Comprehensive bibliographic index for national education literature, sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, consisting of: Resources in Education, Current Index to Journals in Education, and full text ERIC Digest records. Materials indexed include books, journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, theses, dissertations, and conference proceedings. Subject coverage includes education, law, psychology, behavioral science, humanities, arts and literature, and the social sciences. This database is made possible by TexShare.
Bibliographic index for education literature derived from English language periodicals, books, and yearbooks. Subject coverage includes adult and continuing education, educational technology, government funding, higher education, instructional media, language arts, library and information science, literacy standards, parent-teacher relations, school administration, teacher education, vocational education, and much more.
Bibliographic index for selected literature related to educational administration, educational leadership, educational management, educational research, and other relevant subject areas. Materials indexed include journal articles, magazines, books, and reports. Most citations include abstracts and some include full text or link to full text content from other providers, based on institutional subscriptions.
Comprehensive bibliographic index for multidisciplinary literature. Formats indexed include books, newspapers, and magazines, as well as scholarly and peer-reviewed journals. Subject coverage includes social sciences, arts and humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, health sciences, multicultural studies, and many more. Most citations include abstracts and full text or link to full text content from other providers, based on institutional subscriptions. This database is made possible by TexShare.
Comprehensive bibliographic index that provides citations, abstracts, and some full text for international literature in the field of psychology drawn from source materials such as journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports. Subject coverage includes the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
Bibliographic index that provides complete full text access to peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and several allied organizations. Subject coverage includes general psychology as well as specialized, basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research. Materials indexed include journal articles, letters to the editor, and errata.
Comprehensive bibliographic index for literature concerning psychology and human behavior. Subject coverage includes emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Materials indexed include scholarly and peer-reviewed journals.
Comprehensive bibliographic indexing and abstracting database that provides information about behavioral measurement instruments, published by Behavioral Measurement Database Services. Materials indexed include journal articles, instruments from Industrial/Organizational Behavior and Education, questionnaires, interview schedules, vignettes/scenarios, coding schemes, rating and other scales, checklists, indexes, tests, projective techniques, and more.
Online collection of digital streaming video developed specifically for the training and professional development of teachers and focusing on the study of teaching methods and education theory. Content includes videos of teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classroom settings.
Provides access to a rich and varied collection of digital streaming video content available for the study of counseling, social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. Content includes counseling sessions and demonstrations, consultations, lectures, presentations, interviews, documentaries, as well as teaching and discussion guides. NOTE: Continuing Education Credits (CEC) are available for a number of the videos in this collection.
https://ctiv.alexanderstreet.com/CTV1
This database is funded in its entirety by the Academic Library Collection Enhancement Program (ALCEP) through the General Libraries of the University of Texas at Austin.
The second volume of the Alexander Street Press Counseling and Therapy in Video series provides access to a rich and varied collection of digital streaming video content available for the study of counseling, social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. Volume II both updates and expands upon the first collection, with special emphasis on contemporary topics such as family therapy, child therapy, geriatric therapy, play therapy, weight control and eating disorders, post-traumatic stress disorder, narrative therapy, social construction, art therapy, and more. Content includes counseling sessions and demonstrations, consultations, lectures, presentations, interviews, documentaries, as well as teaching and discussion guides.
Provides online access to a wide selection of documentaries and social issues films from Bullfrog Films, Icarus Films, Docuseek2, Terra Nova Films, The Fanlight Collection, Kartemquin Films, and Collective Eye Films in streaming video format. To access UTEP's subscribed collection of streaming videos on Docuseek2, click on the "My Movies" link in the upper right-hand corner of the screen or limit to "My Movies Only" in the advanced search option.
State-of-the-art streaming video platform produced by the Films Media Group (FMG), composed of Films for the Humanities and Sciences, Cambridge Educational, Meridian Education, and Shopware. Streaming video content, ranging from clips to complete documentary films, may be incorporated into content management systems, online lesson plans, distance learning courseware, or electronic library card catalog systems. Several titles include closed captioning. Subject coverage is multidisciplinary and includes humanities, social sciences, business, economics, science, mathematics, health, medicine, archival films and newsreels, and much more. Updates vary by title with new content added annually.
Provides access to licensed digital streaming video on the Kanopy Streaming Service platform. Playlists of video clips and/or complete documentary films may be created and incorporated into course management systems such as Blackboard, online lesson plans, or embedded within LibGuides. Subject coverage is multidisciplinary and includes the arts and humanities, education, mass media, communication, business and professional training, science, health, and much more.
Fully-integrated web-based portal that provides indexing, abstracting, and full-text content for the complete publications of the American Psychiatric Association (APA). Materials indexed include the complete DSM Library of reference titles, scholarly journals, textbooks, APA Practice Guidelines, self-assessment tools, clinical and research news, and medication information handouts.
SAGE Research Methods Online (SRMO) is a fully-integrated online research methods tool designed to help researchers, faculty, and students with their research projects across multiple disciplines. Provides selected, full-text access to SAGE books, journals, and reference content.Users can explore research methods and concepts to help them design research projects, better understand particular research methods or identify new methods, conduct research, write up findings, and share their own collections of research content through the SRMO Lists feature. Other SRMO features such as the Methods Map offers users a visual representation of the inter-relationships and overlaps between the many different methods, theories, and techniques used in social research. The Methods Map can be used to locate a given research technique, theory, or method and its relationship to other approaches and as a way of reaching other relevant content from the books, journals, and reference resources that make up SRMO. Publications indexed include selected SAGE books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, the entire Little Green Book and Little Blue Book series, journal articles, and newly-commissioned videos.
http://methods.sagepub.com
Users can explore research methods and concepts to help them design research projects, better understand particular research methods or identify new methods, conduct research, write up findings, and share their own collections of research content through the SRMO Lists feature. Other SRMO features such as the Methods Map offers users a visual representation of the inter-relationships and overlaps between the many different methods, theories, and techniques used in social research. The Methods Map can be used to locate a given research technique, theory, or method and its relationship to other approaches and as a way of reaching other relevant content from the books, journals, and reference resources that make up SRMO. Publications indexed include selected SAGE books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, the entire Little Green Book and Little Blue Book series, journal articles, and newly-commissioned videos.
Google Scholar indexes millions of scholarly articles but it is next to impossible to narrow and sift through results like you would in a database.
Google Scholar is, however, perfect for when you have the name or citation of an article that you really need.
If you are on the UTEP campus (or if you're connected to the VPN) Google Scholar will tell you if the UTEP Library has the article in one of our databases and provide a link. See the steps below.
Step 1
Plug in the article citation or title to Google Scholar
Step 2
If the UTEP Library has access to this article, there will be a "UTEP Access" link that will take you to the database where the full text of the article is available.
Step 4
If we don't have the article you're looking for, you can request it through our InterLibrary Loan service (Please see the ILL box on the left). Online requests typically take 1-2 days or less!
This link opens in a new window
