UTEP Library Research Guides: Quick Open Access Resources: Home

Home

Multidisciplinary Research

arXiv
arXiv is a repository of electronic preprints, or e-prints, in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, and statistics.
Bielefield Academic Search Engine (BASE)
BASE is a freely available search engine for academic open access resources on the web.
DOAJ
Provides indexing, abstracting, and free full text access for selected international scholarly journals in many subject areas, including agriculture and food science, biology, chemistry, health science, languages and literature, mathematics, physics, engineering, the arts, business, environmental science, history, law, political science, philosophy, religion, and social science. Coverage varies by title (updated continuously). NOTE: For access to some titles, free user registration is required to access full text content.
Emerald Insights
Provides bibliographic indexing, abstracts, and full-text content for the publications of Emerald Publishing Limited. Subject coverage includes accounting, finance, economics, education, engineering, public health, human resources, library and information science, management, marketing, public policy, sociology, and more. Some articles link to full-text content provided by other publishers or vendors.
Google Scholar
JSTOR
To support researchers during this challenging time you can register for a free account that will allow you to have read-online access to 100 articles per month. You can search, read, cite and then download articles when the network becomes available.
Merlot
An expansive collection from California State University of learning materials for all education levels, and one of the world’s largest collections of open textbooks.
OASIS
Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 117 different sources and contains 388,707 records.
OER Commons
A platform to find OER, but also a platform to create and distribute your own OER; An open digital commons hub offering OER support, materials, tools, training, and roadmaps.
Sage Journals
Use the filter on the right to select Open Access articles only.
ScholarWorks
ScienceDirect
Provides bibliographic citations, abstracts, and complete full-text for Elsevier publications. Subject coverage includes biology, chemistry, business, mathematics, engineering, environmental science, materials science, computer science, medicine, psychology, the social sciences, and physics.
Taylor and Francis
Filter results to "Only show content I have full access to."

Open Access Books

Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world.
Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)
The DOAB is a searchable index of academic, peer-reviewed, open access books that includes links to the full-text books on the publishers' websites.
HathiTrust
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic and research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
OAPEN
The OAPEN Library contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of Humanities and Social Sciences.
Taylor & Francis Open Access Books
Taylor & Francis Open Access Books have been publishing open access books and chapters since 2013. They have collaborated with researchers to build one of the largest open access book and chapter collections.

Dissertations / Theses

ScholarWorks@UTEP: The University of Texas at El Paso This link opens in a new window Preserves, organizes, and provides access to UTEP's Institutional Repository (IR) or online archive of research and scholarship of various types across all colleges, departments, and programs. Materials indexed include working papers, journal articles, conference papers, UTEP's dissertations and theses, photographic collections, and more. All items posted are full text or full image. Includes Faculty Selected Works.
https://scholarworks.utep.edu/

American Doctoral Dissertations / OpenDissertations.org

Education

Education Resources Information Center (ERIC)
ERIC indexes education research found in journal articles, books, and grey literature.

Government Information

GOVinfo
Presents online versions of major U.S. government publications, such as: the Congressional Record, congressional publications of all kinds, the Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, Supreme Court decisions, executive branch documents and more.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
Lists and describes federal publications (primarily 1976- ) and provides direct links to those that are available online. Search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general keyword. (See next tab for pre-1976 documents.)
Google
Add site:.gov (site colon dot gov) to your keywords to limit searching to government websites.
Limit searches to a specific department's or agency's website, such as site:dhs.gov (site colon dhs dot gov) to find only results from the Department of Homeland Security.

Local Research

El Paso History Research Guide
Visit this guide's Online Resources tab to review all the web pages with great information about El Paso and our Border Region.

Borderzine: Journalism Across Fronteras This link opens in a new window
Multimedia journalism news site featuring articles written by Latino student journalists from the Sam Donaldson Center for Communication Studies in the Department of Communication at the University of Texas at El Paso (UTEP). Subject coverage is multidisciplinary and focuses on issues and news events relevant to Latinos in El Paso, Texas, as well as the U.S.- Mexico Border Region. Content is presented in English or Spanish.
https://borderzine.com/
ScholarWorks@UTEP: The University of Texas at El Paso This link opens in a new window
Preserves, organizes, and provides access to UTEP's Institutional Repository (IR) or online archive of research and scholarship of various types across all colleges, departments, and programs. Materials indexed include working papers, journal articles, conference papers, UTEP's dissertations and theses, photographic collections, and more. All items posted are full text or full image. Includes Faculty Selected Works.
https://scholarworks.utep.edu/

Images in ContentDM
Find various images relating to local history here.

Portal to Texas History This link opens in a new window
Integrated content platform that provides full-text/full image access to a widely varied collection of historical materials concerning Texas, from prehistory through the twentieth century. Content focuses on primary sources, including digital reproductions of photographs, maps, letters, documents, books, artifacts, newspapers, audio and video recordings, and more. Collections are derived from the contributions of participating Texas libraries, museums, archives, historical societies, genealogical societies, and private family collections. Includes Primary Source Adventures, My Texas History Notebook, and Texas History Snapshot curriculum materials that comply with Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills (TEKS) standards for classroom teaching.
https://texashistory.unt.edu/

The Prospector (Archives)
The Prospector, student newspaper at UTEP.
Provides full-text/full-image access to the historical digital archives of The Prospector, a publication of the Division of Student Affairs, University of Texas at El Paso (UTEP). Coverage: 1915 - 2010.
Texas Beyond History
Texas Beyond History (TBH) is a public education service of the Texas Archeological Research Laboratory at the University of Texas at Austin, and in partnership with the Department of Anthropology at Texas State University and 15 other organizations. Begun in 2001, its purpose is to interpret and share the results of archeological and historical research on the cultural heritage of Texas with the citizens of Texas and the world.

El Paso

El Paso Matters
El Paso Inc.
Some articles on the site are only for subscribers. Unfortunately, UTEP's subscription is for the paper edition only.
El Paso Herald-Post
El Diario de El Paso
El Paso Times

Juarez

Las Cruces

Nursing/Health Sciences

PubMed
PubMed is a free resource that includes over 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Coverage includes the fields of biomedicine and health, portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.
Google Scholar

Sciences

ScienceDirect
Run a search and look for the Open Access above each search result for those that you can download.

Quick Open Access Resources

Need help? Ask Us!

Quick Links to Databases on SSO

Home

Multidisciplinary Research

Open Access Books

Dissertations / Theses

Education

Government Information

Local Research

Nursing/Health Sciences

Sciences