MinerQuest is the easiest way to search as many of the UTEP Library's databases + its catalog at once. Results will include articles of all types, books, e-books, government documents, streaming videos, and encyclopedia articles. A good all-purpose search tool.
Provides complete full-text access to an archive of back issues of selected scholarly journals from the following subscribed collections: Arts & Sciences (I - XI), Life Sciences, and Ireland. Subject coverage includes: African and African American Studies, anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art and art history, Asian Studies, biology, botany, British Studies, business, classical studies, economics, education, film studies, finance, folklore, geography, health sciences, history, Ireland, Jewish Studies, language and literature, Latin American Studies, law, linguistics, mathematics, Middle East Studies, music, paleontology, performing arts, philosophy, political science, psychology, public administration, religion, science, Slavic Studies, sociology, Women's Studies, statistics and zoology. Other types of publications indexed include monographs, pamphlets, images, and manuscripts.
Provides full-text/full-image access to selected primary source newspaper content published during the 19th century from both urban and rural regions throughout the United States. Subject coverage focuses on the daily life, politics, culture, ethnic groups, and major historical events from 19th century America, including the American Civil War, African-Americans, Native Americans, Western migration, Antebellum-era life, women's rights, labor groups, and more.
Provides full-text/full-image access to an online archive of selected historical newspapers from around the world. Countries represented include: United States (U.S.) and the Virgin Islands, the United Kingdom (U.K.), France, Germany, Ireland, South Africa, Jamaica, Canada, Denmark, China, and Japan. Content is composed primarily of historical back issues. Dates of coverage vary by title, ranging from 1759 - present (overall).
Provides complete full text/full image access to a collection of U.S. newspapers that chronicles the African American experience from 1827-1998. Subject coverage spans life in the Antebellum South; the spread of abolitionism; growth of the Black church; the Emancipation Proclamation; the Jim Crow Era; the Great Migration to northern cities, including the West and Midwest in search of greater opportunity; rise of the N.A.A.C.P.; the Harlem Renaissance; the Civil Rights movement; political and economic empowerment, and more. Materials indexed include articles, obituaries, advertisements, editorials, and illustrations.
Published in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries (CRL), this collection provides complete full-text/full-image access to selected 19th and 20th century historical newspapers printed in various African countries, including: Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Uganda, and Zimbabwe. Titles are printed in a variety of languages including: English, German, French, Portuguese, Afrikaans, Xhosa, Sotho, and others. Coverage: 1800-1922 (updates vary).
Jointly sponsored by the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LOC) and developed through the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP), this fully-integrated content delivery platform provides full-text/full image access to a selected collection of America's historic newspapers from 1836-1922. Includes the U.S. Newspaper Directory that provides information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
Provides complete full text/full image access to over 700 historical American newspapers from 23 states and the District of Columbia printed between 1690 and 1876. The bulk of the collection is from the 18th century and is based on Clarence S. Brigham's History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820 as well as other authoritative bibliographies.
Provides full-text/full-image access to the Los Angeles Times newspaper from the first issue published in 1881 up through 25 years from the current date. Content includes news stories, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photographs, cartoons, maps, advertisements, and more. Updated annually. For online access to current issues of the Los Angeles Times, see LexisNexis Academic.
Provides full-text/full-image access to The New York Times newspaper from the first issue published in 1851 up through five years from the current date. Content includes news stories, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photographs, cartoons, maps, advertisements, and more. Updated annually. For online access to current issues of The New York Times, see Nexis Uni. To locate printed or microfilm copies of The New York Times, check MinerQuest, the UTEP Library Catalog.
NOTE: UTEP students, faculty, and staff have unlimited access to New York Times Digital Edition subscription.
https://search.proquest.com/hnpnewyorktimes/advanced?accountid=7121
NOTE: This database is partially funded by the Academic Library Collection Enhancement Program (ALCEP) through the General Libraries of the University of Texas at Austin.
Published in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries (CRL), this collection provides complete full-text/full-image access to selected 19th and 20th century historical newspapers printed in various African countries, including: Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Uganda, and Zimbabwe. Titles are printed in a variety of languages including: English, German, French, Portuguese, Afrikaans, Xhosa, Sotho, and others.
