Skip to Main Content

New UNIV 1301- Martinez

Keyword Brainstorming Activity

Databases for Peer-Reviewed Articles

Use the tabs in the box for links to these recommended databases >>>>>

THIS VIDEO IS LONG, USE THESE LINKS TO JUMP TO WHAT YOU NEED TO KNOW:

  • 0:00​ Intro
  • 0:26​ What is "peer-reviewed"? (quick definition)
  • 0:53​ General database recs for finding peer-reviewed articles (for most subjects)
  • 1:15​ Why we have to search in databases differently than when we use Google
  • 2:04​ DOs and DON'Ts of searching in databases (w/ examples)
  • 4:45​ Database rec #1- MinerQuest (how to find, search, get peer-reviewed articles, get full text)
  • 6:10​ How to get to the recommended databases (step-by-step)
  • 7:30​ Find full-text, peer-reviewed articles in JSTOR
  • 8:28​ Find full-text, peer-reviewed articles in EBSCO databases (Edu. Full Text, ERIC, Medline)
  • 9:35​ Find full-text, peer-reviewed articles in PubMed
  • 10:40​ Find full-text, peer-reviewed articles in ScienceDirect
  • 11:35​ Ask a librarian for help finding sources for the annotated bibliography!

Not all topics are the same or fit into the categories with recommendations in this box.

Email your Librarian, Angela if you want personalized recs for databases for your specific topic!

> ajmartinez5@utep.edu <

>Substitute Librarian: mtesterman@utep.edu<

Find Theses + Dissertations

Find News Articles + Videos

THIS VIDEO IS LONG, USE THESE LINKS TO JUMP TO WHAT YOU NEED:

  • 0:00​ Intro 0:23​ What is "news content"? 0:43​ Where to find news articles from the Library
  • 1:07​ How to get to the recommended news databases, step-by-step
  • 2:13​ How to get to current NYT & LA Times subscriptions, step-by-step
  • 3:09​ Suggested (non-library) sites for news articles
  • 3:43​ Access to the El Paso Times
  • 4:11​ Local news in video-- what NOT to use
  • 5:07​ All the local stations in the El Paso region
  • 5:29​ How to find content on local news station sites
  • 5:57​ A BETTER way to search local news station content w/ Google
  • 6:50​ Make sure you use local news station videos ONLY FROM VERIFIED YOUTUBE ACCOUNTS
  • 7:58​ Ask a librarian-- contact the UTEP Library if you need help finding more sources

El Paso

Juarez

Las Cruces

500 W. University Avenue : El Paso, TX, 79968-0582 : (915) 747-5672
Copyright | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer
State Reports | UT System | Customer Service Statement | Site Feedback | Required Links |