It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
National History Day: Researching
Help in research for National History Day projects and links to the National History Day website.
A good place to start. This is a collection of subject-specific encyclopedias. Look up your topic and look for an “overview” article. This will help you put your topic in historical context and get the key dates, names, and ideas related to your topic. These will help you refine your focus and expand your search vocabulary.
NOTE: This database is funded in its entirety by the Academic Library Collection Enhancement Program (ALCEP) through the General Libraries of the University of Texas at Austin.
Scholarly journal articles. Enter a very specific search. For example, in the first search box, enter the term Marco Polo; in the second box, enter the term Persia. Unclick the two boxes that say “Include only content I can access” and “Include links to external content”. Under Narrow by, select Articles. Now select disciplines under Journal filter, such as Asian Studies and History.
Includes Vital Speeches International and Vital Speeches of the Day; speeches are primary sources. Enter your topic in the first search box and “speeches, addresses, etc.” in the second search box. Limit your search to Full Text in the left column.
NOTE: This database is partially funded by the Academic Library Collection Enhancement Program (ALCEP) through the General Libraries of the University of Texas at Austin.
Benjamin Banneker : Surveyor of the Sky -- Frederick Douglass : Capital Orator -- Booker T. Washington : Polished Pioneer -- W.E.B. DuBois : Erudite Educator -- A. Philip Randolph : Always Striding Ahead -- Thurgood Marshall : Mr. Civil Rights -- Jackie Robinson : Game-Changer -- Malcolm X : Spark-Light -- Martin Luther King, Jr. : Nonviolent Visionary -- Barack H. Obama, Jr. : Holding on to Hope -- Timeline.