Provides full-text/full-image access to selected primary source newspaper content published during the 19th century from both urban and rural regions throughout the United States. Subject coverage focuses on the daily life, politics, culture, ethnic groups, and major historical events from 19th century America, including the American Civil War, African-Americans, Native Americans, Western migration, Antebellum-era life, women's rights, labor groups, and more.
Comprehensive bibliographic index for multidisciplinary literature. Formats indexed include books, newspapers, and magazines, as well as scholarly and peer-reviewed journals. Subject coverage includes social sciences, arts and humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, health sciences, multicultural studies, and many more. Most citations include abstracts and full text or link to full text content from other providers, based on institutional subscriptions. This database is made possible by TexShare.
Provides complete full text/full image access to a collection of U.S. newspapers that chronicles the African American experience from 1827-1998. Subject coverage spans life in the Antebellum South; the spread of abolitionism; growth of the Black church; the Emancipation Proclamation; the Jim Crow Era; the Great Migration to northern cities, including the West and Midwest in search of greater opportunity; rise of the N.A.A.C.P.; the Harlem Renaissance; the Civil Rights movement; political and economic empowerment, and more. Materials indexed include articles, obituaries, advertisements, editorials, and illustrations.
Published in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries (CRL), this collection provides complete full-text/full-image access to selected 19th and 20th century historical newspapers printed in various African countries, including: Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Uganda, and Zimbabwe. Titles are printed in a variety of languages including: English, German, French, Portuguese, Afrikaans, Xhosa, Sotho, and others. Coverage: 1800-1922 (updates vary).
Comprehensive bibliographic index for international literature concerning the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Materials indexed include journal and magazine articles, books, book and media reviews, conference proceedings, and dissertations. Subject coverage beyond history includes culture, gender studies, psychology, literature, politics, and more. Citations include abstracts and some include links to full-text content based on institutional subscriptions.
Comprehensive bibliographic index that provides abstracts and full text for international literature in the field of Women's Studies. Subject coverage includes domestic violence, employment and the workplace, gender equity, the family, lesbian studies, reproductive health, and human rights. Materials indexed range from journals, books, and the alternative press to gray literature compiled from overlooked or hard-to-find newsletters and Non-Governmental Organization (NGO) research reports. Rarely indexed or cataloged ephemeral literature from leading research institutes and grass roots organizations is also included.
Provides access to a large and varied collection of electronic reference books published by Gale. Publications indexed include dictionaries and encyclopedias. Subject coverage includes current events, health, business, science, art, history, humanities, biography and more. Full text access is based on institutional subscriptions.
https://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/txshracd2603?db=GVRL
NOTE: This database is funded in its entirety by the Academic Library Collection Enhancement Program (ALCEP) through the General Libraries of the University of Texas at Austin.
Provides indexing and abstracts for international music and performing arts periodicals, plus complete full text articles for many scholarly journals. Subject coverage includes a variety of topics in the field of music including performance, theory and composition, music education, jazz, and ethnomusicology.
Provides complete full-text access to an archive of back issues of selected scholarly journals from the following subscribed collections: Arts & Sciences (I - XI), Life Sciences, and Ireland. Subject coverage includes: African and African American Studies, anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art and art history, Asian Studies, biology, botany, British Studies, business, classical studies, economics, education, film studies, finance, folklore, geography, health sciences, history, Ireland, Jewish Studies, language and literature, Latin American Studies, law, linguistics, mathematics, Middle East Studies, music, paleontology, performing arts, philosophy, political science, psychology, public administration, religion, science, Slavic Studies, sociology, Women's Studies, statistics and zoology. Other types of publications indexed include monographs, pamphlets, images, and manuscripts.
Comprehensive bibliographic index produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA) for international scholarly research materials on language, literature, linguistics, and folklore. Subject areas range from the arts, humanities, and education to the behavioral, social, economic, and political sciences. Materials indexed include journal articles, books, book chapters, working papers, and conference proceedings.
