UTEP Library Research Guides: Streaming Video Guide by Gabbie Trevizo: All Streaming Video Products

Visit the "Streaming Video" databases list

Complete list of Streaming Video databases.

Streaming Video Databases

A complete list of ALL streaming video databases.

Some of our most popular databases for streaming video include:

American History in Video (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to a broad and varied collection of digital streaming videos pertaining to American history. Includes selected documentaries from The History Channel, A&E Television Network, Biography Channel, PBS, Bullfrog Films, Documentary Educational Resources, and more.
https://ahiv.alexanderstreet.com

Career Insider: The Intelligence You Need for the Career You Want
Fully-integrated online resource that provides comprehensive information pertaining to careers and vocational guidance.
more...less...
Includes full text career guides, job postings, company information, industry overviews, occupational profiles, career advice articles, videos, online forums, blogs, and more. NOTE: Registration with a valid e-mail address is required for access. Updated daily.
Counseling and Therapy in Video, Volume I (Alexander Street Press)
Provides access to a rich and varied collection of digital streaming video content available for the study of counseling, social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling.
more...less...
Videos in this collection were created by a variety of organizations and individuals dedicated to the advancement of education and training in counseling and therapy. Content includes counseling sessions and demonstrations, consultations, lectures, presentations, interviews, documentaries, and teaching and discussion guides.
Dance in Video (Alexander Street Press)
Upon completion, Dance in Video will provide online access to around 500 hours of streaming video dance productions and documentaries produced by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century.
more...less...
Other material types will include editorials, general reference films, instructional videos, interviews, and performances. Selections will cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance. T
Digital Theatre Plus
Provides online access to a digital streaming video collection of unique films of current, leading British theatre productions. Includes behind-the-scenes documentaries as well as teaching and learning resources to facilitate a deeper understanding of the productions and texts.
more...less...
Learning resources include a detailed introduction, plot summary, character biographies, a relationship map, language analysis, scene study, performance background and historical context for each play.

Docuseek2 This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to a wide selection of documentaries and social issues films from Bullfrog Films, Icarus Films, Docuseek2, Terra Nova Films, The Fanlight Collection, Kartemquin Films, and Collective Eye Films in streaming video format. To access UTEP's subscribed collection of streaming videos on Docuseek2, click on the "My Movies" link in the upper right-hand corner of the screen or limit to "My Movies Only" in the advanced search option.
https://docuseek2.com/view/access/fa2b043ef0f0fd76ebb157a2914db69d

Education in Video (Alexander Street Press)
Online collection of digital streaming video developed specifically for the training and professional development of teachers and focusing on the study of teaching methods and education theory.
more...less...
Content includes videos of teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classroom settings.
Filmakers Library Online (Alexander Street Press)
Provides online access to a wide selection of award-winning international documentaries from the Filmakers Library in streaming video format.
more...less...
Subject coverage includes race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more.
Films on Demand: Digital Educational Video
Streaming video content, ranging from clips to complete documentary films, may be incorporated into content management systems, online lesson plans, distance learning courseware, or electronic library card catalog systems.
more...less...
Several titles include closed captioning. Subject coverage is multidisciplinary and includes humanities, social sciences, business, economics, science, mathematics, health, medicine, archival films and newsreels, and much more.
Insight Media Digital: Education for the 21st Century (Video-on-Demand)
Provides access to the complete digital streaming video collection of Insight Media on the IRIS Education platform. Subject coverage includes communication, dance, drama, education, nursing and allied health, psychology, research and design, sociology, and more.
Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE)
Provides indexing, abstracting, and access to full-text as well as digital video streaming content for the Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE), a peer-reviewed, exclusively online journal devoted to the publication of biological, medical, chemical and physical research in a video format.
Kanopy - Featured Collection: Media Education Foundation (MEF)
Provides access to the complete digital streaming video collection of the Media Education Foundation (MEF) on the Kanopy Streaming Service platform. Playlists of video clips and/or complete documentary films may be created and incorporated into course management systems such as Blackboard, online lesson plans, or embedded within LibGuides. Subject coverage is multidisciplinary and includes the arts and humanities, education, mass media, communication, business and professional training, science, health, and much more.
Naxos Video Library
Provides online access to an extensive digital streaming video library of full-length classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts, theatre, and musical documentaries from around the world. Updates vary.
more...less...
NOTE (UTEP Faculty): Inquire about username and password needed to create video play lists for your classes.
New Day Digital
Provides access to the complete digital streaming video collection of the Media Education Foundation (MEF) on the Kanopy Streaming Service platform. Playlists of video clips and/or complete documentary films may be created and incorporated into course management systems such as Blackboard, online lesson plans, or embedded within LibGuides.
NBC Learn Higher Ed
The collections of NBC Learn are available through Internet streaming or via download. They are also accessible as a stand-alone resource or as a Blackboard building block, which allows users to embed videos directly into Blackboard learning management systems. Content includes stories from programs such as NBC Nightly News, the Today Show, Meet the Press, and Dateline NBC, as well as from the networks of MSNBC, CNBC, and Telemundo. Coverage: 1920s to present (updated daily).
NBC Learn K-12
Most of the resources in NBC Learn K-12 have been correlated to individual state standards. Not only can you search for videos and other resources by your state's Standards, you can easily view the Standards mapped to each resource. NBC Learn has already digitized more than 12,000 stories from the NBC News archives — one of the largest news archives in the world, dating back to the 1920s. In addition, collections are updated with current events every day, Monday through Friday, with stories from such celebrated programs as NBC Nightly News, the TODAY show, Meet the Press, Dateline NBC, as well as the networks of MSNBC, CNBC, and Telemundo.
Swank Digital Campus
Provides selected, licensed access to an ever-expanding collection of theatrical release films in digital streaming format for educational purposes.
more...less...
Content platform is interactive for curriculum enhancement and digital streaming videos are delivered via Microsoft Silverlight which is compatible with several leading course management systems.

Copyright/Use Restrictions

Check the "Permitted Uses" and "Terms of Use" on each individual database page for specifics.

Performance of or Showing Films in the Classroom (2009) - Association of Research Libraries

Brief (six paragraphs), articulate interpretation of Section 110 (1) of the US Code on Copyright (Title 17), covering performance of a work in a classroom, as it applies to the showing of films. Notes three important limitations to the permissibility for performance.

Streaming of Films for Educational Purposes - Library Copyright Alliance

A recent issue brief (February 19, 2010) that presents specific reasons, based on copyright law, supporting allowable instances of streaming entire films to students in a remote non-classroom location.