It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Comprehensive bibliographic index produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA) for international scholarly research materials on language, literature, linguistics, and folklore. Subject areas range from the arts, humanities, and education to the behavioral, social, economic, and political sciences. Materials indexed include journal articles, books, book chapters, working papers, and conference proceedings.
Provides complete full image access to four comprehensive bibliographic collections of English literary and historical classics. Titles include those listed in Pollard and Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640); Wing's Short-Title Catalogue II (1641-1700); the Thomason Tracts, a compendium of broadsides on the English Civil War (1640-1661); and the Early English Books Tract Supplements. Features works by Malory, Spenser, Bacon, More, Erasmus, Boyle, Newton, and Galileo; musical exercises by Henry Purcell; and novels by Aphra Behn. Other materials indexed include prayer books, pamphlets, proclamations, almanacs, calendars, and many other primary sources. Subject coverage includes history, English literature, religion, music, travel and exploration, languages, and science.
NOTE: This database is funded in its entirety by the Academic Library Collection Enhancement Program (ALCEP) through the General Libraries of the University of Texas at Austin.
Provides complete full-text access to an archive of back issues of selected scholarly journals from the following subscribed collections: Arts & Sciences (I - XI), Life Sciences, and Ireland. Subject coverage includes: African and African American Studies, anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art and art history, Asian Studies, biology, botany, British Studies, business, classical studies, economics, education, film studies, finance, folklore, geography, health sciences, history, Ireland, Jewish Studies, language and literature, Latin American Studies, law, linguistics, mathematics, Middle East Studies, music, paleontology, performing arts, philosophy, political science, psychology, public administration, religion, science, Slavic Studies, sociology, Women's Studies, statistics and zoology. Other types of publications indexed include monographs, pamphlets, images, and manuscripts.
Provides full text/full image online access to the literature criticism book series Dictionary of Literary Biography, published by Gale. Provides biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres. Includes the DLB Main Series, the DLB Documentary Series, and the DLB Yearbook Series. Materials indexed include scholarly and popular analytical commentary in essay format derived from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books, and periodicals.
Provides full text access to a collection of modern poetry written by the most important and influential American poets of the 20th century. Includes many contemporary American writers of the 1980s and 1990s who have gained recognition through national poetry awards or by inclusion within leading print anthologies. Features two highly distinguished poetry series: the Yale Series of Young Poets and the University of Pittsburgh's Pitt Poetry Series.
Provides full text access to a collection of modern poetry written by the most important and influential English poets of the 20th century. Features poets from the Edwardian and Georgian eras, major writers of the 1930s, and established contemporary and emerging authors. Includes a strong selection of poets from Ireland. The collection includes poetry in English by poets from outside the British Isles as well as significant translations of non-English poetry.