Formerly The Music Index Online provided by Harmonie Park Press, this comprehensive bibliographic database, including abstracts, provides both cover-to-cover and selective indexing for articles derived from periodicals and scholarly literature about classical and popular music, musicians, and the music industry. Publications indexed include academic journals, magazines, trade publications, book reviews, obituaries, and news.
Provides access to a comprehensive collection of classical music as well as selections from other genres, including jazz, blues, folk, new age, world music, and more. Includes the complete Naxos, Marco Polo, and Da Capo catalogs plus selected titles from other labels. Most recordings are accompanied by printable scholarly notes written my musicologists. Limited to 10 concurrent users.
Integrated gateway that allows for the cross-searching of full text music reference publications from both Grove and Oxford, including: Grove Music Online, Oxford Dictionary of Music, and Oxford Companion to Music.
Provides access to full-text scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. Subject coverage includes African Studies, Asian Studies, economics, education, film, theater, performing arts, history, Judaic Studies, language, literature, Latin American Studies, music, philosophy, political science, religion, and Women's Studies.
Broad subject coverage includes history, African-American Studies, Women's Studies, political science, social sciences, sociology, and international studies. Documents indexed include correspondence, internal memos, legal briefings, and direct action summaries from NAACP national, legal, and branch offices throughout the United States. Coverage: 1909 to 1974 (overall). Provides full-text/full-image access to a digitized historical manuscript collection derived from the complete Papers of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) housed in the Manuscript Division of the Library of Congress (LoC). Subscribed content includes the following six modules within the Civil Rights Movement and the Black Freedom Struggle subject area: 1) Board of Directors, Annual Conferences, Major Speeches, and National Staff Files; 2) Branch Department, Branch Files, and Youth Department Files; 3) Special Subjects; 4) The NAACP's Major Campaigns: Education, Voting, Housing, Employment, Armed Forces; 5) The NAACP's Major Campaigns: Legal Department Files; and 6) The NAACP's Major Campaigns: Scottsboro, Anti-Lynching, Criminal Justice, Peonage, Labor, and Segregation and Discrimination Complaints and Responses.
https://hv.proquest.com/historyvault/hv.jsp?pageid=advanced_ui&module=22789&module=47846&module=92064&module=14309&module=91549&module=85489
NOTE: This database is funded in its entirety by the Academic Library Collection Enhancement Program (ALCEP) through the General Libraries of the University of Texas at Austin.
Provides bibliographic indexing for a wide range of international literature in religious studies. Subject coverage includes religious news and information, commentary on topics of general interest from the perspective of a particular religion, formal theological studies, religious doctrines and philosophies, reports on religious history, and related archaeology. Primary faiths represented are Christianity, Islam, Judaism, and Buddhism. Materials indexed include magazines, scholarly journals, and trade publications.
Provides access to bibliographic records covering areas relevant to race relations. Specific areas covered include ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and more. This database is made possible by TexShare.
Comprehensive bibliographic index for international literature concerning theology and philosophy. Subject coverage includes world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy, and the history of philosophy. Materials indexed include scholarly and peer-reviewed journals.
Full-text digital collection based on Joseph Sabin's Bibliotheca Americana: A Dictionary of Books Relating to America from Its Discovery to the Present Time and other major sources. Contains important and many hard-to-find primary source materials about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Publications include books, pamphlets, serials, and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, religious beliefs, society and culture, politics, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions, and more.
Provides integrated full text/full image access to a specialized collection of primary source materials pertaining to U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Subject coverage focuses primarily on the history of women in social movements in the United States from 1600 - 2000. Publications indexed include book, film, and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools. NOTE:The Scholar's Edition includes the biographical dictionary Notable American Women, 1607-1950 as well as the database Commissions on the Status of Women (1961 - 2005).
Published in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries (CRL), this collection provides complete full-text/full-image access to selected 19th and 20th century historical newspapers printed in various African countries, including: Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Uganda, and Zimbabwe. Titles are printed in a variety of languages including: English, German, French, Portuguese, Afrikaans, Xhosa, Sotho, and others.
