UTEP Library Research Guides: National History Day: Step 3: Citing Your Work

Plagiarism

to "plagiarize" means

to steal & pass off (the ideas or words of another) as one's own
to use (another's production) without crediting the source
to commit literary theft
to present as new & original an idea or product derived from an existing source

*Source: www.m-w.com.

Plagiarism.org

UTEP Writing Center

Citing Research & Avoiding Plagiarism

Research Guides to the Rescue!

Citation Links from UTEP Library website

AMA Style Citation
by Marissa Testerman Last Updated Apr 4, 2024 713 views this year
Chicago Citation Style
by Joy Urbina Last Updated Aug 14, 2023 4284 views this year
MLA Style
by Joy Urbina Last Updated Apr 27, 2020 1509 views this year

Database Shortcuts

Many of the databases will generate citations for articles from the website toolbox. However, remember you are responsible for verifying proper citation format.

In EBSCO databases, look for this shortcut:

Citation Help

In order of recommendation:

BibMe
BibMe is a free automatic citation creator that supports MLA, APA, Chicago, and Turabian formatting. BibMe leverages external databases to quickly fill citation information for you. BibMe will then format the citation information and compile a bibliography according to the guidelines of the style manuals. If you prefer, you can enter your citation information manually. BibMe also features a citation guide that provides students with the style manuals' guidelines for citing references.
more...less...
Powered by WorldCat
EasyBib
One of the first citation generators, easybib is free and allows students to enter the information from books manually and does the formatting according to style for them. Students put information in, and easybib does all the style and formatting for the student, leaving them with a finished bibliography.
more...less...
Only MLA free!
Citation Machine
Use the Citation Machine to create the proper format for an MLA or APA citation then include the result into your bibliography or footnotes. Currently uses MLA 7th, APA 8th, Chicago, and Turabian.
DocsCite
Docscite is a free site that automatically produces MLA or APA style citations for government documents. DocsCite was developed at, and is provided by, Arizona State University Libraries.
KnightCite
Knightcite is a free site that automatically produce MLA, APA, or Chicago style citations for 25 types of sources.
StyleWizard
This free site automatically produces MLA or APA style citations for 6 basic types of sources. There is excellent help on each screen to walk users through the processing of citing a source.
Zotero
Zotero is a free, open source utility that works in the Firefox browser to help users collect, manage and cite sources. It was developed at George Mason University.
Citavi Free
Free full-featured version of Citavi for up to 100 references. Search for, manage, organize and cite sources.

Fact Checking

Having accurate information is essential in news reporting. It is always necessary to check that facts and information reported in a story are accurate. Here are a few resources that provide a starting point for this important step:

*Source: COMM 3313: Investigation & Newsgathering Research Guide.

FactCheckEd
A project of the Annenberg Public Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania that monitors the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews and news releases. Their goal is to apply the best practices of both journalism and scholarship, and to increase public knowledge and understanding.
Fact Checker
The Washington Post inaugurated the Fact Checker which issues one to four Pinocchios.
Center for Media and Democracy
A non-profit investigative reporting group. The center's reporting and analysis focus on exposing corporate spin and government propaganda.
PolitiFact / Sorting out the Truth
PolitiFact is a project of the Tampa Bay Times and its partners to help you find the truth in politics. Reporters and researchers from PolitiFact examine statements by members of Congress, state legislators, governors, mayors, the president, cabinet secretaries, lobbyists, and more.
Political Fact-Checking Underfire
NPR discussion of whether fact-checking organizations are without bias.