C.L. Sonnichsen Special Collections
Special Collections has materials that support primary research in history and other subjects. Examples of the kinds of collections we have are listed below.
Examples include: Stephenson-Flores family papers, Ian Benton papers, Hyslop-Beckmann family papers, Huthsteiner family papers, etc.
Max Evans papers, Nancy Herndon manuscripts, C.L. Sonnichsen papers, etc.
Zork Hardware, Horace B. Stevens papers, O.H. Thorman Architectural records, Milpillas Hacienda Records, Chisos Mining Company records, etc.
Gertrude Fitzgerald photographs, Leona Washington photograph collection, Manuel Carrillo collection, El Paso Herald-Post photo files, Casasola Studio photos, etc.
El Paso city directories, 1889-
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps
Southern Pacific RR maps
City plats, other blue line maps
Over 900 oral history interviews
Deed books, sheriffs' minute books, probate files, chattel mortgage books
New Mexico (Spanish and Mexican periods) archives on microfilm
Mexican municipal records on microfilm: Cd. Juarez, Chihuahua, Janos, Carrizal, Parral
Periódico Oficial de Chihuahua (under several titles)
Samples and short runs of various local and regional newspapers
El Paso and other newspapers on microfilm
Newspaperarchive.com has Prospector, El Paso Herald-Post in full text
Southwest and Border Studies Collection: contains over 9,000 books on
Theses, dissertations, and seminar papers: All theses and dissertations and some history seminar papers done at UTEP. Theses and dissertations are available as PDF files online at DigitalCommons@UTEP
Rare books: Older travel accounts, locally published books, pamphlets from the Mexican Revolution, etc.
Special Collections Librarian: Claudia Rivers, tel. 747-6725, e-mail: firstname.lastname@example.org
Our web site: http://libraryweb.utep.edu/special/