Full text available from JSTOR: 12/01/1976 to 12/31/1991
Full text available from International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text: Winter 1976 to Winter 1991
Full text available from Academic Search Complete: 03/01/1990 to 12/31/1991
Full text available from International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text: 03/01/1990 to 12/31/1991
Full text available from MAS Complete: 03/01/1990 to 12/31/1991
Full text available from MasterFILE Complete: 03/01/1990 to 12/31/1991
Full text available from Professional Development Collection: 03/01/1990 to 12/31/1991
Full text available from JSTOR: 01/01/1980 to 10/27/2011
Full text available from International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP) Full Text: 04/01/2004 to present
Full text available from Project MUSE: 2010 to present
Full text available from JSTOR: 11/01/1969 to 10/31/2012
Full text available from Academic Search Complete: 06/01/1991 to 18 months ago
Full text available from MAS Complete: 06/01/1991 to 18 months ago
Full text available from MasterFILE Complete: 06/01/1991 to 18 months ago
Full text available from Professional Development Collection: 06/01/1991 to 18 months ago
Full text available from Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection: 06/01/1991 to 18 months ago
Full text available from Taylor & Francis Online: 03/01/1997 to present
Full text available from Education Full Text - H.W. Wilson (EBSCO): 06/01/2003 to 18 months ago
Full text available from Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints: 03/01/2009 to 06/30/2014
Full text available from Academic Search Complete: 06/01/2003 to 1 year ago
Full text available from JSTOR: 06/01/2003 to 12/31/2015
Full text available from SpringerLink: Summer 2003 to presen
Full text available from JSTOR: 09/01/1970 to 11/30/2015
Full text available from SAGE Journals Online: 09/01/1970 to 11/30/1998
Full text available from SAGE Journals Online: 01/01/1999 to present
Full text available from SpringerLink: 01/01/1970 to 12/31/1996
Full text available from PAO Collection: 04/01/1970 to 04/30/1996
Full text available from SpringerLink: 01/01/1997 to present
Full text available from SAGE Journals Online: 03/01/1999 to present
Full text available from PAO Collection: 03/01/1977 to 12/31/2000
Full text available from Academic Search Complete: 06/01/1996 to present
Full text available from America: History & Life with Full Text: 06/01/1996 to present
Provides online access to a broad and varied collection of digital streaming videos pertaining to American history. Includes selected documentaries from The History Channel, A&E Television Network, Biography Channel, PBS, Bullfrog Films, Documentary Educational Resources, and more.
Provides online access to a wide selection of documentaries and social issues films from Bullfrog Films, Icarus Films, Docuseek2, Terra Nova Films, The Fanlight Collection, Kartemquin Films, and Collective Eye Films in streaming video format. To access UTEP's subscribed collection of streaming videos on Docuseek2, click on the "My Movies" link in the upper right-hand corner of the screen or limit to "My Movies Only" in the advanced search option.
Provides online access to a wide selection of award-winning international documentaries from the Filmakers Library in streaming video format. Subject coverage includes race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. NOTE: Initial release provides access to over 900 titles.
State-of-the-art streaming video platform produced by the Films Media Group (FMG), composed of Films for the Humanities and Sciences, Cambridge Educational, Meridian Education, and Shopware. Streaming video content, ranging from clips to complete documentary films, may be incorporated into content management systems, online lesson plans, distance learning courseware, or electronic library card catalog systems. Several titles include closed captioning. Subject coverage is multidisciplinary and includes humanities, social sciences, business, economics, science, mathematics, health, medicine, archival films and newsreels, and much more. Updates vary by title with new content added annually.
Provides access to the complete digital streaming video collection of the Media Education Foundation (MEF) on the Kanopy Streaming Service platform. Playlists of video clips and/or complete documentary films may be created and incorporated into course management systems such as Blackboard, online lesson plans, or embedded within LibGuides. Subject coverage is multidisciplinary and includes the arts and humanities, education, mass media, communication, business and professional training, science, health, and much more.
The Arkansas Digital Archives contains thousands of images of a wide variety of records preserved by the Arkansas State Archives. We invite you to view items from the ASA’s extensive holdings of original documents, government records, photographs, maps, and much, much more. You can also conduct searches of various databases, guides, finding aids, and catalogs to find information about additional research resources available at the ASA.
