Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

1301 Topics: WWII

WWII

C.L. Sonnichsen Special Collections

University Library

University of Texas at El Paso

 

PRIMARY SOURCE MATERIALS FOR RESEARCHING WORLD WAR II IN EL PASO

              

Personal papers:

               Allen Falby papers, Chris P. Fox papers, R. E. Thomason papers, Lucille Pillow papers, Terry de la Mesa Allen papers.

Organizational records:

El Paso Graduate Nurses' Association, Hotel Dieu School of Nursing, Texas College of Mines Woman’s Auxiliary.

Business records:

               The Popular Dry Goods, Zork Hardware, Southern Pacific Railroad records.

Photographic collections:

Leona Washington photograph collection,  Casasola Studio photos, Morgan Construction photos, Nathan Goldman photograph collection.

Directories:

               El Paso city directories, 1889-

               El Paso phone books, 1921-

Maps:

               Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps

               Southern Pacific RR maps

               City plats, other blue line maps

Oral Histories:

             Over 1300 oral history interviews.  Some transcribed interviews are available on-line at                       http://digitalcommons.utep.edu/interviews  

Government records

               Texas county records:

               El Paso County Records

                              Sheriffs' minute books, jail logs.

               City of El Paso records

                              Clinic reports, city planning documents    

Newspapers:

               The Prospector

               El Paso Times

               El Paso Herald-Post

               El Continental

Some full-text El Paso newspapers are available on-line at  NewspaperARCHIVE.com.

               ...

To look for theses, dissertations, or books about El Paso during World War II, try a keyword search:  El Paso and World War II.  Theses and dissertations from UTEP are usually available online in ProQuest Dissertations and Theses - Full Text (ProQuest) but history seminar papers are not; ask for seminar papers at the front desk in Special Collections. 

 

Contact information for the University of Texas at El Paso Special Collections:

               Claudia Rivers

               E-mail:  crivers@utep.edu

               Telephone: (915) 747-5697

 

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Claudia Rivers
Contact:
Library, Sixth Floor
915/747-6725

500 W. University Avenue : El Paso, TX, 79968-0582 : (915) 747-5672
Copyright | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
State Reports | UT System | Customer Service Statement | Site Feedback | Required Links |