This guide was developed for UTEP's Rhetoric and Writing program. This guide will help you navigate the Library resources for Rhetoric and Writing for any level.
Unique journal evaluation tool that provides statistical information based on citation data drawn from a wide range of international scholarly and technical journals tracked in Web of Science. Subject coverage includes virtually all subdisciplines in the areas of science, technology, and the social sciences. Statistical data provided includes impact factor (relative importance to others in the same field), immediacy (citation frequency), article counts, cited half-life (benchmarking by age of cited articles), and source data (review articles versus original research articles). Coverage: 2003 - two years from present date (updated annually).
https://jcr.clarivate.com
NOTE: UTEP's subscribed content includes: JCR Science Edition (2003-2015) and JCR Social Sciences Edition (2003-2015).
Publish or Perish is a software program that retrieves and analyzes academic citations. It uses a variety of data sources (incl. Google Scholar and Microsoft Academic Search) to obtain the raw citations, then analyzes these and presents the following metrics
Total number of papers and total number of citations
Average citations per paper, citations per author, papers per author, and citations per year
Hirsch's h-index and related parameters
Egghe's g-index
The contemporary h-index
Three variations of individual h-indices
The average annual increase in the individual h-index
The age-weighted citation rate
An analysis of the number of authors per paper.
The Journal Quality List is a collation of journal rankings from a variety of sources. It is published primarily to assist academics to target papers at journals of an appropriate standard. We would be concerned if the list were used for staff evaluation purposes in a mechanistic way. It is now in its 66th edition.
Provides full text online access to the following titles: Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities in Accounting, Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities in Educational Curriculum and Methods, Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities in Educational Psychology and Administration, Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities in Educational Technology and Library Science, and Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities in Economics and Finance. Each directory includes current contact information for a wide range of selected academic journals within the disciplines covered, ranging from addresses, phone and fax numbers to e-mail addresses and websites. Also includes information on publication guidelines as well as detailed review information.