Listed are major digitized archival holdings in African American history. Click on the name of the archive and you will be taken to the opening page of the collection. The archives are grouped by state.
The Crisis is the official publication of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP). It features African American commentary on current affairs. In the past, it has also featured African American literature prominently, and was one of the major magazines of the Harlem Renaissance.
From 1900 to 1909, during a period of intensifying racial violence and black disfranchisement in the United States, the Colored American Magazine served a vital role in promoting the development of African American literature, protesting injustice, and contesting dominant representations of African American culture and history.
These selected sites offer access to free, high-quality databases of books, articles, oral histories, images, maps, interviews, and television programs. Some sites are specifically devoted to Africa and/or the African Diaspora, while others are more general but include materials of interest to research in the history and cultures of the black world.
A Digital Collection Celebrating the Founding of the Historically Black College and University is a collection of primary resources from HBCU libraries and archives. It includes several thousand scanned pages and represents HBCU libraries first collaborative effort to make a historic collection digitially available. Collections are contributed from member libraries of the Historically Black College and University Library Alliance.
The collection includes photographs, university correspondence, manuscripts, images of campus buildings, alumni letters, memorabilia, and programs from campus events. These images present HBCUs as cultural, social, and political institutions from the early 1800s until today.
Many of the Kansas Historical Society's collections are available online. The Historical Society offers several digital portals, and also partners with others in presenting digital content.
The Louisiana Division is a reference division which collects resources relating to the study of Louisiana and its citizens and to the city of New Orleans and New Orleanians. Other areas of concentration are the Mississippi River, the Gulf of Mexico, and the South. Included within the Division's collections are books by or about Louisianians; city, regional, and state documents; manuscripts, maps, newspapers, periodicals, microfilms, photographs, slides, motion pictures, sound recordings, video tapes, postcards, and ephemera of every sort.
The NCDC contain over 109,000 historic & recent photographs, state government publications, manuscripts, and North Carolina content from the State Archives and the State Library of North Carolina.
During its 127-year history, the Oklahoma Historical Society has collected and shared the story of Oklahoma. In the 1980s, the OHS began a concerted effort to engage with Oklahoma’s Black community—to listen to their stories and share their experiences. While we have made both mistakes and significant strides, we will continue to do better and do more. As new voices call for change, the OHS stands committed to our mission to collect, preserve, and share the history and culture of all Oklahomans.
The South Carolina Digital Library provides free access to historic materials, such as photographs, manuscripts, journals, books, oral histories, objects, etc. illustrating the history and culture of South Carolina from over 40 cultural heritage institutions across the state. Over 200,000 items have been added so far.
The Texas Digital Archive (TDA) manages, preserves, and facilitates access to the electronic records collections of the Texas State Library and Archives Commission, including those transferred by State agencies or digitized by the State Archives. All records visible in this portal are unrestricted and available for public use.
Includes over 100,000 items of correspondence (more than three quarters of the papers), speeches, articles, newspaper columns, nonfiction books, research materials, book reviews, pamphlets and leaflets, petitions, novels, essays, forewords, student papers, manuscripts of pageants, plays, short stories and fables, poetry, photographs, newspaper clippings, memorabilia, videotapes, audiotapes, and miscellaneous materials.
Over 400 years of the African American experience is documented through primary source materials at the Library of Congress. This guide provides access to digitized collections, search strategies, and external websites related to the topic.
This Special Presentation of the Library of Congress exhibition, The African-American Odyssey: A Quest for Full Citizenship, showcases the Library's incomparable African-American collections.
The Paris Exposition of 1900 included a display devoted to the history and "present conditions" of African Americans. W.E.B. Du Bois and special agent Thomas J. Calloway spearheaded the planning, collection and installation of the exhibit materials, which included 500 photographs.
The collection includes interviews, round-table discussions, field-produced features and artistic performances featuring African Americans, many of who are among the nation's most recognized and controversial figures, and provides the visual and audio context of key debates and discussions surrounding African American history, culture, and politics.
