Skip to main content

Humanities: Art Databases

A guide to Resources in Humanities

Art Databases

Art Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) - Comprehensive bibliographic index for multidisciplinary literature. Formats indexed include books, newspapers, and magazines, as well as scholarly and peer-reviewed journals.

Aluka: Building a Digital Library of Scholarly Resources From and About Africa - - Fully-integrated web site that provides full text online access to a variety of resources and data related to Africa derived from major repositories and contributors around the world. Aluka is composed of three collections resulting from long-term collaborations with academic institutions, libraries, and research communities: African Cultural Heritage Sites and Landscapes, African Plants, and Struggles for Freedom in Southern Africa. Coverage and updates vary by collection.

Art Full Text (Wilson) - Comprehensive bibliographic index for international literature dealing with all aspects of art. Subject coverage includes advertising, antiques, archaeology, architecture and architectural history, art history, computers in art, crafts, decorative arts, fashion design, folk art, graphic arts, industrial design, interior design, landscape architecture, motion pictures, museology, non-western art, painting, photography, pottery, sculpture, television, textiles, and video.

Art Index Retrospective (Wilson) - Bibliographic index that cumulates citations to the 32-volume printed version of the Art Index, published between 1929 and 1984. Materials indexed include both English-language and international periodicals, art reproductions, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. Subject coverage includes advertising, antiques, archaeology, architecture and architectural history, art history, crafts, decorative arts, folk art, graphic arts, industrial design, interior design, landscape architecture, motion pictures, museology, non-western art, painting, photography, pottery, sculpture, television, and textiles.

ARTbibliographies Modern (CSA) -  Bibliographic index for international literature concerning all forms of modern and contemporary art. Subject coverage includes performance art and installation works, video art, art history and theory, computer and electronic art, body art, photography, graffiti, artists' books, theatre arts, conservation, crafts, ceramic and glass art, ethnic arts, graphic and museum design, fashion, and calligraphy, as well as traditional media including illustration, painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing.

Artcyclopedia: The Fine Art Search Engine - Comprehensive bibliographic index to museum-quality fine art on the Internet derived from museum websites, image archives, and other online resources. Artistic media included are painting; sculpture; photography; the decorative arts; installation art; video, digital, and web-based art; nave, folk, and outsider art; and architecture.

ARTstor - Digital image database of visual material encompassing artistic and historical traditions across many time periods and cultures. Subject coverage includes the arts, architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, and many other forms of visual culture. Designed to be used by art researchers and art historians. Registration is recommended in order to take advantage of all ARTstor features. UTEP faculty and library staff may request instructor privileges that will allow them to create folders to share image groups with students or colleagues.

For More Art Databases click here.

500 W. University Avenue : El Paso, TX, 79968-0582 : (915) 747-5672
Copyright | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
State Reports | UT System | Customer Service Statement | Site Feedback | Required Links |