Find Sources - ENGL 3333 - Sengupta - UTEP Library Research Guides at The University of Texas at El Paso

Recommended Databases

MinerQuest
MinerQuest is the easiest way to search as many of the UTEP Library's databases + its catalog at once. Results will include articles of all types, books, e-books, government documents, streaming videos, and encyclopedia articles. A good all-purpose search tool.

https://utep.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/search?vid=01UTEP_INST:01UTEP
JSTOR
Provides complete full-text access to an archive of back issues of selected scholarly journals from the following subscribed collections: Arts & Sciences (I - XI), Life Sciences, and Ireland. Subject coverage includes: African and African American Studies, anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art and art history, Asian Studies, biology, botany, British Studies, business, classical studies, economics, education, film studies, finance, folklore, geography, health sciences, history, Ireland, Jewish Studies, language and literature, Latin American Studies, law, linguistics, mathematics, Middle East Studies, music, paleontology, performing arts, philosophy, political science, psychology, public administration, religion, science, Slavic Studies, sociology, Women's Studies, statistics and zoology. Other types of publications indexed include monographs, pamphlets, images, and manuscripts.

https://www.jstor.org/action/showAdvancedSearch
Project MUSE
Provides access to full-text scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. Subject coverage includes African Studies, Asian Studies, economics, education, film, theater, performing arts, history, Judaic Studies, language, literature, Latin American Studies, music, philosophy, political science, religion, and Women's Studies.

https://muse.jhu.edu/
Literature Criticism Online (LCO) (Gale)
Provides full text/full image online access to each of the 12 literature criticism book series published by Gale, including the complete back-file. Materials indexed include scholarly and popular analytical commentary in essay format derived from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books, and periodicals. Titles include: Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC), Nineteenth Century Literary Criticism (NCLC), Twentieth Century Literary Criticism (TCLC), Literature Criticism from 1400 - 1800 (LC), Classical & Medieval Literature Criticism (CMLC), Shakespearean Literature Criticism (SLC), Poetry Criticism (PC), Short Story Criticism (SSC), Drama Criticism (DC), Children's Literature Review (CLR), Something About the Author (SATA), and Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB).

https://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/txshracd2603?db=LCO
MLA Directory of Periodicals (EBSCO)
Produced by the Modern Language Association of America (MLA), this directory lists periodicals in the areas of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore that are regularly indexed in the MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO). Includes editorial addresses, advertising and subscription rates, frequency, publisher, scope, information about submissions for publication, and much more for each title listed.

https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=kah
Humanities Full Text - H.W. Wilson (EBSCO)
Comprehensive bibliographic index for international literature dealing with the humanities. Materials indexed include feature articles, interviews, obituaries and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and much more. Some citations from 1995 onward include full text or links to full text available from other providers, based on licensing restrictions or institutional subscriptions.

https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=hft
Literary Reference Source (EBSCO)
Provides full-text access to a range of literary reference works. Materials indexed include plot summaries, synopses, work overviews, biographies, classic and contemporary poems and short stories, author interviews and classic texts. This database is made possible by TexShare.

https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=lrc

All these e-journals can be searched through the Project MUSE database.

Studies in English Literature 1500-1900
A journal publishing historical and critical essays on English literature from 1500 to 1900. Issues contain a specific focus - winter issues look at the English Renaissance, the spring issue features Tudor and Stuart drama, the summer issue features Restoration and the 18th century, and the autumn issue covers the 19th century.
Victorian Studies
Devoted to the study of British culture of the Victorian age; includes interdisciplinary articles on comparative literature, social and political history, and the histories of education, philosophy, fine arts, economics, law and science.
ELH
ELH welcomes sophisticated, groundbreaking essays on all literatures in English and on cultural forms and contexts related to those literatures. Continuing a tradition that stretches back to 1934, the journal's editors balance historical, critical, and theoretical concerns in seeking to publish the very best work on English-language writing from its beginnings to the present day.
Shakespeare Quarterly
Founded in 1950 by the Shakespeare Association of America, Shakespeare Quarterly is a refereed journal committed to publishing articles in the vanguard of Shakespeare studies. Submissions are double blinded. The Quarterly, produced by Folger Shakespeare Library features notes that bring to light new information on Shakespeare and his age, issue and exchange sections for the latest ideas and controversies, theater reviews of significant Shakespeare productions, and book reviews to keep its readers current with Shakespeare criticism and scholarship.
Studies in Romanticism
Studies in Romanticism is the flagship journal of Romantic literary studies. Since its founding in 1961, SiR has been committed to advancing the study of literature and culture in the dynamic "Romantic Century" of 1750-1850. International in sympathies and interdisciplinary in approaches, SiR publishes the highest caliber scholarship on British, Anglophone, and European Romantic-era studies from diverse methodological perspectives.