The mission of the Association for the Study of African American Life and History (ASALH) is to promote, research, preserve, interpret and disseminate information about Black life, history and culture to the global community.
African-American expressions of writing, music, and art during the 1920s and 1930s are well represented in the vast collections of the Library of Congress.
Throughout the 17th and 18th centuries millions of Africans were forced to become enslaved people in the American colonies. This guide provides access to Library of Congress digitized primary sources, links to related websites, and a print bibliography.
National Urban League’s seminal annual publication contains commentary and analysis from leading figures and thought leaders in politics, the corporate arena, NGOs, academia and popular culture. SOBA also includes the Equality Index, a quantitative tool for tracking racial equality in America.
An online reference center that makes available materials on African American history. These materials include an online encyclopedia of over 4,000 entries, the complete transcript of more than 300 speeches by African Americans, other people of African ancestry, and those concerned about race, given between 1789 and 2016, over 140 full text primary documents, bibliographies, timelines and six gateway pages with links to digital archive collections, African and African American museums and research centers, genealogical research websites, and more than 200 other website resources on African American and global African history.
This digital initiative, by the University Library at the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill, provides access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture.
Multidisciplinary bibliographic index for periodical literature dealing with business, education, health, science, multicultural issues, reference, and more. Materials indexed include reference and travel books, biographies, book reviews, primary source documents, photos, maps, and flags. Includes the American Heritage Dictionary, 4th edition. Citations include abstracts and some full-text or links to full-text, based on institutional subscriptions. Coverage: 1975 - present (updated daily).
Umbra, a freely available digital discovery tool designed for the research and study of African American history and culture. It includes a growing collection of digital materials—images, videos, books, and more—provided by libraries, museums, and other repositories around the country.
From the 1820s to the Civil War, close to 300 black abolitionists who were involved in the antislavery movement. This University of Detroit Mercy collection provides access to over 800 speeches by antebellum blacks and approximately 1,000 editorials from the period
Contains more than 2,300 first-person accounts of slavery and 500 black-and-white photographs of former slaves. (from the Library of Congress) These narratives were collected in the 1930s as part of the Federal Writers' Project of the Works Progress Administration (WPA) and assembled and microfilmed in 1941 as the seventeen-volume Slave Narratives: A Folk History of Slavery in the United States from Interviews with Former Slaves.
This digital initiative, by the University Library at the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill, provides access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture.
The records displayed in this exhibit document the Scotts' early struggle to gain their freedom through litigation and are the only extant records of this significant case as it was heard in the St. Louis Circuit Court. This collection was expanded from 85 - 111 documents, over 400 pages of text.
This project of the University of Maryland draws on materials from the National Archives of the United States to document people's movement from slavery to emancipation.
The goal is to compile all North American slave runaway ads and make them available for statistical, geographical, textual, and other forms of analysis.
This collection of 25,000 digitized items are from the Historical Center at the Louisiana State Museum in New Orleans, the Louisiana Division of the New Orleans Public Library, The Historic New Orleans Collection, and Tulane University’s Louisiana Research Collection.
396 pamphlets from the Rare Book and Special Collections Division of the Library of Congress, published from 1822 through 1909, by African-American authors and others who wrote about slavery, African colonization, Emancipation, Reconstruction, and related topics.
This Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture site provides timelines and primary and secondary source materials on topics ranging from the Transatlantic Slave Trade to the Western Migration to Caribbean and Haitian Immigration
This special section of the Seattle Civil Rights & Labor History Project documents the history of Washington State’s 1920s chapter of the most infamous white supremacist organization in American history, the Ku Klux Klan (KKK).
This site provides access to the raw data and documentation which contains information on slave ship movement between Africa and the Americas from 1817-1843. Specifically, the data file contains information on the ship's port of arrival, date of arrival, type of vessel, tonnage, master's name, number of guns, number of crew, national flag, number of slaves, port of departure, number of days of voyage, and mortality.
The sources for this project are advertisements placed in eighteenth-century English and Scottish. newspapers by slave-owners. The project will also locate and make available related newspaper, legal and other materials.
