HIST 5374-Borderlands Research Seminar

Provides full-text/full-image access to selected primary source newspaper content published during the 19th century from both urban and rural regions throughout the United States. Subject coverage focuses on the daily life, politics, culture, ethnic groups, and major historical events from 19th century America, including the American Civil War, African-Americans, Native Americans, Western migration, Antebellum-era life, women's rights, labor groups, and more.

Provides access to a wide variety of primary source material in American history. Archival content is organized into subject collections derived from leading historical periodicals and books, newspapers, diaries, and genealogical records. Included are eyewitness accounts of historical events, vivid descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, and commerce as seen through advertisements. Entries include full bibliographic citations and are organized chronologically. NOTE: UTEP's subscribed collections include: African American Newspapers, The Civil War, Part I - A Newspaper Perspective, Civil War, Part II - The Soldiers' Perspective, Civil War, Part III - The Generals' Perspective, Civil War, Part IV - A Midwestern Perspective, Civil War, Part V - Iowa's Perspective, Civil War, Part VI - Northeast Regimental Histories, Quarantine and Disease Control in America.

Provides full-text/full-image access to a digitized historical collection of archival primary source materials derived predominantly from African American communities in Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis and New York, as well as selected towns and cities in North Carolina. Subject coverage includes social and cultural aspects of the African American community, ranging from identity and civil rights issues to the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration in the United States. Publications indexed include pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records and in-depth oral histories, photographs, maps and ephemera. Coverage: 1876-1985 (overall). NOTE: This database is funded in its entirety by the Academic Library Collection Enhancement Program (ALCEP) through the General Libraries of the University of Texas at Austin.

Provides access to ProQuest's Library Edition of the comprehensive consumer-based Ancestry.com online genealogy resource that includes vital records for individuals from North America (US and Canada), the United Kingdom (UK), Europe and Australia. Source materials include census information, birth and death records, immigration records, family histories, military records, court and legal documents, telephone directories, photographs, maps, and more. Continually updated.

Fully-integrated open-access content discovery platform that provides indexing for primary source material held in archives, special collections, and manuscript collections around the world. Selected content is derived from collection descriptions found in WorldCat bibliographic records and from finding aids harvested from ArchiveGrid contributors' websites. Materials indexed include historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. ArchiveGrid also helps researchers contact archives to request information, arrange a visit, and order copies of desired materials.

Provides full-text/full image access to 14 individual archival collections on Latin America, the Caribbean, and Latino Studies. Subject coverage includes the Mexican Revolution; Emiliano Zapata; Feminism in Cuba; Foreign Relations between the United States, Latin America, and the Caribbean States; and the National Farm Worker Ministry.

Provides full text/full image access to a digital collection of selected historical content pertaining to hispanic social history, literature, politics, religion, and culture in the United States derived from the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project undertaken by Arte Público Press. Publications indexed include scholarly monographs and reference books, selected historical newspapers, scholarly journals, magazines, periodicals, pamphlets, broadsides, and more. A substantial portion of the collection is provided in the Spanish language; the content is indexed and searchable in both English and Spanish. Coverage: Colonial times - 1960.

Provides full-text/full-image access to a digital collection of selected historical content focusing on the evolution of Hispanic civil rights, religious thought, and the growing presence of women writers from the late 19th and 20th centuries derived from the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project undertaken by Arte Público Press. Publications indexed include rare books and literary manuscripts, newspapers, periodicals, photographs, historical records, and a wide variety of manuscript materials. A substantial portion of the collection is provided in the Spanish language; the content is indexed and searchable in both English and Spanish. Coverage: Colonial times - 1960.

Provides full-text/full-image access to a selected collection of digitized archival materials derived from Filmoteca at the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM) showcasing the "Golden Age of Mexican Cinema." Publications range from popular movie periodicals, lobby bills (flyers), and the personal scrapbooks of Fernando de Fuentes (1894-1958), one of the leading Latin-American filmmakers of his day. Movie magazines include El Cine Gráfico, Cine Mundial, Cinelandia, Cinema Reporter, and El Mundo Ilustrado. Dates of coverage vary by title, with the bulk of the collection ranging from 1902-1965 (overall).

Provides full text/full image access to a broad collection of primary source materials dealing with the relationships among peoples and cultures in early North America. The collection presents unique perspectives from traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, officials, and others. It includes works by American Indians, Canadian First Peoples, and many European groups, capturing first impressions, observations of flora and fauna, descriptions of encounters with indigenous peoples, and new language elements as they evolved. Subject coverage includes American history, Canadian history, natural history, environmental studies, and American Indian and Native American studies. Materials indexed range from published and unpublished personal accounts derived from narratives, letters, diaries, memoirs, and journals to prints, drawings, paintings, photographs, bibliographies, original facsimile pages, and maps. Coverage: 1534 - 1860

Provides full-text/full-image access to a digital collection of previously undisclosed historical United States Bureau of Investigation case file records derived from the National Archives. Subject coverage includes reports of World War I espionage, case files for politically-suspect German aliens, opium smuggling, records pertaining to Mexican neutrality violations, and reports dealing with alleged violations of U.S. federal laws. Coverage: 1908 - 1922.

Published in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries (CRL), this collection provides complete full-text/full-image access to selected 19th and 20th century historical newspapers printed in various Latin American countries, including: Mexico, Argentina, Cuba, Chile, Brazil, Peru, Trinidad, and Guyana. Most titles are printed in either Spanish or Portuguese while some are printed in the English language. The bulk of the collection is from the 19th century; dates of coverage range from 1822-1922 (overall).

