Skip to main content

Language and Linguistics: Streaming videos

A guide to Resources in Language and Linguistics

Films on Demand

 

Subject coverage is multidisciplinary and includes humanities, social sciences, business, economics, science, mathematics, health, medicine, archival films and newsreels, and much more.

Questions? Consult the User Documentation link.

What is Streaming Video?

"...A method of sending a sequence of compressed moving images one way over a data network, at the user's request or broadcast at a fixed time, which allows viewing to begin before the entire file has been transmitted...."

(from ODLIS-Online Dictionary of Library and Information Science)

Photo credit:  josef.stuefer

Copyright

Collection is licensed solely to Licensee and Authorized Users for classroom teaching, research, presentations, and educational non-commercial multimedia projects for use in educational institutions, provided no admission or other fees are charged for public viewing. Licensee and Authorized Users may electronically save, organize, and share Video Titles or parts thereof with other Authorized Users using tools provided with Films On Demand.


NOTE: Licensee and Authorized Users may stream, display, publicly perform, or exhibit the Video Titles asynchronously on a single computer or network, course management system, or password-protected website.

Make Video Content accessible via Mobile Technologies


This QR code links to the Counseling and Therapy in Video database.  You can choose clips and post or send QR Codes to mobile phones.  Mobile phones and devices with a QR code reader can scan the image and then redirect the mobile browser to the video.

This feature is found in databases from Alexander Street Press.

Digitalia Film Library Trial

Help

General information about
Streaming Media Collections:

  • Contact our Electronic Resources Librarian, Lisa Borden.

Streaming video database list

Complete list of Streaming Video databases.

500 W. University Avenue : El Paso, TX, 79968-0582 : (915) 747-5672
Copyright | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
State Reports | UT System | Customer Service Statement | Site Feedback | Required Links |