Skip to main content

Art: Collection Development Policy

Art resources available at the Library

Art Collection Development Policy

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT POLICY
Subject:  ART

Degrees offered:

BA in Art, Art Education, Ceramics, Drawing, Graphic Design, Metals, Painting, Printmaking and Sculpture. MA in Art, Art Education and Studio Art.

 

Number of faculty:

21*

Number of majors in the program:

508*

Faculty Liaison:

Rachel Thiewes

Library Subject Specialist:

Juan A. Sandoval

Department Chair:

Vincent Burke

* Fall, 2010 data as reported by the Center for Institutional Evaluation, Research & Planning, University of Texas at El Paso.


Program Description

The Department of Art offers a comprehensive program in the visual arts. Undergraduate degrees are awarded with a Bachelor of Fine Arts , the Bachelor of Arts, and the Bachelor of Arts with certification for art educators. Liberal Arts BA students may minor in Studio Art and Art History. Graduate degrees are awarded with a Master of Arts in Studio Practice and a Master of Arts in Art Education.

The Art Department offers 5 general courses, 8 art education courses, 5 basic studies courses, 8 ceramics courses, 8 graphic design courses, 9 art history courses, 3 art theory courses, 7 drawing courses, 8 metals courses, 8 painting courses, 8 printmaking courses, 8 sculpture courses, and 22 graduate courses.

Graduate degrees are available with a thesis requirement for students who wish to pursue research in Art Education and may, at a future date, continue studies beyond the Master's degree. The non-thesis degree plan is for students who wish to pursue research in Art Education for continued professional development purposes, but may not wish to continue studies beyond the Master's degree.

In recent years the Art Department has added faculty in the areas of Ceramics, Art History and Graphic Design. Collection development continues to reflect the areas of research and teaching of new faculty. Members of the Art faculty are nationally recognized and many have achieved international recognition.

Description of Existing Collection
NCIP Code: 2a

The original focus in collection development was art history; however, for the past six years, the focus has been more on contemporary art and Latin American art. The development of a collection to support the interest of students who desire to study Mexican American Art and artists has been reflected in the recent past. Present collection efforts support this focus.

The Reference Collection has been enhanced with the addition of the 34 volume DICTIONARY OF ART, a major resource.

Materials for art are found mainly in the Library of Congress call numbers E, F, GR, N, NA, NB, NC, ND, other N schedules and the TR schedule.

Current Collecting Intensity
NCIP Code: 2a; 3a for Art History

The current acquisition policy supports the Art curriculum. More attention to ephemeral and limited edition materials will be paid in the future to reflect the recent emphasis on Latin American, Chicano, and Mexican artists.

After a series of extensive serial cuts, the periodical collection for this area is slowly increasing titles which reflect new interests and changes in the research interests and needs of the students and faculty. Many of the new titles recently acquired reflect the emphasis on art research in general. As a direct result, the graduate programs can now be enhanced.

 

Updated April 7, 2011.

500 W. University Avenue : El Paso, TX, 79968-0582 : (915) 747-5672
Copyright | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
State Reports | UT System | Customer Service Statement | Site Feedback | Required Links |