Library Sessions - UNIV 1301 - Our Community - UTEP Library Research Guides at The University of Texas at El Paso

Library Session #2

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic indexing for nearly all doctoral dissertations and Master's theses accepted at North American academic institutions. Selectively indexes dissertations and theses from academic institutions in Great Britain, Europe, and other countries around the globe. Dissertations published since July 1980 include abstracts written by the author. Theses published since 1988 include brief abstracts. All titles published since 1997 include 24-page previews and complete full text; selected full text is available for earlier dates.
https://search.proquest.com/pqdtglobal/advanced?accountid=7121

Step One

undefined

Step Two

undefined

ScholarWorks@UTEP: The University of Texas at El Paso This link opens in a new window
Preserves, organizes, and provides access to UTEP's Institutional Repository (IR) or online archive of research and scholarship of various types across all colleges, departments, and programs. Materials indexed include working papers, journal articles, conference papers, UTEP's dissertations and theses, photographic collections, and more. All items posted are full text or full image. Includes Faculty Selected Works.
https://scholarworks.utep.edu/

Step One

undefined

Step Two

undefined

Step Three

Scroll down & review results

undefined

Image Collections
Digital images from the Library's Special Collections department. Southwest photographs from El Paso, Ciudad Juarez are more.
Institute of Oral History
The Institute of Oral History was established in 1972 for the purpose of "preserving the history of the region adjacent to the Rio Grande both in the United States and in Mexico." While an emphasis has been on the El Paso-Ciudad Juárez region, the collection also contains interviews dealing with the history of communities all along the U.S.-Mexico border. These materials cover a wide range of subjects, spanning social, economic, political, cultural and artistic concerns.
UTEP History on ScholarWorks
Special Collections has several collections on ScholarWorks and UTEP History is one of them.
C.L. Sonnichsen Special Collections Department
The Special Collections Department is the "unofficial" archive of the UTEP. When doing any local research, your time will not be wasted if you call and make an appointment.

MinerQuest This link opens in a new window
MinerQuest is the easiest way to search as many of the UTEP Library's databases + its catalog at once. Results will include articles of all types, books, e-books, government documents, streaming videos, and encyclopedia articles. A good all-purpose search tool.
https://utep.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/search?vid=01UTEP_INST:01UTEP

Step 1:

Step 2:

Step 3:

Access Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text/full-image access to an online archive of selected historical newspapers from around the world. Countries represented include: United States (U.S.) and the Virgin Islands, the United Kingdom (U.K.), France, Germany, Ireland, South Africa, Jamaica, Canada, Denmark, China, and Japan. Content is composed primarily of historical back issues. Dates of coverage vary by title, ranging from 1759 - present (overall).

**NOTES**

Searches should be kept simple. Single word per box.
Keywords must be in Spanish.
- Recommended translator: https://www.spanishdict.com/translation
Stories can be translated.

Step 1: Start search

Buscar button for an advanced search.

Step 2:

Step 3: Keep it simple

Need a translation?

Right click on the page or stories to translate into English.

undefined

HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic indexing and selected full-text/full-image access to a large-scale shared repository of digital collections contributed by a growing partnership of major educational research institutions, libraries, and other stakeholders. Subject coverage is international and multidisciplinary in scope. Content is composed primarily of digitized books and journals derived from partner collections, ranging from in-copyright and public domain materials provided by Google, the Internet Archive, and Microsoft to various in-house partner institution initiatives. Access to full-text content is based on institutional licensing as well as copyright and other restrictions. Coverage: Circa 1500s to present (updates vary).
https://www.hathitrust.org
NOTE: The University of Texas at El Paso (UTEP) is a HathiTrust member institution through the University of Texas System (UT System). UTEP users may login via their institutional partner accounts to gain full access to the database.

Step One: Login.

Step Two: Switch to Catalog and Title, to search for your specific book title.

Finding books about El Paso