ENGL 3312 - Walston

Provides full-text/full-image access to selected primary source newspaper content published during the 19th century from both urban and rural regions throughout the United States. Subject coverage focuses on the daily life, politics, culture, ethnic groups, and major historical events from 19th century America, including the American Civil War, African-Americans, Native Americans, Western migration, Antebellum-era life, women's rights, labor groups, and more.

Provides access to a wide variety of primary source material in American history. Archival content is organized into subject collections derived from leading historical periodicals and books, newspapers, diaries, and genealogical records. Included are eyewitness accounts of historical events, vivid descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, and commerce as seen through advertisements. Entries include full bibliographic citations and are organized chronologically. NOTE: UTEP's subscribed collections include: African American Newspapers, The Civil War, Part I - A Newspaper Perspective, Civil War, Part II - The Soldiers' Perspective, Civil War, Part III - The Generals' Perspective, Civil War, Part IV - A Midwestern Perspective, Civil War, Part V - Iowa's Perspective, Civil War, Part VI - Northeast Regimental Histories, Quarantine and Disease Control in America.

Provides full-text/full-image access to an online archive of selected historical newspapers from around the world. Countries represented include: United States (U.S.) and the Virgin Islands, the United Kingdom (U.K.), France, Germany, Ireland, South Africa, Jamaica, Canada, Denmark, China, and Japan. Content is composed primarily of historical back issues. Dates of coverage vary by title, ranging from 1759 - present (overall).

Provides complete full text/full image access to a collection of U.S. newspapers that chronicles the African American experience from 1827-1998. Subject coverage spans life in the Antebellum South; the spread of abolitionism; growth of the Black church; the Emancipation Proclamation; the Jim Crow Era; the Great Migration to northern cities, including the West and Midwest in search of greater opportunity; rise of the N.A.A.C.P.; the Harlem Renaissance; the Civil Rights movement; political and economic empowerment, and more. Materials indexed include articles, obituaries, advertisements, editorials, and illustrations.

Jointly sponsored by the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LOC) and developed through the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP), this fully-integrated content delivery platform provides full-text/full image access to a selected collection of America's historic newspapers from 1836-1922. Includes the U.S. Newspaper Directory that provides information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.

Based on the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project at the University of Houston, this large and distinctive collection provides full text/full image access to Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. Subject coverage includes every major theme in American history and culture including reported news events in Spanish-speaking countries not always available in traditional U.S. newspapers.

Published in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries (CRL), this collection provides complete full-text/full-image access to selected 19th and 20th century historical newspapers printed in various Latin American countries, including: Mexico, Argentina, Cuba, Chile, Brazil, Peru, Trinidad, and Guyana. Most titles are printed in either Spanish or Portuguese while some are printed in the English language. The bulk of the collection is from the 19th century; dates of coverage range from 1822-1922 (overall).

Published in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries (CRL), this collection provides complete full-text/full-image access to selected 19th and 20th century historical newspapers printed in various Latin American countries, including: Mexico, Argentina, Cuba, Chile, Brazil, Peru, Trinidad, and Guyana. Most titles are printed in either Spanish or Portuguese while some are printed in the English language. The bulk of the collection is from the 19th century; dates of coverage range from 1805-1922 (overall).

Provides complete full text/full image access to the following newspapers digitized from microfilm: New York Times (Late Edition - East Coast), Los Angeles Times (Library Edition), Chicago Tribune, Wall Street Journal (Eastern Edition), Washington Post (Final Edition), and Barron's.

Provides full-text/full-image access to the Los Angeles Times newspaper from the first issue published in 1881 up through 25 years from the current date. Content includes news stories, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photographs, cartoons, maps, advertisements, and more. Updated annually. For online access to current issues of the Los Angeles Times, see LexisNexis Academic.

Provides full-text/full-image access to The New York Times newspaper from the first issue published in 1851 up through five years from the current date. Content includes news stories, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photographs, cartoons, maps, advertisements, and more. Updated annually. For online access to current issues of The New York Times, see Nexis Uni. To locate printed or microfilm copies of The New York Times, check MinerQuest, the UTEP Library Catalog.
NOTE: UTEP students, faculty, and staff have unlimited access to New York Times Digital Edition subscription.

Published in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries (CRL), this collection provides complete full-text/full-image access to selected 19th and 20th century historical newspapers printed in various African countries, including: Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Uganda, and Zimbabwe. Titles are printed in a variety of languages including: English, German, French, Portuguese, Afrikaans, Xhosa, Sotho, and others.

Published in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries (CRL), this collection provides complete full-text/full-image access to selected 19th and 20th century historical newspapers printed in various Latin American countries, including: Mexico, Argentina, Cuba, Chile, Brazil, Peru, Trinidad, and Guyana. Most titles are printed in either Spanish or Portuguese while some are printed in the English language. The bulk of the collection is from the 19th century; dates of coverage range from 1822-1922 (overall).

MinerQuest is the easiest way to search as many of the UTEP Library's databases + its catalog at once. Results will include articles of all types, books, e-books, government documents, streaming videos, and encyclopedia articles. A good all-purpose search tool.

Provides complete full-text access to an archive of back issues of selected scholarly journals from the following subscribed collections: Arts & Sciences (I - XI), Life Sciences, and Ireland. Subject coverage includes: African and African American Studies, anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art and art history, Asian Studies, biology, botany, British Studies, business, classical studies, economics, education, film studies, finance, folklore, geography, health sciences, history, Ireland, Jewish Studies, language and literature, Latin American Studies, law, linguistics, mathematics, Middle East Studies, music, paleontology, performing arts, philosophy, political science, psychology, public administration, religion, science, Slavic Studies, sociology, Women's Studies, statistics and zoology. Other types of publications indexed include monographs, pamphlets, images, and manuscripts.

Provides bibliographic indexing and selected full-text/full-image access to a large-scale shared repository of digital collections contributed by a growing partnership of major educational research institutions, libraries, and other stakeholders. Subject coverage is international and multidisciplinary in scope. Content is composed primarily of digitized books and journals derived from partner collections, ranging from in-copyright and public domain materials provided by Google, the Internet Archive, and Microsoft to various in-house partner institution initiatives. Access to full-text content is based on institutional licensing as well as copyright and other restrictions. Coverage: Circa 1500s to present (updates vary).

Integrated content platform that provides full-text/full image access to a widely varied collection of historical materials concerning Texas, from prehistory through the twentieth century. Content focuses on primary sources, including digital reproductions of photographs, maps, letters, documents, books, artifacts, newspapers, audio and video recordings, and more. Collections are derived from the contributions of participating Texas libraries, museums, archives, historical societies, genealogical societies, and private family collections. Includes Primary Source Adventures, My Texas History Notebook, and Texas History Snapshot curriculum materials that comply with Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills (TEKS) standards for classroom teaching.

Preserves, organizes, and provides access to UTEP's Institutional Repository (IR) or online archive of research and scholarship of various types across all colleges, departments, and programs. Materials indexed include working papers, journal articles, conference papers, UTEP's dissertations and theses, photographic collections, and more. All items posted are full text or full image. Includes Faculty Selected Works.

Provides bibliographic indexing and selected full-text/full-image access to a large-scale shared repository of digital collections contributed by a growing partnership of major educational research institutions, libraries, and other stakeholders. Subject coverage is international and multidisciplinary in scope. Content is composed primarily of digitized books and journals derived from partner collections, ranging from in-copyright and public domain materials provided by Google, the Internet Archive, and Microsoft to various in-house partner institution initiatives. Access to full-text content is based on institutional licensing as well as copyright and other restrictions. Coverage: Circa 1500s to present (updates vary).