UTEP Library Research Guides: Mathematics: Reference Sources

The Catalog

These are only a handful of our mathematics books, you can use the library catalog to find more books about your particular aspects of mathematics. The non-Electronic mathematics books we have are located on the 5th floor, primarily in the QAs. When you find a book in the catalog that you want, write down its full call number so that you can find it in the stacks.

Encore Catalog

Books

The Mathematics of Infinity by Theodore G. Faticoni
Call Number: QA248 .F29 2012
ISBN: 9781118204481

These books are in the main stacks and can be checked out.

Teaching Mathematics Creatively by Linda Pound; Trisha Lee
Call Number: QA11 .P6325 2011
ISBN: 9780415575928
Beautiful Mathematics by Martin Erickson
Call Number: QA99 .E75 2011
ISBN: 9780883855768
Fundamentals of Mathematics by Bernd S. W. Schröder
Call Number: QA248 .S358 2010
ISBN: 9780470551387
The Language of Mathematics by Robert L. Baber
Call Number: QA41 .B235 2011
ISBN: 9780470878897

Mathematics

The concise Oxford dictionary of mathematics
Call Number: REF QA5 .C53 2009
ISBN: 0199235945
Authoritative and reliable, this superb reference contains more than 3,000 alphabetically arranged entries, providing clear jargon-free definitions of even the most technical mathematical terms. Ranging widely from Achilles paradox to zero matrix, the dictionary uses graphs, diagrams, and charts to render definitions as comprehensible as possible, offering an ideal introduction to subjects such linear algebra, optimization, nonlinear equations, and differential equations.

These are Reference Books, available for use in the library on the 2nd floor

Encyclopedia of measurement and statistics
Call Number: REF HA29 .S2363 2007
ISBN: 1412916119
The Encyclopedia of Measurement and Statistics presents state-of-the-art information and ready-to-use facts from the fields of measurement and statistics in an unintimidating style.
The Facts on File dictionary of mathematics
Call Number: QA5 .F35 2005
ISBN: 0816039143
Definitions are concise and readable, targeted to the high school or undergraduate science student. Definitions range in length from a few lines in most cases to several paragraphs for more important or abstract terms. As with most technical dictionaries, etymological or pronunciation information is not provided, though line drawings enhance several of the definitions.
Guide to information sources in mathematics and statistics
Call Number: REF QA41.7 .T83 2004
ISBN: 1563087014
This book is a reference for librarians, mathematicians, and statisticians involved in college and research level mathematics and statistics in the 21st century. Part I is a historical survey of the past 15 years tracking this huge transition in scholarly communications in mathematics. Part II of the book is the bibliography of resources recommended to support the disciplines of mathematics and statistics.
Mathematics
Call Number: REF QA40.5 .M38 2002
ISBN: 0028655613
The rich content covers the gamut from Abacus to Zero. Coverage is given to figures in mathematical history and development such as Galileo, Grace Hopper, and Pythagoras. Careers that rely on mathematics, like air traffic controller, insurance agent, radio disc jockey, and stonemason, have one-half to one-page articles describing how mathematics and a knowledge of it are essential to the profession. Standard mathematical and arithmetical topics are covered as well.