Skip to main content

General Science including Biology, Environmental & Geological Sciences: Science Tip Sheet

Tip Sheet

 

                        Science Tip Sheet

By Robert Klapthor, UTEP Science Reference Librarian

klapthor@utep.edu            747-5040

 

1) Full list of UTEP Science Databases:

            http://lib.utep.edu/search/e?Science

NOTE: Search first in the Academic Search Complete database. That way you will find out where your research topic is being published and thus be able to search the appropriate subject database. Another good starting point would be the ScienceDirect or Web of Science databases.

2) Why doesn’t UTEP have access to all the journals available from ScienceDirect? This is because of Elsevier’s pricing method of requiring additional subscriptions for their newer journal acquisitions. The journals subscribed to by UTEP will have a green icon before the volume number. In a similar fashion Elsevier requires special (large: $200,000 to $500,000+) one time purchases for each of their 26 archival sections for their pre-1995 backfiles. The UT System has purchased about half of these archival sections.

3) Citation tracing: Use the Web of Science database. The ScienceDirect database also allows you to trace citations within the ScienceDirect journal collection.

4) Journal impact factors & statistical rankings: Use the Journal Citation Reports database. Note: Only about 9,000 journals are listed in JCR.

Subject Guide

500 W. University Avenue : El Paso, TX, 79968-0582 : (915) 747-5672
Copyright | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
State Reports | UT System | Customer Service Statement | Site Feedback | Required Links |