American History in Video (Alexander Street Press)
Provides online access to a broad and varied collection of digital streaming videos pertaining to American history. Includes selected documentaries from The History Channel, A&E Television Network, Biography Channel, PBS, Bullfrog Films, Documentary Educational Resources, and more.

https://ahiv.alexanderstreet.com
Academic Video Online
Provides access to a varied collection of digital streaming videos from a broad range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Content includes thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners. Includes films from various distributors such as BBC, CBS, NBS, PBS, VEA, Filmakers Library, Insight Media, Stanley Milgram, Envision, Annenberg Learning and Bloomberg. NOTE: Selected content within this database is funded, in part, by the Academic Library Collection Enhancement Program (ALCEP) through the General Libraries of the University of Texas at Austin.

https://search.alexanderstreet.com/avon
ARTstor
Digital image database of visual material encompassing artistic and historical traditions across many time periods and cultures. Subject coverage includes the arts, architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, and many other forms of visual culture. Designed to be used by art researchers and art historians. Registration is recommended in order to take advantage of all ARTstor features. UTEP faculty and library staff may request instructor privileges that will allow them to create folders to share image groups with students or colleagues.

https://library.artstor.org
NOTE: This database is funded in part by the Academic Library Collection Enhancement Program (ALCEP) through the General Libraries of the University of Texas at Austin.
Films on Demand: Digital Educational Video
State-of-the-art streaming video platform produced by the Films Media Group (FMG), composed of Films for the Humanities and Sciences, Cambridge Educational, Meridian Education, and Shopware. Streaming video content, ranging from clips to complete documentary films, may be incorporated into content management systems, online lesson plans, distance learning courseware, or electronic library card catalog systems. Several titles include closed captioning. Subject coverage is multidisciplinary and includes humanities, social sciences, business, economics, science, mathematics, health, medicine, archival films and newsreels, and much more. Updates vary by title with new content added annually.

https://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlayLists.aspx?wid=104347
Kanopy: The University of Texas at El Paso (UTEP)
Provides access to licensed digital streaming video on the Kanopy Streaming Service platform. Playlists of video clips and/or complete documentary films may be created and incorporated into course management systems such as Blackboard, online lesson plans, or embedded within LibGuides. Subject coverage is multidisciplinary and includes the arts and humanities, education, mass media, communication, business and professional training, science, health, and much more.

https://utep.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://www.kanopy.com/en/utep

Prelinger Archives (Free Media Workshop)
Access a large number of public domain movies and videos.
Free Media Workshop
This guide is reviewed in a Library Workshop covering how to use these free resources of audio, images and video to create your own multimedia.

19th Century U.S. Newspapers (Gale)
Provides full-text/full-image access to selected primary source newspaper content published during the 19th century from both urban and rural regions throughout the United States. Subject coverage focuses on the daily life, politics, culture, ethnic groups, and major historical events from 19th century America, including the American Civil War, African-Americans, Native Americans, Western migration, Antebellum-era life, women's rights, labor groups, and more.

https://go.gale.com/ps/start.do?p=NCNP&u=txshracd2603
Accessible Archives
Provides access to a wide variety of primary source material in American history. Archival content is organized into subject collections derived from leading historical periodicals and books, newspapers, diaries, and genealogical records. Included are eyewitness accounts of historical events, vivid descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, and commerce as seen through advertisements. Entries include full bibliographic citations and are organized chronologically. NOTE: UTEP's subscribed collections include: African American Newspapers, The Civil War, Part I - A Newspaper Perspective, Civil War, Part II - The Soldiers' Perspective, Civil War, Part III - The Generals' Perspective, Civil War, Part IV - A Midwestern Perspective, Civil War, Part V - Iowa's Perspective, Civil War, Part VI - Northeast Regimental Histories, Quarantine and Disease Control in America.

