Other databases may also be relevant to your research. See all Library databases here.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Comprehensive bibliographic index for multidisciplinary literature. Formats indexed include books, newspapers, and magazines, as well as scholarly and peer-reviewed journals. Subject coverage includes social sciences, arts and humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, health sciences, multicultural studies, and many more. Most citations include abstracts and full text or link to full text content from other providers.
Anthropological Index Online (AIO)
Bibliographic index that provides citations only for international literature derived from journals and other periodicals in the Anthropology Library of the British Museum. Subject coverage includes physical anthropology, archaeology, cultural ethnography, and linguistics. Coverage: 1957 - present.
Provides complete full text access to the journals, newsletters, and bulletins of the American Anthropological Association (AAA) except for Anthropology News. Subject coverage includes cultural and social anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, culture, demography, human ecology, folklore, and ethnohistory. Coverage varies by title, ranging from 1997 - present (overall). Older issues of selected titles are archived on JSTOR.
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) (ProQuest)
Bibliographic index for international journal literature covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations, and education. Citations include abstracts and some include links to full text, based on institutional subscriptions. Coverage: 1987 - present (updated monthly).
Bibliography of Native North Americans (BNNA) (EBSCO)
Bibliographic index for literature concerning all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. Subject coverage includes anthropology, archaeology, education, multicultural relations, psychology, political science, gaming, governance, legend, sociology, and literacy. Materials indexed include books, essays, journal and newspaper articles, and book reviews, as well as U.S. and Canadian government documents.
Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment (Alexander Street Press)
Provides full text/full image access to a broad collection of primary source materials dealing with the relationships among peoples and cultures in early North America. The collection presents unique perspectives from traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, officials, and others. It includes works by American Indians, Canadian First Peoples, and many European groups, capturing first impressions, observations of flora and fauna, descriptions of encounters with indigenous peoples, etc.
Produced by Human Relations Area Files, Inc. (HRAF) at Yale University, this full text database contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life throughout the world. Content is organized by cultures and ethnic groups. TRIAL EXPIRES: May 31, 2010. Includes eHRAF Collection of Ethnography.
Ethnographic Video Online, Vols. I & II: Foundational Films (Alexander Street Press)
As part of the Alexander Street Anthropology series, Ethnographic Video Online provides access to a comprehensive collection of digital streaming video content pertaining to the study of human culture and behavior. Includes classic and contemporary documentaries produced by leading video producers in the discipline, previously unpublished footage from working anthropologists and ethnographers in the field, and select feature films. Some videos include accompanying field notes, liner notes, filmmaker biographies, related articles, study guides, and other context-enhancing, full-text materials.
Gender: Identity and Social Change (Adam Matthew)
Provides full-text/full-image access to a selected collection of archival primary source material dealing with the exploration of gender history, including femininity, masculinity, sexuality, women's suffrage and the men's movement. Materials indexed include video interviews, biographies, newsletters, periodicals, diaries, ephemera, photographs and the papers of Arthur Joseph Munby. Subject coverage includes gender studies, history, law, LGBT studies, political science, social sciences and women's studies. Coverage: 1800's to present. NOTE: This database is funded in its entirety by the Academic Library Collection Enhancement Program (ALCEP) through the General Libraries of the University of Texas at Austin.
Provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts for international geoscience literature derived from journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, dissertations, and theses. Includes simultaneous access to GeoRef in Process (ProQuest) and links to some full text articles included, based on institutional subscriptions. Contains citations to all U.S. Geological Survey publications.
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
Provides access to a comprehensive online archive of social science research data. Subject coverage ranges from political science, sociology, and criminal justice to economics, education, health science, and psychology. A data use tutorial is provided. NOTE: Data must not be shared with anyone other than current UTEP faculty, staff, and students. Authorized users will need to create a "MyData" account in order to download data files.
Provides complete full text access to an archive of back issues of selected scholarly journals from the following subscribed collections: Arts & Sciences (I - VIII), Life Sciences, and the Ireland Collection. Other types of publications indexed include monographs, pamphlets, images, and manuscripts. Coverage varies by title, ranging from a journal's first volume/issue to 3-5 years from the present ("Moving Wall"). Some titles include links to more recent content available via selected providers.
SAGE Research Methods Online (SRMO)
SAGE ResearchMethods is a fully-integrated online research methods tool designed to help researchers, faculty, and students with their research projects across multiple disciplines. Provides selected, full-text access to SAGE books, journals, and reference content. Some citations link to full-text content available from other providers based on institutional subscriptions.
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)
Bibliographic index for international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Source publications include book reviews, journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Citations include abstracts (from 1974 onward) and some include links to full text articles, based on institutional subscriptions. Coverage: 1963 - present (updated monthly).
Hemeroteca Digital de Chihuahua (INPRO)
Provides full-text access to selected Spanish language articles derived from Mexican newspapers and magazines covering the state of Chihuahua, Mexico. Includes selected articles from newspapers and periodicals from other Mexican states as well as from the El Paso, Texas area. Coverage: 1976 - present (updated daily).
Bibliographic index for international literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, public administration, and public policy. Publications indexed include journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, and dissertations. Citations include abstracts and some include links to full-text based on institutional subscriptions. Coverage: 1975 - present (updated monthly).
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global (PQDT Global) (ProQuest)
Provides bibliographic indexing for nearly all doctoral dissertations and Master's theses accepted at North American academic institutions. Selectively indexes dissertations and theses from academic institutions in Great Britain, Europe, and other countries around the globe. Dissertations published since July 1980 include abstracts written by the author. Theses published since 1988 include brief abstracts. All titles published since 1997 include 24-page previews and complete full-text; selected full-text is available for earlier dates. Many titles can also be ordered online using a personal credit card. Subject coverage is multidisciplinary. Coverage: 1637 - present (overall); bulk from 1861 - present. Updated monthly. NOTE: Includes all of UTEP's Master's theses and doctoral dissertations in online format as found in Dissertations & Theses @ University of Texas - El Paso (ProQuest). To locate printed or microfilm copies of theses and dissertations for UTEP, check Nugget, the UTEP Library Catalog.
Palmer's Full Text Online (ProQuest)
Provides bibliographic indexing as well as full-text/full-image access to The Times newspaper of London, England. Resources include: Palmer's Index to the Times (October 1790-December 1905) and Palmer's Full Text Online (1800-1870). Subject coverage includes all aspects of British life and world affairs in the 19th and 20th centuries including history, politics, economics, business, the arts, entertainment, and sport.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times (ProQuest)
Provides full-text/full-image access to the Los Angeles Times newspaper from the first issue published in 1881 up through 25 years from the current date. Content includes news stories, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photographs, cartoons, maps, advertisements, and more. Updated annually. For online access to current issues of the Los Angeles Times, see LexisNexis Academic. To locate printed or microfilm copies of the Los Angeles Times, check Nugget, the UTEP Library Catalog.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (ProQuest)
Provides full-text/full-image access to The New York Times newspaper from the first issue published in 1851 up through three years from the current date. Content includes news stories, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photographs, cartoons, maps, advertisements, and more. Updated annually. For online access to current issues of The New York Times, see LexisNexis Academic. To locate printed or microfilm copies of The New York Times, check Nugget, the UTEP Library Catalog.
| 500 W. University Avenue : El Paso, TX, 79968-0582 : (915) 747-5672 |
