Native American History: Online Sources

Provides full-text/full-image access to selected primary source newspaper content published during the 19th century from both urban and rural regions throughout the United States. Subject coverage focuses on the daily life, politics, culture, ethnic groups, and major historical events from 19th century America, including the American Civil War, African-Americans, Native Americans, Western migration, Antebellum-era life, women's rights, labor groups, and more.

Comprehensive bibliographic index for multidisciplinary literature. Formats indexed include books, newspapers, and magazines, as well as scholarly and peer-reviewed journals. Subject coverage includes social sciences, arts and humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, health sciences, multicultural studies, and many more. Most citations include abstracts and full text or link to full text content from other providers, based on institutional subscriptions. This database is made possible by TexShare.

Comprehensive bibliographic index for international literature concerning the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Materials indexed include journal and magazine articles, books, book and media reviews, conference proceedings, and dissertations. Subject coverage beyond history includes culture, gender studies, psychology, literature, politics, and more. Citations include abstracts and some include links to full-text content based on institutional subscriptions.

Provides full-text/full-image access to selected archival print journalism collections from Indigenous peoples of the U.S. and Canada. Newspapers included in this digital collection were sourced from the Newberry Library in Chicago and the Sequoyah National Research Centre at the University of Arkansas, Little Rock. Many of these newspaper titles were founded during the 1970s after the occupation of Wounded Knee. Subject coverage includes communication, education, public health, history, law, political science and social sciences. Coverage: 1828-2016 (overall). NOTE: This database is funded in its entirety by the Academic Library Collection Enhancement Program (ALCEP) through the General Libraries of the University of Texas at Austin.

Bibliographic index that provides full text/full image access to a collection of American magazines and journals spanning the development of the United States from colonial times to the advent of U.S. involvement in World War II. Titles include Andrew Bradford's American Magazine, Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine, Medical Repository (America's first scientific journal), early professional journals such as Proceedings of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal.

Bibliographic index for literature concerning all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. Subject coverage includes anthropology, archaeology, education, multicultural relations, psychology, political science, gaming, governance, legend, sociology, and literacy. Materials indexed include books, essays, journal and newspaper articles, and book reviews, as well as U.S. and Canadian government documents. Citations include abstracts and some include full text or links to full text based on institutional subscriptions. This database is made possible by TexShare.

Provides complete full text/full image access to over 700 historical American newspapers from 23 states and the District of Columbia printed between 1690 and 1876. The bulk of the collection is from the 18th century and is based on Clarence S. Brigham's History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820 as well as other authoritative bibliographies.

Provides full text/full image access to a broad collection of primary source materials dealing with the relationships among peoples and cultures in early North America. The collection presents unique perspectives from traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, officials, and others. It includes works by American Indians, Canadian First Peoples, and many European groups, capturing first impressions, observations of flora and fauna, descriptions of encounters with indigenous peoples, and new language elements as they evolved. Subject coverage includes American history, Canadian history, natural history, environmental studies, and American Indian and Native American studies. Materials indexed range from published and unpublished personal accounts derived from narratives, letters, diaries, memoirs, and journals to prints, drawings, paintings, photographs, bibliographies, original facsimile pages, and maps. Coverage: 1534 - 1860

Produced by Human Relations Area Files, Inc. (HRAF) at Yale University, this full text database contains information on the world's prehistory. Content is organized by archaeological traditions.

Full text/full image collections of research materials for tracing family history and American culture. Includes family and local history books as well as United States Census data from 1790-1930.

Comprehensive bibliographic index for international literature concerning world history since 1450, excluding the United States and Canada. Materials indexed include journal and magazine articles, books, book and media reviews, conference proceedings, and dissertations. Subject coverage beyond history includes anthropology, genealogy, ethnic studies, political science, sociology, and more.

Provides complete full-text access to an archive of back issues of selected scholarly journals from the following subscribed collections: Arts & Sciences (I - XI), Life Sciences, and Ireland. Subject coverage includes: African and African American Studies, anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art and art history, Asian Studies, biology, botany, British Studies, business, classical studies, economics, education, film studies, finance, folklore, geography, health sciences, history, Ireland, Jewish Studies, language and literature, Latin American Studies, law, linguistics, mathematics, Middle East Studies, music, paleontology, performing arts, philosophy, political science, psychology, public administration, religion, science, Slavic Studies, sociology, Women's Studies, statistics and zoology. Other types of publications indexed include monographs, pamphlets, images, and manuscripts.

Provides full text/full image access to a collection of primary source materials in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction drawn from the Cornell University Library. Subject coverage includes education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, science, and technology. Materials indexed include books and journals published in the 19th century. Coverage: 1850 - 1877.

Provides access to full-text documents from a wide variety of news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications. Sources include: national, regional, and international newspapers; wire services; broadcast transcripts; non-English language sources; U.S. Federal and state case law; codes and regulations; legal news; law reviews; international legal information; Shepard's Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789; business news journals; company financial information; and SEC filings and reports as well as industry and market news. Coverage and updates vary by title and document type. NOTE: Formerly known as LexisNexis Academic. See also: WestlawNext Campus Research.

Bibliographic index for international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Source publications include book reviews, journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.