Published in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries (CRL), this collection provides complete full-text/full-image access to selected 19th and 20th century historical newspapers printed in various Latin American countries, including: Mexico, Argentina, Cuba, Chile, Brazil, Peru, Trinidad, and Guyana. Most titles are printed in either Spanish or Portuguese while some are printed in the English language. The bulk of the collection is from the 19th century; dates of coverage range from 1805-1922 (overall).

Provides full text/full image access to a select collection of North American immigrant correspondence, diaries, and oral histories. Subject coverage includes American and Canadian history, European history, labor history, ethnic and diversity studies, sociology, language and literature, women's studies, and genealogy. Materials indexed include both published as well as previously unpublished items derived from letters, books, diaries, pamphlets, journal articles, photographs, scrapbooks, cartoons, autobiographies, and interview transcripts.

Integrated content platform that provides full-text/full image access to a widely varied collection of historical materials concerning Texas, from prehistory through the twentieth century. Content focuses on primary sources, including digital reproductions of photographs, maps, letters, documents, books, artifacts, newspapers, audio and video recordings, and more. Collections are derived from the contributions of participating Texas libraries, museums, archives, historical societies, genealogical societies, and private family collections. Includes Primary Source Adventures, My Texas History Notebook, and Texas History Snapshot curriculum materials that comply with Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills (TEKS) standards for classroom teaching.

Provides complete full text/full image access to a selected collection of historical Black newspapers with coverage beginning as early as 1893 through as late as 2010. Subject coverage includes articles, obituaries, photos, editorials and more. Content includes the history of race relations, journalism, local and national politics, education, African American studies, and many multidisciplinary subjects.

Provides complete full-text/full-image access to the El Paso Times from 1881 to current. The El Paso Herald-Post has full-text/full-image access for the years 1896-1997. Content includes news stories, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photographs, cartoons, maps, advertisements, and more.
NOTE: El Paso Herald Post content will begin loading in December 2022.

Provides full-text/full-image access to the Los Angeles Times newspaper from the first issue published in 1881 up through 25 years from the current date. Content includes news stories, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photographs, cartoons, maps, advertisements, and more. Updated annually. For online access to current issues of the Los Angeles Times, see LexisNexis Academic.

Provides complete full-text/full-image access to the Austin American Statesman from 1871 to 1980. Content includes news stories, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, cartoons, maps, advertisements, and more. This database is made possible by TexShare.

Provides full-text/full-image access to the archival case file records of the Immigration and Naturalization Service (INS). Subject coverage includes Asian immigration and exclusion, especially Japanese and Chinese migration, to California, Hawaii, and other U.S. states; Mexican immigration to the U.S. from 1906-1930; Ellis Island reports and correspondence (1900-1933); and European immigration. Also includes extensive case files on INS regulation of prostitution, white slavery, and on suppression of radical aliens. Coverage: 1880 to 1930 (overall).

Broad subject coverage includes history, African-American Studies, Women's Studies, political science, social sciences, sociology, and international studies. Documents indexed include correspondence, internal memos, legal briefings, and direct action summaries from NAACP national, legal, and branch offices throughout the United States. Coverage: 1909 to 1974 (overall). Provides full-text/full-image access to a digitized historical manuscript collection derived from the complete Papers of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) housed in the Manuscript Division of the Library of Congress (LoC). Subscribed content includes the following six modules within the Civil Rights Movement and the Black Freedom Struggle subject area: 1) Board of Directors, Annual Conferences, Major Speeches, and National Staff Files; 2) Branch Department, Branch Files, and Youth Department Files; 3) Special Subjects; 4) The NAACP's Major Campaigns: Education, Voting, Housing, Employment, Armed Forces; 5) The NAACP's Major Campaigns: Legal Department Files; and 6) The NAACP's Major Campaigns: Scottsboro, Anti-Lynching, Criminal Justice, Peonage, Labor, and Segregation and Discrimination Complaints and Responses.

Provides integrated full-text/full-image access to a specialized collection of primary source materials pertaining to international women's history from the mid-nineteenth century to the present day. Publications indexed include conference proceedings, reports of international women's organizations, publications and web pages of women's non-governmental organizations, as well as letters, diaries, and memoirs.

Provides integrated full text/full image access to a specialized collection of primary source materials pertaining to U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Subject coverage focuses primarily on the history of women in social movements in the United States from 1600 - 2000. Publications indexed include book, film, and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools. NOTE:The Scholar's Edition includes the biographical dictionary Notable American Women, 1607-1950 as well as the database Commissions on the Status of Women (1961 - 2005).

Published in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries (CRL), this collection provides complete full-text/full-image access to selected 19th and 20th century historical newspapers printed in various Latin American countries, including: Mexico, Argentina, Cuba, Chile, Brazil, Peru, Trinidad, and Guyana. Most titles are printed in either Spanish or Portuguese while some are printed in the English language. The bulk of the collection is from the 19th century; dates of coverage range from 1822-1922 (overall).

Provides complete full text/full image access to historical primary source materials pertaining to Latin America and the Caribbean derived from archival collections in the United States and Europe. Archival materials indexed include original historical manuscripts, signed letters, expedition records, reports, maps, diaries, descriptions of voyages, biographies, ephemera, and much more.