https://www.accessible.com
Access Newspaper Archive
Provides full-text/full-image access to an online archive of selected historical newspapers from around the world. Countries represented include: United States (U.S.) and the Virgin Islands, the United Kingdom (U.K.), France, Germany, Ireland, South Africa, Jamaica, Canada, Denmark, China, and Japan. Content is composed primarily of historical back issues. Dates of coverage vary by title, ranging from 1759 - present (overall).
African American Newspapers (1827-1998) (NewsBank/Readex)
Provides complete full text/full image access to a collection of U.S. newspapers that chronicles the African American experience from 1827-1998. Subject coverage spans life in the Antebellum South; the spread of abolitionism; growth of the Black church; the Emancipation Proclamation; the Jim Crow Era; the Great Migration to northern cities, including the West and Midwest in search of greater opportunity; rise of the N.A.A.C.P.; the Harlem Renaissance; the Civil Rights movement; political and economic empowerment, and more. Materials indexed include articles, obituaries, advertisements, editorials, and illustrations.

https://infoweb.newsbank.com/apps/readex/?p=EANAAA
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Jointly sponsored by the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LOC) and developed through the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP), this fully-integrated content delivery platform provides full-text/full image access to a selected collection of America's historic newspapers from 1836-1922. Includes the U.S. Newspaper Directory that provides information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.

https://chroniclingamerica.loc.gov/
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 (NewsBank/Readex)
Based on the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project at the University of Houston, this large and distinctive collection provides full text/full image access to Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. Subject coverage includes every major theme in American history and culture including reported news events in Spanish-speaking countries not always available in traditional U.S. newspapers.

http://infoweb.newsbank.com/?db=EANX&d_collections=EANASP
Latin American Newspapers, Series 2, 1822-1922 (NewsBank/Readex)
Published in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries (CRL), this collection provides complete full-text/full-image access to selected 19th and 20th century historical newspapers printed in various Latin American countries, including: Mexico, Argentina, Cuba, Chile, Brazil, Peru, Trinidad, and Guyana. Most titles are printed in either Spanish or Portuguese while some are printed in the English language. The bulk of the collection is from the 19th century; dates of coverage range from 1822-1922 (overall).

http://infoweb.newsbank.com/?db=WHNPX&d_collections=WHNPLAN2
Latin American Newspapers - Series 1, 1805-1922 (NewsBank/Readex)
Published in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries (CRL), this collection provides complete full-text/full-image access to selected 19th and 20th century historical newspapers printed in various Latin American countries, including: Mexico, Argentina, Cuba, Chile, Brazil, Peru, Trinidad, and Guyana. Most titles are printed in either Spanish or Portuguese while some are printed in the English language. The bulk of the collection is from the 19th century; dates of coverage range from 1805-1922 (overall).

http://infoweb.newsbank.com/?db=WHNPX&d_collections=WHNPLAN1
ProQuest Digital Microfilm (ProQuest)
Provides complete full text/full image access to the following newspapers digitized from microfilm: New York Times (Late Edition - East Coast), Los Angeles Times (Library Edition), Chicago Tribune, Wall Street Journal (Eastern Edition), Washington Post (Final Edition), and Barron's.

https://digitalmicrofilm.proquest.com
ProQuest Historical Newspapers - Los Angeles Times (ProQuest)
Provides full-text/full-image access to the Los Angeles Times newspaper from the first issue published in 1881 up through 25 years from the current date. Content includes news stories, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photographs, cartoons, maps, advertisements, and more. Updated annually. For online access to current issues of the Los Angeles Times, see LexisNexis Academic.

https://search.proquest.com/hnplatimes/advanced?accountid=7121
ProQuest Historical Newspapers - The New York Times (ProQuest)
Provides full-text/full-image access to The New York Times newspaper from the first issue published in 1851 up through five years from the current date. Content includes news stories, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photographs, cartoons, maps, advertisements, and more. Updated annually. For online access to current issues of The New York Times, see Nexis Uni. To locate printed or microfilm copies of The New York Times, check MinerQuest, the UTEP Library Catalog.
NOTE: UTEP students, faculty, and staff have unlimited access to New York Times Digital Edition subscription.

https://search.proquest.com/hnpnewyorktimes/advanced?accountid=7121
NOTE: This database is partially funded by the Academic Library Collection Enhancement Program (ALCEP) through the General Libraries of the University of Texas at Austin.
World Newspaper Archive: African Newspapers I, 1800-1922 (NewsBank/Readex)
Published in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries (CRL), this collection provides complete full-text/full-image access to selected 19th and 20th century historical newspapers printed in various African countries, including: Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Uganda, and Zimbabwe. Titles are printed in a variety of languages including: English, German, French, Portuguese, Afrikaans, Xhosa, Sotho, and others.