The over 10,000 items in this Cornell University collection include pamphlets, leaflets, broadsides, newsletters, and other ephemera documenting anti-slavery efforts at the local, regional, and national levels, beginning in 1700.
Part of Washington State University's Brief Timeline of American Literature and Events site, this collection features informational resources as well as primary source material
Contains over a hundred pamphlets and books (published between 1772 and 1889) concerning the experiences of African and African-American slaves in the American colonies and the United States. The documents, most from the Law Library and the Rare Book and Special Collections Division of the Library of Congress, comprise an assortment of trials and cases, reports, arguments, accounts, examinations of cases and decisions, proceedings, journals, a letter, and other works of historical importance.
Examines the expansion of slavery in the borderlands between the United States and Mexico in the years between 1837 and 1845. Based at the Virginia Center for Digital History, the project provides dynamic maps that plot the flows of slavery throughout Texas and a population search engine. Also includes primary sources such as personal letters, newspaper articles, constitutions and legal documents
This database, sponsored by a number of research institutions, provides information on around 35,000 slaving voyages that forcibly embarked over 10 million Africans to the Americas between the 16th and 19th centuries
A national learning project which supports the teaching and learning of transatlantic slavery and its legacies using museum and heritage collections. Six museums across the UK have worked in partnership to share expertise, develop resources, training opportunities and school sessions.
From the Library of Congress, American Memory Project. Almost 7 hours of recorded interviews took place between 1932 and 1975 in nine Southern states. 23 interviewees, born between 1823 and the early 1860s, discuss how they felt about slavery, slaveholders, coercion of slaves, their families, and freedom.
The Smithsonian’s National Portrait Gallery is taking part in the commemorations for the 150th anniversary of the Civil War and the presidency of Abraham Lincoln with a series of seven related exhibitions. Accompanying these exhibitions are weekly blog entries, podcasts and videos written and produced by experts on Civil War topics.
This site, created by George Mason University's Library, Special Collections, provides images of wood engravings, lithographs, chromolithographs, photolithographs, and more; many stem from the time of the Civil War, and most depict Civil War battles and military maps
Searchable full-text edition of the 1953 publication, The Collected Works of Abraham Lincoln. Includes speeches, correspondence, and more, compiled by the Abraham Lincoln Association.
This site, developed by Tulane University, uses text, images, and sound to reconstruct policy decision making during from the time of Lincoln's election to the battle of Fort Sumter in April 1861.
This project of the University of Maryland draws on materials from the National Archives of the United States to document people's movement from slavery to emancipation.
This collaboration between the Chicago Historical Society (CHS) and the Gilder Lehrman Institute, with text by Eric Foner and Olivia Mahoney, Director of Historical Documentation at the CHS, examines slavery; free and slave-based economies; and the legacy of the Civil War as destruction and as catalyst.
Provides full text/full image access to a collection of primary source materials in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction drawn from the Cornell University Library. Subject coverage includes education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, science, and technology. Materials indexed include books and journals published in the 19th century. Coverage: 1850 - 1877.
Provides full text/full image access to a collection of primary source materials in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction drawn from the University of Michigan Libraries. Subject coverage includes education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, science, and technology. Materials indexed include books and journals published in the 19th century. Coverage: 1850 - 1877.
Dates covered: 1818-1907 (The bulk were published between 1875-1900)
The Daniel A. P. Murray Pamphlet Collection presents a panoramic and eclectic review of African-American history and culture, spanning almost one hundred years from the early 19th through the early 20th centuries. Among the authors represented are Frederick Douglass, Booker T. Washington, Ida B. Wells-Barnett, Benjamin W. Arnett, Alexander Crummel, and Emanuel Love.
full text of the 1910 book
1863-1910
The book is a culmination of the findings of the Clifton Conference -- which took place from 1901 to 1908 to discuss educational and religious opportunities available to African Americans.It was compiled by W. N. Hartshorn of Clifton, Massachusetts, to celebrate the "religious, moral, and educational development of the American Negro since his emancipation."
This project of the University of Maryland draws on materials from the National Archives of the United States to document people's movement from slavery to emancipation.
