Comprehensive bibliographic index for multidisciplinary literature. Formats indexed include books, newspapers, and magazines, as well as scholarly and peer-reviewed journals. Subject coverage includes social sciences, arts and humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, health sciences, multicultural studies, and many more. Most citations include abstracts and full text or link to full text content from other providers, based on institutional subscriptions. This database is made possible by TexShare.
Provides complete full-text access to an archive of back issues of selected scholarly journals from the following subscribed collections: Arts & Sciences (I - XI), Life Sciences, and Ireland. Subject coverage includes: African and African American Studies, anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art and art history, Asian Studies, biology, botany, British Studies, business, classical studies, economics, education, film studies, finance, folklore, geography, health sciences, history, Ireland, Jewish Studies, language and literature, Latin American Studies, law, linguistics, mathematics, Middle East Studies, music, paleontology, performing arts, philosophy, political science, psychology, public administration, religion, science, Slavic Studies, sociology, Women's Studies, statistics and zoology. Other types of publications indexed include monographs, pamphlets, images, and manuscripts.
MinerQuest is the easiest way to search as many of the UTEP Library's databases + its catalog at once. Results will include articles of all types, books, e-books, government documents, streaming videos, and encyclopedia articles. A good all-purpose search tool.
Provides bibliographic citations, abstracts, and complete full-text for Elsevier publications. Some items link to full-text content provided by other publishers or vendors. Access to full-text is based on institutional subscriptions. Subject coverage includes biology, chemistry, business, mathematics, engineering, environmental science, materials science, computer science, medicine, psychology, the social sciences, and physics.
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription. Submit feedback to email@example.com.
Provides access to a varied collection of digital streaming videos from a broad range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Content includes thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners. Includes films from various distributors such as BBC, CBS, NBS, PBS, VEA, Filmakers Library, Insight Media, Stanley Milgram, Envision, Annenberg Learning and Bloomberg. NOTE: Selected content within this database is funded, in part, by the Academic Library Collection Enhancement Program (ALCEP) through the General Libraries of the University of Texas at Austin.
Contains the following Newspapers.
The Canadian Observer (1914–1919); The Christian Recorder (1851–1902); The Colored American (1837–1841); Frederick Douglass’ Paper (1851–1855; 859–1863); Freedom’s Journal (1827–1829); The National Era (1847–1860); The North Star (1847–1851); Provincial Freeman (1854–1857); Weekly Advocate (1837–1837); The Freedmen’s Record (1865-1874); The Negro Business League Herald (1909)
Provides full-text access on the Compass platform to the complete catalog of active and historical petroleum industry standards for oil and gas equipment, processes and systems published by the American Petroleum Institute (API). Coverage and updates vary by title. NOTE: Free online access to this resource is being provided to UTEP, in perpetuity, by the API's Minority Serving Institutions (MSI) initiative.
Provides access to ProQuest's Library Edition of the comprehensive consumer-based Ancestry.com online genealogy resource that includes vital records for individuals from North America (US and Canada), the United Kingdom (UK), Europe and Australia. Source materials include census information, birth and death records, immigration records, family histories, military records, court and legal documents, telephone directories, photographs, maps, and more. Continually updated.
As part of the Anthropology Resource Library, Anthropology Online provides access to a comprehensive collection of written ethnographies, field notes, seminal texts, memoirs, and contemporary studies, covering human behavior the world over. Includes works by Franz Boas (The Mind of Primitive Man), Ruth Benedict (Tales of the Cochiti Indians), Margaret Mead (Coming of Age in Samoa), Claude LeviStrauss (Structural Anthropology), Clifford Geertz (The Interpretation of Cultures), A. R. RadcliffeBrown (Structure and Function in Primitive Society), David MacDougall (Transcultural Cinema), Paul Rabinow (Essays on the Anthropology of Reason), E. E. Evans-Pritchard (Nuer Religion), and Bronislaw Malinowski (Argonauts of the Western Pacific). Anthropology Online is cross-searchable with Ethnographic Video Online and is essentially the full-text equivalent of the streaming video database. Updates vary.
This resource is an online phonetic transcription application that will convert text to International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) symbols to create instant, accurate and professional-looking phonetic transcriptions. The IPA converter can transcribe English, German, French, Spanish, Italian and Latin to IPA. NOTE Access is limited to UTEP staff and authorized users via username and password. Please contact the UTEP Library Serials & Electronic Resources Team (SERT) to request access credentials.
Provides full-text online access to Janes News Module which includes Defence Weekly, Navy International, International Defence Review, Defence Industry News, Intelligence Review, Intelligence Weekly, Country Risk Daily Report, Militant Propaganda Analysis and Terrorism & Insurgency Monitor. Concurrent user limit is now unlimited.
NOTE: After logging in via UTEP SSO, click on the “All My Subscriptions” link within the “Subscriptions” box to view subscribed content.
Provides access to full-length streaming video and audio of Metropolitan Opera performances. Includes high-definition videos from Live in HD, classic telecasts from the 1970s, 80s and 90s and hundreds of radio broadcasts dating back to 1935. Trial access expires on June 15, 2023. Submit feedback to firstname.lastname@example.org
Provides complete full text/full image access to a selected collection of historical Black newspapers with coverage beginning as early as 1893 through as late as 2010. Subject coverage includes articles, obituaries, photos, editorials and more. Content includes the history of race relations, journalism, local and national politics, education, African American studies, and many multidisciplinary subjects.
Provides full text access to peer-reviewed SAE International standards, technical papers, journals, magazines and eBooks. Access includes current titles, the most current 10 years of the technical papers and select journal and technical paper archives (backfiles).
Provides hundreds of thousands of data indicators across demography, economy, health, education, religion, crime and more. Access professional-quality demographic data from the most trusted sources, including the Decennial Census, American Community Survey (ACS), County Business Patterns, Population Estimates, LEHD and more.
Provides online access to drama texts from diverse playwrights, high definition performance videos, documentaries, interviews, audio plays, contextual reference material, and production design archival content. Included are 850 hours of filmed stage performances, documentaries, and video training materials.