UTEP Library Research Guides: Scholarly Writing in Education : Locating Information

Helpful Databases

Education
General

Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing, abstracts, and full-text content from the online version of The Chronicle of Higher Education. Coverage includes current news, advice columns, discussion forums, career-building tools, an archive of previously published issues, job postings for college and university faculty and administrators, and more. Full-text access is based on institutional subscriptions. Coverage and updates vary. NOTE: UTEP's licensed subscription includes access via institutional e-mail domain name. This feature allows authorized UTEP end-users to create an account with a valid UTEP e-mail address for direct access to the Chronicle of Higher Edcation (CHE) from any remote (off-campus) location.
http://www.chronicle.com
Educational Administration Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic index for selected literature related to educational administration, educational leadership, educational management, educational research, and other relevant subject areas. Materials indexed include journal articles, magazines, books, and reports. Most citations include abstracts and some include full text or link to full text content from other providers, based on institutional subscriptions.
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=20h
Education Full Text - H.W. Wilson (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic index for education literature derived from English language periodicals, books, and yearbooks. Subject coverage includes adult and continuing education, educational technology, government funding, higher education, instructional media, language arts, library and information science, literacy standards, parent-teacher relations, school administration, teacher education, vocational education, and much more.
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=eft
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive bibliographic index for national education literature, sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, consisting of: Resources in Education, Current Index to Journals in Education, and full text ERIC Digest records. Materials indexed include books, journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, theses, dissertations, and conference proceedings. Subject coverage includes education, law, psychology, behavioral science, humanities, arts and literature, and the social sciences. This database is made possible by TexShare.
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=eric
Gale OneFile: Educator's Reference Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides periodical and journal articles on multiple levels of education from preschool to college, and every educational specialty—such as technology, bilingual education, health education, testing, administration and more. The database is made possible by TexShare.
https://link.gale.com/apps/PROF?u=txshracd2603
Professional Development Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive bibliographic index for highly specialized literature used by professional educators. Subject coverage includes education, administration, curricula, educational leadership, educational research, library and information science, learning disabilities, teacher education and training, reading, and many more. Materials indexed include scholarly and peer-reviewed journals, pamphlets, and books. This database is made possible by TexShare.
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=tfh
Teacher Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic index for selected journal articles related to educational administration, curriculum development, educational research, teacher education and other relevant subject areas.
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=trh

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive bibliographic index for multidisciplinary literature. Formats indexed include books, newspapers, and magazines, as well as scholarly and peer-reviewed journals. Subject coverage includes social sciences, arts and humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, health sciences, multicultural studies, and many more. Most citations include abstracts and full text or link to full text content from other providers, based on institutional subscriptions. This database is made possible by TexShare.
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=a9h
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a varied collection of digital streaming videos from a broad range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Content includes thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners. Includes films from various distributors such as BBC, CBS, NBS, PBS, VEA, Filmakers Library, Insight Media, Stanley Milgram, Envision, Annenberg Learning and Bloomberg. NOTE: Selected content within this database is funded, in part, by the Academic Library Collection Enhancement Program (ALCEP) through the General Libraries of the University of Texas at Austin.
https://search.alexanderstreet.com/avon
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides complete full-text access to an archive of back issues of selected scholarly journals from the following subscribed collections: Arts & Sciences (I - XI), Life Sciences, and Ireland. Subject coverage includes: African and African American Studies, anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art and art history, Asian Studies, biology, botany, British Studies, business, classical studies, economics, education, film studies, finance, folklore, geography, health sciences, history, Ireland, Jewish Studies, language and literature, Latin American Studies, law, linguistics, mathematics, Middle East Studies, music, paleontology, performing arts, philosophy, political science, psychology, public administration, religion, science, Slavic Studies, sociology, Women's Studies, statistics and zoology. Other types of publications indexed include monographs, pamphlets, images, and manuscripts.
https://www.jstor.org/action/showAdvancedSearch
MinerQuest This link opens in a new window
MinerQuest is the easiest way to search as many of the UTEP Library's databases + its catalog at once. Results will include articles of all types, books, e-books, government documents, streaming videos, and encyclopedia articles. A good all-purpose search tool.
https://utep.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/search?vid=01UTEP_INST:01UTEP
PsycINFO (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive bibliographic index that provides citations, abstracts, and some full text for international literature in the field of psychology drawn from source materials such as journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports. Subject coverage includes the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=psyh

Google Scholar