprehensive index for international literature in biomedicine, bioengineering, and health. Includes those areas of the life, behavioral, and chemical sciences needed by health professionals and others engaged in basic research and clinical care, public health, health policy development, or related educational activities. Subject coverage includes medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the pre-clinical sciences. Materials indexed include scholarly journals, newspapers, magazines, and newsletters. This database is made possible by TexShare.
PsycINFO (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowComprehensive bibliographic index that provides citations, abstracts, and some full text for international literature in the field of psychology drawn from source materials such as journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports. Subject coverage includes the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
PubMed (NCBI-NLM)This link opens in a new windowPubMed is a free service provided by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) of the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM). It provides indexing for bibliographic citations from MEDLINE (1966 - present), OLDMEDLINE (1950 - 1965), out-of-scope and publisher-supplied citations, in-process records, and selected other NLM-reviewed life science journal articles with full text in PubMedCentral. Provides comprehensive coverage of international biomedical literature. Materials indexed include scholarly journals, newspapers, magazines, and newsletters. Many citations include abstracts and some include free full text or links to full text, based on institutional subscriptions.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier)This link opens in a new windowProvides bibliographic citations, abstracts, and complete full-text for Elsevier publications. Some items link to full-text content provided by other publishers or vendors. Access to full-text is based on institutional subscriptions. Subject coverage includes biology, chemistry, business, mathematics, engineering, environmental science, materials science, computer science, medicine, psychology, the social sciences, and physics.
https://www.sciencedirect.com/
SciFinderThis link opens in a new windowFully-integrated, comprehensive, web-based resource for chemical and related scientific information composed of four Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) databases. Chemical Abstracts Plus (CAplus) is a bibliographic index for international literature in general chemistry and related subject areas, including agriculture, biology, engineering, food science, geology, materials sciences, health science, physics, and polymer science. Publications indexed include journal articles, patents, patent families, technical disclosures and reports, books, conference proceedings, and dissertations. Citations include abstracts and some include links to full text content from other providers, based on institutional subscriptions. CAS Registry provides information regarding chemical substances such as name, structure, and sequence; CASREACT includes information about chemical reactions; and CHEMCATS contains information about commercially available chemicals and their suppliers worldwide. Includes information about inventoried or regulated chemicals in key global markets. Provides access to MEDLINE for coverage of biomedicine. Coverage varies by title or database, ranging from 1778 - present overall (updated daily). NOTE: Registration with an active UTEP e-mail address ending in ".utep.edu" is required for new users. Returning users may access with login credentials set up during registration. For assistance with this resource, contact Robert Klapthor, Science Reference Librarian, at (915) 747-5040 or the UTEP Library Serials & Electronic Resources Team (SERT).
SciTech Premium Collection (ProQuest)This link opens in a new windowAllows simultaneous searching and discovery across multiple ProQuest databases for global publications in science and technology subject areas, including the following collections: Advanced Technologies and Aerospace, Agricultural Science, Aquatic Science, Atmospheric Science, Biological Science, Computer Science, Earth Science, Engineering, Environmental Science, and Materials Science. Comprehensive subject coverage includes biology, fisheries and wildlife, education, geography, human and veterinary medicine, pharmacy and pharmacology, meteorology, public health and safety, water resources, conservation, forestry, civil and mechanical engineering, engineered materials, telecommunications, electronics, physics, and more. Publications indexed include scholarly journals, trade journals, conference papers and proceedings, blogs, podcasts and websites, books, dissertations and theses, figures, government and official publications, historical and contemporary newspapers, magazines, maps, technical reports, tables, wire feeds, working papers, video and audio, and other resources. Most citations include abstracts and some include full-text or link to full-text content, based on institutional subscriptions. Coverage and updates vary by collection, ranging from 1946 - present (overall). This database is made possible by TexShare.
TOXLINE (ProQuest)This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and abstracts for information in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens and teratogens. Materials indexed include journal articles, books, technical reports, theses, dissertations, letters, meeting abstracts, and conference papers.
Web of ScienceThis link opens in a new windowProvides access to Science Citation Index Expanded (1899-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1898-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science (1990-present), and Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities (1990-present). Includes a broad selection of prestigious, high impact, academic research journals as well as cited reference searching.
https://webofknowledge.com/wos
Wiley Online LibraryThis link opens in a new windowProvides full-text online access to the publications of John Wiley & Sons, Inc. and related imprints. Subject coverage includes business, economics, finance, accounting, chemistry, earth and environmental science, education, engineering, humanities, social science, information science and computing, law and criminology, life science, medicine, mathematics and statistics, health science, veterinary medicine, physics and astronomy, polymers and materials science, psychology, and more.
![Databases We [Like]](http://d2jv02qf7xgjwx.cloudfront.net/sites/1519/icons/12219/Databases_We__Like__ittybitty.png "Databases We [Like]"){kind=icon}
This link opens in a new window