This Pacifica Radio/UC-Berkeley collaboration seeks to gather, catalog, and make accessible primary source media resources related to social activism and activist movements in California in the 1960's and 1970's; it provides links to key resources and sites with primary sources on the Black Panther Party and more
This archive, developed by the University of Michigan Library, contains documents and images concerning Supreme Court cases; busing and school integration efforts in northern urban areas; school integration in the Ann Arbor Public School District; and recent resegregation trends in American schools
The Civil Rights Digital Library promotes an enhanced understanding of the Movement by helping users discover primary sources and other educational materials from libraries, archives, museums, public broadcasters, and others on a national scale. The CRDL features a collection of unedited news film from the WSB (Atlanta) and WALB (Albany, Ga.) television archives held by the Walter J. Brown Media Archives and Peabody Awards Collection at the University of Georgia Libraries. The CRDL provides educator resources and contextual materials, including Freedom on Film, relating instructive stories and discussion questions from the Civil Rights Movement in Georgia, and the New Georgia Encyclopedia, delivering engaging online articles and multimedia.
A comprehensive multimedia digital collection and primary source project created to ensure that historical materials related to the United Farmworkers of America (UFW) and the life of Cesar Chavez would be preserved. Photographs, videos, documentaries, oral histories and fulltext of selected books. Searchable and browsable by topics.
A non-profit educational archive located in San Francisco dedicated to the preservation and dissemination of historical audio, video, and print materials documenting progressive movements and culture from the 1960s to the 1990s.
Thurgood Marshall Law Library, University of Maryland.
Since its inception in 1957, the United States Commission on Civil Rights has been at the forefront of efforts by the Federal Government and state governments to examine and resolve issues related to race, ethnicity, religion and, more recently, sexual orientation.
1910-1970
From the University of Washington. Civil rights movements in Seattle started well before the celebrated struggles in the South in the 1950s and 1960s, and they relied not just on African American activists but also on Filipino Americans, Japanese Americans, Chinese Americans, Jews, Latinos, and Native Americans. They also depended upon the support of some elements of the region's labor movement.
This University of Virginia archive contains films from the nightly news from two local television stations in Virginia--WDBJ (CBS) Roanoke and WSLS (NBC) Roanoke. In this initial installment we have digitized over 230 films.
This archive, developed by the University of Michigan Library, contains documents and images concerning Supreme Court cases; busing and school integration efforts in northern urban areas; school integration in the Ann Arbor Public School District; and recent resegregation trends in American schools
The records displayed in this exhibit document the Scotts' early struggle to gain their freedom through litigation and are the only extant records of this significant case as it was heard in the St. Louis Circuit Court. This collection was expanded from 85 - 111 documents, over 400 pages of text.
Compiled by Douglas O. Linder of the University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Law, this resource provides primary source and other materials concerning some of the 20th Century's key trials.
Explores multigenerational black, white, and mixed family networks in early Washington, D.C., by collecting, digitizing, making accessible, and analyzing thousands of case files from the Circuit Court for the District of Columbia, Maryland state courts, and the U.S. Supreme Court
A multimedia archive devoted to the Supreme Court of the United States, its justices, and its work. It aims to be a complete and authoritative source for all audio recorded in the Court since the installation of a recording system in October 1955.
Contains over a hundred pamphlets and books (published between 1772 and 1889) concerning the experiences of African and African-American slaves in the American colonies and the United States. The documents, most from the Law Library and the Rare Book and Special Collections Division of the Library of Congress, comprise an assortment of trials and cases, reports, arguments, accounts, examinations of cases and decisions, proceedings, journals, a letter, and other works of historical importance.
This collection consists of nearly 9,000 dry-plate glass negatives and 500 celluloid negatives from the studio of Rufus W. Holsinger. Two-thirds of the collection are studio portraits, and among these are nearly 500 portraits of African-American citizens of Charlottesville, VA and the surrounding area.
Jackson Davis, an educational reformer and amateur photographer, took nearly 6,000 photographs of African American schools, teachers and students throughout the Southeastern United States.
Provides access to over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
Library of Congress - Includes photographs, prints, posters, and drawings relating to the history of blacks in America from the slavery through the civil rights.