http://infoweb.newsbank.com/?db=WHNPX&d_collections=WHNPAFR1
World Newspaper Archive: Latin American Newspapers - Series 2, 1822-1922 (NewsBank/Readex)
Published in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries (CRL), this collection provides complete full-text/full-image access to selected 19th and 20th century historical newspapers printed in various Latin American countries, including: Mexico, Argentina, Cuba, Chile, Brazil, Peru, Trinidad, and Guyana. Most titles are printed in either Spanish or Portuguese while some are printed in the English language. The bulk of the collection is from the 19th century; dates of coverage range from 1822-1922 (overall).

http://infoweb.newsbank.com/?db=WHNPX&d_collections=WHNPLAN2

MinerQuest
MinerQuest is the easiest way to search as many of the UTEP Library's databases + its catalog at once. Results will include articles of all types, books, e-books, government documents, streaming videos, and encyclopedia articles. A good all-purpose search tool.

https://utep.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/search?vid=01UTEP_INST:01UTEP
JSTOR
Provides complete full-text access to an archive of back issues of selected scholarly journals from the following subscribed collections: Arts & Sciences (I - XI), Life Sciences, and Ireland. Subject coverage includes: African and African American Studies, anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art and art history, Asian Studies, biology, botany, British Studies, business, classical studies, economics, education, film studies, finance, folklore, geography, health sciences, history, Ireland, Jewish Studies, language and literature, Latin American Studies, law, linguistics, mathematics, Middle East Studies, music, paleontology, performing arts, philosophy, political science, psychology, public administration, religion, science, Slavic Studies, sociology, Women's Studies, statistics and zoology. Other types of publications indexed include monographs, pamphlets, images, and manuscripts.

https://www.jstor.org/action/showAdvancedSearch
HathiTrust Digital Library
Provides bibliographic indexing and selected full-text/full-image access to a large-scale shared repository of digital collections contributed by a growing partnership of major educational research institutions, libraries, and other stakeholders. Subject coverage is international and multidisciplinary in scope. Content is composed primarily of digitized books and journals derived from partner collections, ranging from in-copyright and public domain materials provided by Google, the Internet Archive, and Microsoft to various in-house partner institution initiatives. Access to full-text content is based on institutional licensing as well as copyright and other restrictions. Coverage: Circa 1500s to present (updates vary).

https://www.hathitrust.org
NOTE: The University of Texas at El Paso (UTEP) is a HathiTrust member institution through the University of Texas System (UT System). UTEP users may login via their institutional partner accounts to gain full access to the database.

C.L. Sonnichsen Special Collections Department
The Special Collections Department is the "unofficial" archive of the UTEP. When doing any local research, your time will not be wasted if you call and make an appointment.
Image Collections
Digital images from the Library's Special Collections department. Southwest photographs from El Paso, Ciudad Juarez are more.
Institute of Oral History
more... less...

The Institute of Oral History was established in 1972 for the purpose of "preserving the history of the region adjacent to the Rio Grande both in the United States and in Mexico." While an emphasis has been on the El Paso-Ciudad Juárez region, the collection also contains interviews dealing with the history of communities all along the U.S.-Mexico border. These materials cover a wide range of subjects, spanning social, economic, political, cultural and artistic concerns.

Portal to Texas History
Integrated content platform that provides full-text/full image access to a widely varied collection of historical materials concerning Texas, from prehistory through the twentieth century. Content focuses on primary sources, including digital reproductions of photographs, maps, letters, documents, books, artifacts, newspapers, audio and video recordings, and more. Collections are derived from the contributions of participating Texas libraries, museums, archives, historical societies, genealogical societies, and private family collections. Includes Primary Source Adventures, My Texas History Notebook, and Texas History Snapshot curriculum materials that comply with Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills (TEKS) standards for classroom teaching.

https://texashistory.unt.edu/
ScholarWorks@UTEP: The University of Texas at El Paso

Preserves, organizes, and provides access to UTEP's Institutional Repository (IR) or online archive of research and scholarship of various types across all colleges, departments, and programs. Materials indexed include working papers, journal articles, conference papers, UTEP's dissertations and theses, photographic collections, and more. All items posted are full text or full image. Includes Faculty Selected Works.

https://scholarworks.utep.edu/