HIST 3309- Leyva- Spring 2025

Based on the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project at the University of Houston, this large and distinctive collection provides full text/full image access to Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. Subject coverage includes every major theme in American history and culture including reported news events in Spanish-speaking countries not always available in traditional U.S. newspapers.

Provides complete full-text/full-image access to the El Paso Times from 1881 to current. The El Paso Herald-Post has full-text/full-image access for the years 1896-1997. Content includes news stories, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photographs, cartoons, maps, advertisements, and more.
NOTE: El Paso Herald Post content will begin loading in December 2022.

Provides complete full text/full image access to a selected collection of Texas historical newspapers from 1813-1922. Subject coverage includes extensive Texas local, regional, and national history through rural weeklies and urban dailies.

Provides full-text/full-image access to an online archive of selected historical newspapers from around the world. Countries represented include: United States (U.S.) and the Virgin Islands, the United Kingdom (U.K.), France, Germany, Ireland, South Africa, Jamaica, Canada, Denmark, China, and Japan. Content is composed primarily of historical back issues. Dates of coverage vary by title, ranging from 1759 - present (overall).

MinerQuest is the easiest way to search as many of the UTEP Library's databases + its catalog at once. Results will include articles of all types, books, e-books, government documents, streaming videos, and encyclopedia articles. A good all-purpose search tool.